HKU POP releases latest survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identityBack

 
Press Release on June 23, 2015

| Special Announcement | Abstract | Latest Figures | Opinion Daily | Commentary | Future Release (Tentative) | Reference materials on survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity |
| Detailed Findings (People's Ethnic Identity) |


Special Announcement

To facilitate academic study and rational discussion, the Public Opinion Programme (POP) of The University of Hong Kong has already released for public examination some time ago via the HKU POP SITE” (http://hkupop.hku.hk) the raw data of all 74 regular rating surveys of CE CY Leung, as well as the 181 regular rating surveys of former CE Donald Tsang and 239 regular rating surveys of former CE CH Tung, along with related demographics of respondents. Please follow normal academic standards when using or citing such data.



Abstract

POP interviewed 1,003 Hong Kong people between 15 and 18 June by means of a random telephone survey conducted by real interviewers. According to our latest survey, whether in terms of absolute rating or dichotomous contrast, people’s feeling of identity towards “Hongkongers” has receded, while that of “Chinese” has recovered, back to the level registered near mid-2014. On a scale of 0-10 measuring the absolute strength of identity, the identity rating of “Hongkongers” stands at 7.95, that of “members of the Chinese race” stands at 7.02, “Chinese” 6.70, and “citizens of PRC” 5.87. When importance ratings are incorporated to generate “identity indices” between 0 and 100 (the higher the index, the stronger the positive feeling), Hong Kong people’s feeling is still the strongest as “Hongkongers”, at 77.6 marks, followed by “Asians” 72.3, then “members of the Chinese race” 67.3, “Chinese” 65.3, “global citizens” 64.1, and finally “citizens of the PRC” 55.9. If we follow the usual study method of using a dichotomy of “Hongkonger” versus “Chinese” to measure Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity, the proportion of people identifying themselves as “Hongkongers” outnumbers that of “Chinese” both in their narrow and broad senses by 14 to 29 percentage points. All in all, Hong Kong people feel the strongest as “Hongkongers”, then followed by a number of cultural identities. The feeling of being “citizens of the PRC” is the weakest among all identities tested. The maximum sampling error of percentages is +/-4 percentage points at 95% confidence level, while the sampling error of rating figures needs another calculation. The response rate of the survey is 66%.

 

Points to note:

[1] The address of the “HKU POP SITE” is http://hkupop.hku.hk, journalists can check out the details of the survey there.
[2] The sample size is 1,003 successful interviews, not 1,003 x 65.6% response rates. In the past, many media made this mistake.
[3] The maximum sampling error of all percentages is +/-4 percentage points at 95% confidence level, while the sampling error of rating figure needs another calculation. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. When quoting these figures, journalists can state "sampling error of various ratings not more than +/-0.26, sampling error of identity indices not more than +/-2.5, and sampling error of percentages not more than +/-4% at 95% confidence level”. Because POP introduced “rim weighting” in 2014, during the transition period, whether changes in various figures are beyond sampling errors are based on tests using the same weighting methods. That is, to test whether the first set of figures collected in 2014 is significantly different from that of the previous survey, both sets of data are rim weighted before testing, instead of using simple computation of the published figures.
[4] Because of sampling errors in conducting the survey(s) and the rounding procedures in processing the data, the figures cannot be too precise, and the totals may not be completely accurate. Therefore, when quoting percentages of the survey(s), journalists should refrain from reporting decimal places, but when quoting the rating figures, one decimal place can be used.
[5] The data of this survey is collected by means of random telephone interviews conducted by real interviewers, not by any interactive voice system (IVS). If a research organization uses “computerized random telephone survey” to camouflage its IVS operation, it should be considered unprofessional.
[6] Starting from 18 June 2013, in light of their popular usage, the following translations are used in reports and releases: 香港人 = Hongkonger, 中國的香港人 = Hongkonger in China, 中國人 = Chinese, 香港的中國人 = Chinese in Hong Kong.



Latest Figures

POP today releases via the POP Site the latest survey on people’s ethnic identity. From 2014, POP enhanced the previous simple weighting method based on age and gender distribution to “rim weighting” based on age, gender and education (highest level attended) distribution. The latest figures released today have been rim-weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population in 2014 year-end and the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution collected in the 2011 Census. Herewith the latest contact information:

 

Date of survey

Sample base

Overall response rate

Maximum sampling error of percentages [7]

Maximum sampling error of ethnicity indices [7]

15-18/6/2015

1,003

65.6%

+/-3%

+/-2.5

[7] Errors are calculated at 95% confidence level using full sample size. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Questions using only sub-samples would have bigger sample error. Sampling errors of ratings are calculated according to the distribution of the scores collected.


