HKU POP: PSI plungesBack


Press Release on June 18, 2015

| Special Announcement | Background | Latest Figures |Commentary |
| Next PSI Release (Tentative) |Reference Materials on Survey on PSI |
| Detailed Findings (Public Sentiment Index Feature Page) |


Special Announcement

The Centre for Communication and Public Opinion Survey (CCPOS) of The Chinese University of Hong Kong (CUHK), the Public Opinion Programme (POP) of The University of Hong Kong (HKU), and the Centre for Social Policy Studies (CSPS) of Hong Kong Polytechnic University (PolyU)* completed the 55-day continuous data collection on June 16 for the “Joint-University Rolling Survey on 2017 Chief Executive Election Proposal” (Joint Survey), while the last three data points have been sponsored and released by the Radio Television Hong Kong (RTHK) from June 15 to 17. The three institutes therefore decided to release all survey results of the Joint Survey together with the basic demographic analyses today to the public. POP will release the survey results via the “HKU POP Site” for public consumption. For details please refer to the feature page at http://hkupop.hku.hk/english/features/jointUrollingSurvey. Please note that due to sampling errors, when quoting the figures, journalists should refrain from reporting the decimal places of the percentage figures.


* Names of institutes arranged in order of their English abbreviations.



Background

The Public Sentiment Index (PSI) compiled by POP aims at quantifying Hong Kong people’s sentiments, in order to explain and predict the likelihood of collective behaviour. PSI comprises 2 components: one being Government Appraisal (GA) Score and the other being Society Appraisal (SA) Score. GA refers to people’s appraisal of society’s governance while SA refers to people’s appraisal of the social environment. Both GA and SA scores are compiled from a respective of 4 and 6 opinion survey figures. All PSI, GA and SA scores range between 0 to 200, with 100 meaning normal, the grading reference of the scores are shown below. For methodological detailed please refer to the HKU POP Site at http://hkupop.hku.hk.

 

POP started to pilot study the “Public Sentiment Index” in year 2010 in collaboration with NowTV. The first survey was conducted in June 2010, followed by a series of monthly tracking surveys in 2011. There were altogether 13 surveys, covered by 11 releases from March 2011 to January 2012. All results have been uploaded to the POP Site.

 

At the end of June 2012, before the 15th anniversary of the handover of Hong Kong, POP officially released a “PSI analysis” with figures dating back to 1992, spanning over 20 years. Moreover, the frequency of the study was set at twice a month. In October 2012, echoing the start of a new Legislative Council, POP decided to set the cut-off date of all PSI analyses at the Sunday proceeding every 15th and last day of month, whereas the release date was set at the first Thursday following the cut-off date, except under special circumstances.

 

Cut-off date of the PSI figures released by POP today is June 14, 2015, while that of the next round of release will be June 28, 2015. The tentative release date for the next release will be July 2, 2015 (Thursday).



Latest Figures

From 2014, POP enhanced the previous simple weighting method based on age and gender distribution to “rim weighting” based on age, gender and education (highest level attended) distribution. The latest figures released today have been rim-weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population in 2014 year-end and the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution collected in the 2011 Census. The PSI released by POP today shows that as of June 14, 2015, the latest Public Sentiment Index (PSI) is 68.7, down 13.5 from late-May. As for the Government Appraisal (GA) and Society Appraisal (SA), the scores are 78.2 and 76.9, down 8.1 and 11.9 respectively. The chart of PSI, GA and SA are shown below:

Latest figure

Public Sentiment Index(PSI): 68.7 (-13.5)

Government Appraisal(GA): 78.2 (-8.1)

Society Appraisal(SA): 76.9 (-11.9)


Recent values of PSI, GA, SA and 10 fundamental figures are tabulated as follows:

Release date

2/4/15

16/4/15

30/4/15

14/5/15

28/5/15

18/6/15

Latest change[2]

Cut-off date

29/3/15

12/4/15

26/4/15

10/5/15

24/5/15

14/6/15

--

Public Sentiment Index (PSI)

68.9

70.7

80.6

77.3

82.2

68.7

-13.5

Government Appraisal (GA)

76.6

79.1

83.2

82.7

86.3

78.2

-8.1

Rating of CE

41.9

43.3

44.5

43.2

44.6

42.6

-2.0

Net approval rate of CE

-39%

-33%

-30%

-37%

-35%

-35%

+1%

Mean value of people’s satisfaction with SARG

2.6

2.6

2.7

2.7

2.8

2.6

-0.2

Mean value of people’s trust in SARG

2.9

2.9

3.0

3.0

3.1

2.9

-0.2

Society Appraisal (SA)

