HKUPOP today releases the interim report of a study related to the 2016 Legislative Council Election Rolling SurveyBack

 
Press Release on August 22, 2016


The Public Opinion Programme (POP) of The University of Hong Kong in its 2016 Legislative Council Election Rolling Survey follows the current practice of most electronic media to read out only the first candidate’s name in each list but not the first two names have caused some debates. In view of this, POP has spent extra resources to conduct a scientific experiment for five consecutive days from August 11 to 15. Apart from interviewing 1,027 registered voters using the standard method, our interviewers also randomly selected 469 respondents to conduct a test by “reading out two names”, some of them read out “one name then two names” while some read “two names then one name”. POP today releases the interim report of this study to the public, and also sends a copy of it to those who have directly expressed their opinions to POP. POP will consider all feedbacks first, before deciding whether or not to adjust the survey methodology. The public can now click on https://www.hkupop.hku.hk/chinese/release/lc2016_test_int_rpt.pdf to read the report. The concluding remarks of the interim report are as follows:


5.1 The results of the test conducted from August 11 to 15, 2016 show that, among the 84 candidate lists in all 5 geographic constituencies, the p-values of the t-tests between “read one name” and “read two names” lie between 0.072 and 0.996, meaning that at 95% confidence level there is no significant difference between the two sets of figures. In other words, the limited samples do not provide sufficient statistical evidence to show that “read one name” and “read two names” methods would significantly affect the survey results. Of course, if the sample size of the test could be many times bigger, or if the test could be run much longer, the results could be different.


5.2 Since there is no statistical difference between the two sets of results, we can choose to continue to “read one name” or change to “read two names” method without worrying about adjustments to the data previously collected. If we will change to “read two names”, POP will have to reallocate some resources and downsize other election studies. We will consider all feedbacks to the interim report and decide as soon as we can.


5.3 POP has approached the problem of reading names in the most scientific, open and honest way. We will balance the validity of scientific evidence and public expectation when making decisions. We understand that opinion surveys are assets of civic society, so if the public does not agree to its design, its result would be useless, and the operation of opinion surveys would also be affected. In any case, POP remains absolutely neutral to all candidates and groups, and treats them equally. POP has already signed agreements with all sponsors prior to the survey to safeguard POP’s research autonomy.


POP welcomes suggestions from all parties on whether and how to adjust the methodology for the remaining survey, after reading the result of our experiment results. We also welcome anybody to conduct similar experiments to scientifically verify the results.


Media enquiry:     Frank Lee     Tel: 3917 7724     Email: [email protected]

港大民研今日發放2016年立法會選舉滾動調查候選名單讀法測試研究中期報告返回

 
2016年8月22日


香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)在2016年立法會選舉滾動調查中,採用了坊間電子傳媒的做法,只讀出候選名單中首名候選人的名字,而非最前兩名,引起廣泛討論。有見及此,民研計劃於是在本月11至15日期間,連續五日撥出資源進行科學測試。期間民研計劃的訪員除了採用一般方法訪問了1,027位登記選民之外,更加隨機抽取469人以「讀出兩人」方式進行反復測試,當中部分以「先一後二」,部分以「先二後一」方式進行提問。港大民研今日發表有關研究的中期報告,並把報告送交曾經向民研計劃直接表達意見的人士,再從多方面考慮各界人士的意見,決定是否調整調查方法。各界人士可以點擊https://www.hkupop.hku.hk/chinese/release/lc2016_test_int_rpt.pdf 查閱報告。以下是中期報告的結語:


5.1 在2016年8月11至15日間進行的測試調查顯示,綜合五區84張候選名單,「讀出一人」與「讀出兩人」的T 檢驗p值都在0.072至0.996之間,表示在百分之95的置信水平下,兩組數據在統計上並無顯著差異。換言之,在有限的樣本下,科學檢測未有顯示「讀出一人」與「讀出兩人」的方法,對調查結果導致明顯不同。當然,如果測試樣本以倍數增加,結果可能會有所不同。延長測試的話,結果可能亦會改變。


5.2 由於測試結果顯示兩種方法產生的結果,在統計上並無顯著差異,我們可以繼續以「讀出一人」方法進行調查,亦可改以「讀出兩人」的方法進行調查,而無須調整以往的調查數字。倘若改變為「讀出兩人」的話,我們則要重新調配資源,減少其他選舉調查的活動。至於應否調整調查方法,我們會視乎各界人士對本中期報告的反應而盡快作出決定。


5.3 民研計劃是以最科學、最開放、最誠實的方法處理候選名單讀法的問題。我們會權衡科學數據的效度,和社會人士的要求,作出決定。我們明白,民意調查始終屬於公民社會的資產,如果市民大眾不認同民意調查的方法,則得物亦無所用,亦會影響民意調查的實際工作。但無論如何,民研計劃會對所有參選人士和團體都保持絕對中立和一視同仁,而民研計劃亦事先與所有贊助機構簽署協議,確保民研計劃的獨立操作。


民研計劃歡迎各界在審閱報告後再向我們提出建議,如何調整進行餘下的調查,亦歡迎社會人士進行同類測試,以科學方法驗證結果。


傳媒查詢:李先生 (Frank Lee) 電話:3917 7724 電郵:[email protected]