Recent figures on Hong Kong people’s ratings on separate identities are tabulated as follows:

Date of survey

9-12/12/13

6-12/6/14

10-16/12/14

15-18/6/15

Latest change

Sample base[8]

564-660

611-705

617-684

684-712

--

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding and error[9]

--

Strength rating of being “Hongkongers”

Identity index of being “Hong- kongers” [10]

7.87[11]

75.6[11]

7.99[11]

78.2[11]

8.18[11]

79.5

7.95
+/-0.18

77.6
+/-1.7

-0.23[11]

-1.9[11]

Importance rating of being “Hongkongers” [10]

7.54

7.83[11]

7.96

7.79
+/-0.18

-0.17

Strength rating of being “Asians”

Identity index of being “Asians” [10]

7.71

71.2

7.83

73.2

7.49[11]

69.8[11]

7.81
+/-0.19

72.3
+/-1.9

+0.32[11]

+2.5[11]

Importance rating of being “Asians” [10]

6.81

7.05

6.74[11]

7.00
+/-0.21

+0.26[11]

Strength rating of being “Members of the Chinese race”

Identity index of being “Members of the Chinese race” [10]

7.35

70.8

7.29

71.0

6.83[11]

65.9[11]

7.02
+/-0.23

67.3
+/-2.3

+0.19

+1.4

Importance rating of being “Members of the Chinese race” [10]

7.00

7.03

6.54[11]

6.65
+/-0.24

+0.11

Strength rating of being “global citizens”

Identity index of being “global citizens” [10]

6.91

65.7

6.65[11]

63.7

6.54

62.0

6.70
+/-0.23

65.3
+/-2.3

+0.16

+3.3[11]

Importance rating of being “global citizens” [10]

6.50

6.32

6.23

6.62
+/-0.25

+0.39[11]

Strength rating of being “Chinese”

Identity index of being “Chinese” [10]

6.81

64.5

7.01

67.7[11]

6.59[11]

63.7[11]

6.73
+/-0.22

64.1
+/-1.9

+0.14

+0.4

Importance rating of being “Chinese” [10]

6.41

6.73[11]

6.33[11]

6.33
+/-0.23

--

Strength rating of being “citizens of PRC”

Identity index of being “citizens of PRC” [10]

6.08

58.2

5.95[11]

57.0[11]

5.66[11]

54.4[11]

5.87
+/-0.25

55.9
+/-2.5

+0.21

+1.5

Importance rating of being “citizens of PRC” [10]

5.81

5.70

5.44[11]

5.60
+/-0.26

+0.16

[8] Since December 2008, the sub-sample size of the series of questions is controlled at slightly over 500 cases. The sub-sample sizes of this survey range from 648 to 721, and the increased sampling errors have already been reflected in the figures tabulated. 
[9] ] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of ratings not more than +/-0.26 and sampling error of identity indices not more than +/-2.5 at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures. The error margin of previous survey can be found at the POP Site.
[10] New items since December 2008. “Identity index” is calculated for each identity of a respondent by taking the geometric mean of the strength and importance ratings of a certain identity, multiply by 10. If either the strength or importance rating of a respondent is missing, it is substituted by the sample mean of that identity.
[11] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level under the same weighting method, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant or not is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful.


The above figures were collected from independent rating questions, but not involving the dichotomy issue of “Hongkongers” and “Chinese”. Latest findings showed that the identity ratings for “Hongkongers”, “Asians” and “members of the Chinese race” were 7.95, 7.81 and 7.02 marks respectively. Using the same rating method, the strength of people’s identity as “global citizens”, “Chinese” and “citizens of PRC” were 6.73, 6.70 and 5.87 marks respectively. As for the importance ratings, “Hongkongers”, “Asians” and “members of the Chinese race” scored 7.79, 7.00 and 6.65 marks respectively, while those for “Chinese” , “global citizens” and “citizens of PRC” were 6.62, 6.33 and 5.60 marks respectively.