78.8

79.0

89.5

85.1

88.8

76.9

-11.9

People’s satisfaction with political condition

2.1

2.1

2.1

2.1

2.2

2.1

-0.1

Weighting index of political condition

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

--

People’s satisfaction with economic condition

2.9

2.8

3.1

3.0

3.0

2.8

-0.1

Weighting index of economic condition

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

--

People’s satisfaction with livelihood condition

2.6

2.6

2.7

2.6

2.7

2.5

-0.2

Weighting index of livelihood condition

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

--

[1] POP will adopt the latest published weighting index figures when there are no respective updates.
[2] Latest changes are based on the differences between the exact values of the two figures, but not the rounded figures shown in the table.

 

As for the meaning of the score values, please refer to the following:

Score value

Percentile

Score value

Percentile

140-200

Highest 1%

0-60

Lowest 1%

125

Highest 5%

75

Lowest 5%

120

Highest 10%

80

Lowest 10%

110

Highest 25%

90

Lowest 25%

100 being normal level, meaning half above half below

 

The latest PSI of 68.7 can be considered as among the worst 2% across the past 20 years or so, while the GA and SA scores of 78.2 and 76.9 can be considered as among the worst 7% and 6% respectively.



Commentary

Winnie Lee, Research Manager of Public Opinion Programme, observed, “Hong Kong’s Public Sentiment Index (PSI) plunges by 13.5 points from two weeks ago to 68.7 points. It can be considered as among the worst 2% across the past 20 years or so. Specifically, the two component scores of PSI, namely, Government Appraisal (GA) Score that reflects people’s appraisal of society’s governance and Society Appraisal (SA) Score that reflects people’s appraisal of the social environment, go down 8.1 and 11.9 points respectively to 78.2 and 76.9 points. They can be considered as among the worst 7% and 6% over the past two decades or so. As for the reasons affecting the ups and downs of these figures, we leave it to our readers to form their own judgment using detailed records displayed in the ‘Opinion Daily’ of our POP Site.”


Next PSI Release (Tentative)
  • July 2, 2015 (Thursday) 1pm to 2pm

Reference Materials on Survey on PSI

| Special Announcement | Background | Latest Figures |Commentary |
| Next PSI Release (Tentative) |Reference Materials on Survey on PSI |
| Detailed Findings (Public Sentiment Index Feature Page) |

港大民研發現:民情指數大幅下跌返回


2015年6月18日 新聞公報

| 特別宣佈 | 研究背景 | 最新數字 |分析評論 | 下次民情指數發放(暫定) |民情指數參考資料 |
| 詳細結果 (「民情指數」專頁) |


特別宣佈

香港中文大學傳播與民意調查中心(中大民調中心)、香港大學民意研究計劃(港大民研計劃)和香港理工大學社會政策研究中心(理大社研中心)* 合作進行的「2017年行政長官選舉辦法三間大學聯合滾動民意調查」(三大聯合滾動調查)已經於6月16日完成合共55天連續取樣調查,而最後三天的數據亦已由香港電台贊助並於6月15至17日發佈。三間機構因此決定把全部三大聯合滾動調查結果連同基本人口變項分析即日全面公開。民研計劃於是透過《香港大學民意網站》把調查結果發放予公眾參考。詳情請參閱《民意網站》有關專頁(http://hkupop.hku.hk/chinese/features/jointUrollingSurvey)。須要注意,由於調查存在抽樣誤差,傳媒在引用有關數字時不應過份精確,百分比數字不宜使用小數點。


* 機構名字以英文簡稱排

 



研究背景

民研計劃制定「民情指數」(PSI),目的在於量化香港市民對香港社會的情緒反應,以解釋及預視社會出現集體行動的可能性。「民情指數」包涵了「政通」和「人和」兩個概念,分別以「政評數值(GA)」和「社評數值(SA)」顯示。「政評數值(GA)」泛指市民對整體政府管治的表現評價,而「社評數值(SA)」則泛指市民對整體社會狀況的評價,分別由四及六項民意數字組合而成。指數本身及兩項數值均以0至200顯示,100代表正常,具體方法請參閱《香港大學民意網站》,網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk

 

民研計劃之「民情指數」研究,始自2010年與now新聞台合作進行的民情指數先導調查。有關調查於2010年6月進行第一次調查,然後於2011年全年每月進行一次。有關調查總共取樣十三次,研究結果於2011年3月至2012年1月分十一次公佈。全部結果已經上載到《民意網站》。

