HKU POP will conduct a headcount on July 1Back

 
Press Release on June 28, 2013

The Public Opinion Programme (POP) at the University of Hong Kong will conduct a headcount of July 1 Rally participants on July 1 (next Monday), and release its preliminary results via the “HKU POP SITE” (http://hkupop.hku.hk) around 2 to 4 hours after the rally. To read the figures, one can go to the POP Site, click on the picture icon for “July 1 Rally Feature Page”, and then choose “July 1 Rally Headcounting Project 2013”. Alternatively, one can click on the top menu “Special Features”, then “July 1 Rally Feature Page”, and then make the choice.

 

Since 2003, POP has been running headcounts for every July 1 Rally, purely out of intellectual curiosity. Albeit minor adjustments across the years, the method used is to split the road into lanes, then count the number of people passing through them during specific time segments, and then project the total number by the total time spanned as well as an adjustment factor to cover those not passing through the checkpoint. This method and all adjustment factors have been well documented. We welcome members of the public, especially reporters and teachers, to run their own count using this method.

 

Robert Ting-Yiu Chung, Director of Public Opinion Programme, observed, “POP’s headcount results may differ significantly from participants’ general impression, because such impressions have been affected by unclear figures for a long time, and it is difficult to grab the idea of tens of thousands of people. For this reason, POP hopes that members of the public can make their own counts using simple scientific methods, in order to learn from each other in the spirit of scientific enquiry, and not to entangle ourselves with controversies over turnout numbers.”

港大民研計劃將會點算七一遊行人數返回

 
2013年6月28日新聞公報

香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃),將於7月1日(下星期一)派出研究隊於七一遊行期間點算人數,初步結果將會透過《香港大學民意網站》(網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk)向外公佈,發放時間預計會是遊行結束後兩至四小時。歡迎各界查閱。查閱方法是先到《民意網站》點擊「七一遊行專頁」圖象,再選擇「2013年七一遊行人數點算計劃」。另一方法,是在網站主頁的上沿點擊「專題項目」,然後點擊「七一遊行專頁」,再作選擇。

 

2003年起,民研計劃一直在七一遊行進行人數點算,目的純粹基於科學求知,十年如一。歷年方法雖然偶有調整,但大致都是在遊行路線上,分線分段點算經過的人流,再乘以遊行的總時間,以及推算沒有經過點算站的人數。有關方法及歷年的調整參數完全公開,歡迎社會各界人士,特別是傳媒和老師,參照有關方法自行點算。

 

民研計劃總監鍾庭耀表示:「民研計劃的點算結果,可能會與參與遊行巿民的感覺存在落差,因為巿民大眾長期受到不確數字的影響,難以透過一般感覺準確掌握成千上萬的人數。因此,民研計劃希望社會各界人士,能夠透過簡單的科學方法,自己點算遊行人數,集思廣益,發揮科學的精神,不要纏繞在遊行人數的爭拗。」