 

Taking the geometric mean of the strength and importance ratings of each respondent and then multiply it by 10, we have an “identity index” for the respondent for a certain identity between 0 and 100, with 0 meaning no feeling, 100 meaning extremely strong feeling, and 50 meaning half and half. Using these identity indices, the rank order of Hong Kong people’s six identities was “Hongkongers”, “Asians”, “members of the Chinese race”, “Chinese” , “global citizens” and “citizens of PRC”. Their scores were 77.6, 72.3, 67.3, 65.3, 64.1 and 55.9 marks respectively.

 

As for the results from the survey mode used for long on Hong Kong people’s sense of ethnic identity, recent figures are tabulated as follows:

 

Date of survey

9-12/12/13

6-12/6/14

10-16/12/14

15-18/6/15

Latest Change

Sample base[12]

628

660

660

678

--

Overall response rate

68.0%

67.5%

65.6%

65.6%

--

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding and error[13]

--

Identified themselves as “Hongkongers”

35%

40%[15]

42%

36+/-4%

-6%[15]

Identified themselves as “Chinese”

22%

20%

18%

22+/-3%

+4%[15]

Identified themselves with a mixed identity of “Hongkongers” plus “Chinese” [14]

43%[15]

39%

39%

41+/-3%

+2%

Identified themselves as “Hongkongers” in broad sense

62%

67%[15]

67%

64+/-4%

-3%

Identified themselves as “Chinese” in broad sense

37%

31%[15]

33%

35+/-4%

+2%

[12] Starting from June 2011, this question only uses sub-samples of the tracking surveys concerned. The sub-sample size of this survey is 660, and the increased sampling errors have already been reflected in the figures tabulated. 
[13] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of percentages not more than +/-4% at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures. The error margin of previous survey can be found at the POP Site.
[14] This means the percentage of “Hongkongers in China” plus “Chinese in Hong Kong”.
[15] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level under the same weighting method, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant or not is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful.


When asked to make a choice among 4 given identities, namely, “Hongkongers”, “Hongkongers in China”, “Chinese” and “Chinese in Hong Kong”, 36% of the respondents identified themselves as “Hongkongers”, 22% as “Chinese”, 27% as “Hongkongers in China”, while 13% identified themselves as “Chinese in Hong Kong”. In other words, 64% of the respondents identified themselves as “Hongkongers” in the broader sense (i.e. either as “Hongkongers” or “Hongkongers in China”), whereas 35% identified themselves as “Chinese” in the broader sense (i.e. either as “Chinese” or “Chinese in Hong Kong”), 41% chose a mixed identity of “Hongkongers plus Chinese” (i.e. either as “Hongkongers in China” or “Chinese in Hong Kong”).

 

Because the concepts of “Hongkongers”, “Hongkongers in China”, “Chinese” and “Chinese in Hong Kong” may overlap with each other, and making a one-in-four choice may not reflect the actual strengths of one’s ethnic identities, POP has right from the beginning conducted parallel tests on the strengths of people’s separate identities as “Hongkongers” and “Chinese” using a scale of 0-10, to study ethnic identity in different levels. In June 2007, POP has already expanded its study to include four new identities for strength rating, namely, “citizens of PRC”, “members of the Chinese race”, “Asians” and “global citizens”. In December 2008, the study was further expanded by including separate importance ratings for different identities, and the compilation of a separate index for each identity using geometric means. Though they may not be perfect, the complex studies adopted by POP were already very comprehensive.


Opinion Daily

In January 2007, POP opened a feature page called “Opinion Daily” at the “POP Site”, to record significant events and selected polling figures on a day-to-day basis, in order to let readers judge by themselves the reasons for the ups and downs of different opinion figures. In July 2007, POP collaborated with Wisers Information Limited whereby Wisers supplies to POP each day starting from July 24, a record of significant events of that day, according to the research method designed by POP. These daily entries would be uploaded to “Opinion Daily” as soon as they are verified by POP.

 

For some of the polling items covered in this press release, the previous survey was conducted from December 10 to 16, 2014 while this survey was conducted from June 15 to 18, 2015. During this period, herewith the significant events selected from counting newspaper headlines and commentaries on a daily basis and covered by at least 25% of the local newspaper articles. Readers can make their own judgment if these significant events have any impacts to different polling figures.

15/6/15

Police arrest 10 people, some with alleged ties to a radical political organization, after discovering powerful explosives.

4/6/15

The undocumented boy Siu Yau-wai seeks voluntary repatriation to mainland.

23/5/15

Beijing officials invite lawmakers to have a talk on Hong Kong political reform in Shenzhen.