 

2012年6月底,香港回歸15週年前夕,民研計劃正式發放「民情指數」分析,數字追溯至1992年,橫跨20年,並把統計頻率定調為每月兩次。2012年10月,新一屆立法會開始運作。民研計劃亦把「民情指數」的截數日期,正式定為每月第15天及最後一天之前的星期日,而公報日期則定為及後的星期四,特殊情況除外。

 

民研計劃今日發放的「民情指數」,截數日期為2015年6月14日。下次截數日期為2015年6月28日,發放日期初步定為2015年7月2日(星期四)。


最新數字

 

2014年起,民研計劃把以往按照年齡及性別分佈進行的簡單加權方法,改良成為按照年齡、性別及教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈的「反覆多重加權」方法調整數據。今天公佈的最新數據,是按照政府統計處提供之2014年底全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以及2011年人口普查收集之教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈統計數字,以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。民研計劃今日發表的民情指數顯示,以2015年6月14日計,最新民情指數為68.7,比5月底下跌13.5,而政評數值及社評數值分別為78.2及76.9,分別下跌8.1及11.9。以下為民情指數、政評數值及社評數值走勢圖:

 



最新數值

民情指數:68.7 (-13.5)

政評數值:78.2 (-8.1)

社評數值:76.9 (-11.9)



以下是民情指數、政評數值、社評數值,及十項基礎民意數字的近期數值:

公佈日期

2/4/15

16/4/15

30/4/15

14/5/15

28/5/15

18/6/15

最新變化[2]

截數日期

29/3/15

12/4/15

26/4/15

10/5/15

24/5/15

14/6/15

--

民情指數

68.9

70.7

80.6

77.3

82.2

68.7

-13.5

政評數值

76.6

79.1

83.2

82.7

86.3

78.2

-8.1

特首評分

41.9

43.3

44.5

43.2

44.6

42.6

-2.0

特首民望淨值

-39%

-33%

-30%

-37%

-35%

-35%

+1%

政府滿意程度平均量值

2.6

2.6

2.7

2.7

2.8

2.6

-0.2

政府信任程度平均量值

2.9

2.9

3.0

3.0

3.1

2.9

-0.2

社評數值

78.8

79.0

89.5

85.1

88.8

76.9

-11.9

政治狀況滿意程度

2.1

2.1

2.1

2.1

2.2

2.1

-0.1

政治狀況成份指標權數

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

0.31[1]

--

經濟狀況滿意程度

2.9

2.8

3.1

3.0

3.0

2.8

-0.1

經濟狀況成份指標權數

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

0.34[1]

--

民生狀況滿意程度

2.6

2.6

2.7

2.6

2.7

2.5

-0.2

民生狀況成份指標權數

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

0.35[1]

--

[1] 當有關指標權數沒有更新時,民研計劃會採用最近一次已公佈的指標權數替代。
[2] 最新變化數字是基於兩組數字的準確值相減得出,而非從數表內已捨入的數字計算。

 

各項指數的具體數值,可按下表理解:

指數得分

百分位數

指數得分

百分位數

140-200

最高1%

0-60

最低1%

125

最高5%

75

最低5%

120

最高10%

80

最低10%

110

最高25%

90

最低25%

100為正常數值,即半數在上,半數在下

 

最新民情指數68.7,可以視為過去逾二十年來最差的2個百分比。至於政評和社評數值之78.2和76.9,就可以分別視為過去逾二十年來最差的7個和6個百分比。

 



分析評論

 

民研計劃研究經理李頴兒表示:「最新香港民情指數錄得68.7點,較兩星期前大幅下跌13.5點,屬於過去逾二十年來最差的2個百分比。具體來說,民情指數的兩個成份數值,即反映市民對整體政府管治表現評價的政評數值和反映市民對整體社會狀況評價的社評數值,分別下跌8.1及11.9點至78.2及76.9點,可被視為逾二十年來最差的7個和6個百分比。至於有甚麼事情導致各項數字的差異和起跌,讀者可以根據《民意網站》中『民意日誌』的詳細記錄自行判斷。」



下次民情指數發放(暫定)
  • 2015年7月2日(星期四)下午一時至二時

民情指數參考資料

| 特別宣佈 | 研究背景 | 最新數字 |分析評論 | 下次民情指數發放(暫定) |民情指數參考資料 |
| 詳細結果 (「民情指數」專頁) |