22/4/15

Government announces the proposal for selecting the Chief Executive in 2017.

11/4/15

Multiple-entry permits are changed to allow only one trip per week.

3/4/15

25th anniversary of the promulgation of the Basic Law is coming up.

9/3/15

Media continues to report on protest against parallel traders.

6/3/15

Zhang Dejiang makes a statement about Hong Kong independence.

1/1/15

36 people were killed in a stampede during New Year's Eve celebrations in Shanghai.

14/12/14

Beijing official, Zhang Rong-shun says Hong Kong is in need of “enlightenment” on the “One Country, Two Systems” principle.

13/12/14

77th anniversary of the Nanking Massacre.



Commentary

Robert Chung, Director of Public Opinion Programme, observed, “According to our latest survey, whether in terms of absolute rating or dichotomous contrast, people’s feeling of identity towards ‘Hongkongers’ has receded, while that of ‘Chinese’ has recovered, back to the level registered near mid-2014. On a scale of 0-10 measuring the absolute strength of identity, the identity rating of ‘Hongkongers’ stands at 7.95, that of ‘members of the Chinese race’ stands at 7.02, ‘Chinese’ 6.70, and ‘citizens of PRC’ 5.87. When importance ratings are incorporated to generate ‘identity indices’ between 0 and 100 (the higher the index, the stronger the positive feeling), Hong Kong people’s feeling is still the strongest as ‘Hongkongers’, at 77.6 marks, followed by ‘Asians’ 72.3, then ‘members of the Chinese race’ 67.3, ‘Chinese’ 65.3, ‘global citizens’ 64.1, and finally ‘citizens of the PRC’ 55.9. If we follow the usual study method of using a dichotomy of ‘Hongkonger’ versus ‘Chinese’ to measure Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity, the proportion of people identifying themselves as ‘Hongkongers’ outnumbers that of ‘Chinese’ both in their narrow and broad senses by 14 to 29 percentage points. All in all, Hong Kong people feel the strongest as ‘Hongkongers’, then followed by a number of cultural identities. The feeling of being ‘citizens of the PRC’ is the weakest among all identities tested. As for the reasons behind the ups and downs of these figures, we will leave it to our readers to form their own judgment using the detailed records displayed in our ‘Opinion Daily’.”


Future Releases (Tentative)

  • June 25, 2015 (Thursday) 1pm to 2pm: Trust and confidence indicators

  • June 29, 2015 (Monday) 1pm to 2pm: Popularity of CE and SARG

  • June 30, 2015 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: HKSAR anniversary survey



Reference materials on survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity


| Special Announcement| Abstract | Latest Figures | Opinion Daily | Commentary | Future Release (Tentative) |Reference materials on survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity |
| Detailed Findings (People's Ethnic Identity) |

港大民研發放最新香港市民身分認同調查結果返回

 
2015年6月23日 新聞公報

| 特別宣佈 | 公報簡要 | 最新數據 | 民意日誌 | 分析評論 | 未來發放(暫定) | 香港市民身分認同調查參考資料 |
| 詳細結果 (巿民的身分認同感) |


特別宣佈

在促進學術研究和理性討論的基礎上,香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)早前已在《香港大學民意網站》(http://hkupop.hku.hk)發放自特首梁振英上任以來,民研計劃所進行的74次定期特首民望評分、181次前特首曾蔭權和239次前特首董建華民望評分及相關人口變項的原始數據,供各界考證。惟請用家使用及引用有關數據時,按照學術慣例註明出處。



公報簡要

民研計劃在6月15至18日,透過真實訪員以隨機抽樣方式,成功以電話訪問1,003名香港巿民,最新調查顯示,不論以絕對評分或對立比較測試,巿民對「香港人」身分的認同感都有所回落,對「中國人」身分的認同感就有所回升,大概回復到2014年中的水平。以0至10分絕對評分計,巿民對「香港人」的認同感為7.95分,對「中華民族一份子」的文化認同感為7.02分,對「中國人」的認同感為6.70分,對「中華人民共和國國民」的國民認同感則為5.87分。加入重要性評分,再以0至100分的「身分認同指數」計算(指數愈高,正面感覺愈強),巿民對「香港人」的感覺仍然最強,有77.6分,然後是「亞洲人」72.3分、「中華民族一份子」67.3分、「中國人」65.3分、「世界公民」64.1分和「中華人民共和國國民」55.9分。如果按照一般研究方法把「香港人」和「中國人」的身分二元對立比較,則香港巿民中無論是狹義或廣義地自稱為「香港人」的比率,都比同樣定義的「中國人」比率高14至29個百分比。綜合各種測試顯示,香港巿民最認同「香港人」的身分,然後是各項文化認同。對「中華人民共和國國民」身分的認同程度,就相對低於其他身分認同。在95%置信水平下,有關百分比的最高抽樣誤差則為+/-4個百分比,評分誤差另計,調查的回應率為66%。

 

注意事項:

[1]《香港大學民意網站》的網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk,傳媒可到網站參閱調查細節。
[2] 調查樣本為1,003個成功個案,並非1,003乘以回應率65.6%,過去有不少傳媒在報導上犯了上述錯誤。
[3]在95%置信水平下,調查中的百分比的最高抽樣誤差為+/-4個百分比,評分誤差另計。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用有關數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項評分誤差不超過+/-0.26,各認同指數之誤差不超過+/-2.5,百分比誤差不超過+/-4個百分比」。由於民研計劃在2014年引入「反覆多重加權法」處理數據,交接期間,各項數字變化的差異是否超過抽樣誤差,是基於同類加權方法處理後的結果計算。換言之,2014年第一次所得數據是否與上次調查存在顯著差異,是基於兩組數據同樣經過反覆多重加權後作出的比較,而非單從公佈數字表面運算得來。
[4] 因為調查存在的抽樣誤差及處理數據的捨入過程,數字不能過份精確,合計數字亦未必完全準確。因此,傳媒在引用有關調查的百分比數字時,應避免使用小數點,在引用評分數字時,則可以使用一個小數點。
[5] 調查數據並非透過音頻互動系統取得,倘若調查機構以「電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問」或類似文字來掩飾音頻互動調查,是不專業的做法。
[6] 自2013年6月18日開始,因應以下英文用詞的流行用法,報告及公報會使用以下英文翻譯:香港人 = Hongkonger, 中國的香港人 = Hongkonger in China, 中國人 = Chinese, 香港的中國人 = Chinese in Hong Kong.

 



最新數據

民研計劃今日如期在《民意網站》發放市民身分認同的最新調查結果。2014年起,民研計劃把以往按照年齡及性別分佈進行的簡單加權方法,改良成為按照年齡、性別及教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈的「反覆多重加權」方法調整數據。今天公佈的最新數據,是按照政府統計處提供之2014年底全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以及2011年人口普查收集之教育程度 (最高就讀程度)分佈統計數字,以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。現先列出最新調查的樣本資料:

調查日期

總樣本數

回應比率

最高百分比誤差[7]

最高認同指數之誤差[7]

15-18/6/2015

1,003

65.6%

+/-3%

+/-2.5

[7] 有關誤差數字均以95%置信水平及整體樣本計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。個別題目如果只涉及調查內若干次樣本,百分比誤差會相應增加。評分誤差則會按照樣本評分的分佈情況另行推算。


有關市民各項身分認同感的獨立評分數字表列如下:

調查日期

9-12/12/13

6-12/6/14

10-16/12/14

15-18/06/15

最新變化

樣本基數[8]

564-660

611-705

617-684

648-721

--

最新結果

結果

結果

結果

結果及誤差[9]

--

「香港人」認同感

「香港人」 認同指數[10]

7.87[11]

75.6[11]

7.99[11]

78.2[11]

8.18[11]

79.5

7.95
+/-0.18

77.6
+/-1.7

-0.23[11]

-1.9[11]

「香港人」重要度[10]

7.54

7.83[11]

7.96

7.79
+/-0.18

-0.17

「亞洲人」認同感

「亞洲人」 認同指數[10]

7.71

71.2

7.83

73.2

7.49[11]

69.8[11]

7.81
+/-0.19

72.3
+/-1.9

+0.32[11]

+2.5[11]

「亞洲人」重要度[10]

6.81

7.05

6.74[11]

7.00
+/-0.21

+0.26[11]

「中華民族一份子」認同感

「中華民族一份子」 認同指數[10]

7.35

70.8

7.29

71.0

6.83[11]

65.9[11]

7.02
+/-0.23

67.3
+/-2.3

+0.19

+1.4

「中華民族一份子」重要度[10]

7.00

7.03

6.54[11]

6.65
+/-0.24

+0.11

「世界公民」認同感

「世界公民」認同指數[10]

6.91

65.7

6.65[11]

63.7

6.54

62.0

6.70
+/-0.23

65.3
+/-2.3

+0.16

+3.3[11]

「世界公民」重要度[10]

6.50

6.32

6.23

6.62
+/-0.25

+0.39[11]

「中國人」認同感

「中國人」 認同指數[10]

6.81

64.5

7.01

67.7[11]

6.59[11]

63.7[11]

6.73
+/-0.22

64.1
+/-1.9

+0.14

+0.4

「中國人」重要度[10]

6.41

6.73[11]

6.33[11]

6.33
+/-0.23

--

「中華人民共和國國民」認同感

「中華人民共和國國民」認同指數[10]

6.08

58.2

5.95[11]

57.0[11]

5.66[11]

54.4[11]

5.87
+/-0.25

55.9
+/-2.5

+0.21

+1.5

「中華人民共和國國民」重要度[10]

5.81

5.70

5.44[11]

5.60
+/-0.26

+0.16

[8]由2008年12月開始,本系列題目的次樣本控制在略多於500個,而是次調查的次樣本基數由648至721不等,加大誤差數字已經列明表內。
[9] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用上述數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項評分誤差不超過+/-0.26,各認同指數之誤差不超過+/-2.5」;以前調查的誤差數值請參閱網站。
[10] 為2008年12月之新增項目。「認同指數」計算自個別樣本之認同感評分乘以同一樣本的重要度評分,然後求取幾何平均數乘以10,得出「認同指數」。倘若某個別樣本欠缺認同感或重要度評分之數字,則由整體認同感平均分或重要度平均分所取代。
[11] 該等變化在相同加權方法下超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義。

 

以上數字全部來自獨立評分題目,完全沒有涉及「香港人」與「中國人」身分對立的問題。最新數字顯示,被訪巿民對「香港人」、「亞洲人」及「中華民族一份子」的認同感分別為7.95、7.81及7.02分,而市民對「世界公民」、「中國人」及「中華人民共和國國民」的評分則分別為6.73、6.70及5.87分。重要程度方面,被訪巿民對「香港人」、「亞洲人」及「中華民族一份子」的重要度分別為7.79、7.00及6.65分,而市民對「中國人」、「世界公民」及「中華人民共和國國民」的重要度則分別為6.62、6.33及5.60分。

 

把個別樣本之認同感評分乘以同一樣本之重要度評分,求取幾何平均數後再乘以10,就得出0至100分的「身分認同指數」,0分代表絕不投入,100分代表絕對投入,50分代表一半半。以認同指數計,香港巿民六種身分的得分依次序為「香港人」、「亞洲人」、「中華民族一份子」、「中國人」、「世界公民」及「中華人民共和國國民」,分數為77.6、72.3、67.3、65.3、64.1及55.9分。

 

至於採自行之已久的「香港人」與「中國人」身分對立提問方式的調查結果,則表列如下:


調查日期

9-12/12/13

6-12/6/14

10-16/12/14

15-18/6/15

最新變化

樣本基數[12]

628

660

660

678

--

整體回應比率

68.0%

67.5%

65.6%

65.6%

--

最新結果

結果

結果

結果

結果及誤差[13]

--

自稱為「香港人」之比率

35%

40%[15]

42%

36+/-4%

-6%[15]

自稱為「中國人」之比率

22%

20%

18%

22+/-3%

+4%[15]

自稱「香港人」和「中國人」
混合身分之比率[14]

43%[15]

39%

39%

41+/-3%

+2%

自認為廣義「香港人」之比率

62%

67%[15]

67%

64+/-4%

-3%

自認為廣義「中國人」之比率

37%

31%[15]

33%

35+/-4%

+2%

[12] 2011年6 月開始,本題目只涉及次樣本,而是次調查的次樣本基數是678,加大誤差數字已經列明表內。
[13] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用上述數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,百分比誤差不超過+/-4%」;以前調查的誤差數值請參閱網站。
[14] 即選擇「中國的香港人」或「香港的中國人」的比率。
[15] 該等變化在相同加權方法下超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義。


當被訪市民可在「香港人」、「中國的香港人」、「中國人」及「香港的中國人」四者中選擇自己認同的身分時,36%稱自己為「香港人」,22%自稱為「中國人」,27%自稱為「中國的香港人」,而13%則自稱為「香港的中國人」。換言之,64%認為自己是廣義的「香港人」(即回答「香港人」或「中國的香港人」),35%則認為自己是廣義的「中國人」(即回答「中國人」或「香港的中國人」),41%則選擇了「香港人」和「中國人」的混合身分(即回答「中國的香港人」或「香港的中國人」)。

 

由於「香港人」、「中國的香港人」、「中國人」及「香港的中國人」四者可能意識重疊,四擇其一未必能夠反映各項身分認同的強弱;因此,民研計劃一早就以0至10分同時測試市民對「香港人」及「中國人」的認同程度,同步研究身分認同感的不同層次。2007年6月開始,民研計劃已把香港巿民身分認同感的研究擴充,加入「中華人民共和國的國民身分」、「中華民族的一份子」、「亞洲人身分」及「世界公民身分」4個單獨測試項目。及至2008年12月,有關研究再度擴充,加入巿民對不同身分的重視程度評分,再以幾何平均方式計算各種「身分認同指數」。民研計劃採用的綜合研究測試,雖非盡善盡美,但已相當全面。


民意日誌

民研計劃於2007年1月在《民意網站》開設「民意日誌」專頁,以按日形式紀錄每日大事及提供若干在當天錄得的民意調查數字。2007年7月,民研計劃與慧科訊業有限公司合作,從7月24日起,「民意日誌」中的每日大事紀錄由慧科訊業按照民研計劃設計的分析方法,按日傳送至民研計劃,經民研計劃核實後隨即上載到「民意日誌」。

 

由於本新聞公報所涉及的部分調查項目,上次調查日期為10-16/12/2014,而今次調查日期則為15-18/6/2015,因此是次公報中的「民意日誌」項目便以上述日期為依歸,讓讀者作出比較。以涵蓋率不下25%本地報章每日頭條新聞和報社評論計,在上述期間發生的相關大事包括以下事件,讀者可以自行判斷有關事件有否影響各項民調數字,又或參閱「民意日誌」內所有大事紀錄後,再作判斷:

 

15/6/15

警方於西貢發現爆炸品並拘捕十名男女,其中數名懷疑屬於本地激進組織

4/6/15

無證男童肖友懷自願遣返內地

23/5/15

中央邀議員赴深談政改

22/4/15

政府公佈2017年行政長官選舉方案

11/4/15

一簽多行改為一周一行

3/4/15

基本法將頒布二十五周年

9/3/15

傳媒繼續報導反水貨客遊行

6/3/15

張德江發言談及港獨

1/1/15

上海倒數活動發生人踩人事故,36人死亡

14/12/14

北京官員張榮順指香港需要進行一國兩制的再啟蒙

13/12/14

南京大屠殺77周年


民意研究計劃總監鍾庭耀分析:「最新調查顯示,不論以絕對評分或對立比較測試,巿民對『香港人』身分的認同感都有所回落,對『中國人』身分的認同感就有所回升,大概回復到2014年中的水平。以0至10分絕對評分計,巿民對『香港人』的認同感為7.95分,對『中華民族一份子』的文化認同感為7.02分,對『中國人』的認同感為6.70分,對『中華人民共和國國民』的國民認同感則為5.87分。加入重要性評分,再以0至100分的『身分認同指數』計算(指數愈高,正面感覺愈強),巿民對『香港人』的感覺仍然最強,有77.6分,然後是『亞洲人』72.3分、『中華民族一份子』67.3分、『中國人』65.3分、『世界公民』64.1分和『中華人民共和國國民』55.9分。如果按照一般研究方法把『香港人』和『中國人』的身分二元對立比較,則香港巿民中無論是狹義或廣義地自稱為『香港人』的比率,都比同樣定義的『中國人』比率高14至29個百分比。綜合各種測試顯示,香港巿民最認同『香港人』的身分,然後是各項文化認同。對『中華人民共和國國民』身分的認同程度,就相對低於其他身分認同。至於是什麼事情影響了各項數字的起跌,讀者可以根據『民意日誌』的詳細記錄自行判斷。」

 


未來發放(暫定)

  • 2015年6月25日(星期四)下午一時至二時:各項信任及信心指標

  • 2015年6月29日(星期一)下午一時至二時:特首及特區政府民望

  • 2015年6月30日(星期二)下午一時至二時:特區成立週年調查



香港市民身分認同調查參考資料


| 特別宣佈| 公報簡要 | 最新數據 | 民意日誌 | 分析評論 | 未來發放(暫定) |香港市民身分認同調查參考資料 |
| 詳細結果 (巿民的身分認同感) |