HKU POP releases findings on people’s expectation of CE CY Leung’s Policy AddressBack

 

Press Release on January 17, 2017

| Detailed Findings (Policy Address Feature Page) |

 

Special Announcements

1. As in previous years, Public Opinion Programme (POP) at The University of Hong Kong will conduct an instant survey after the Chief Executive delivers his policy address tomorrow (January 18, 2017, Wednesday). Results will be announced as soon as possible, after which POP will conduct follow-up surveys. Media interested in sponsoring these surveys can contact POP.

2. To facilitate academic study and rational discussion, POP has already released for public examination some time ago via the “HKU POP Site” (http://hkupop.hku.hk) the raw data of all 112 regular rating surveys of CE CY Leung, as well as the 181 regular rating surveys of former CE Donald Tsang and 239 regular rating surveys of former CE CH Tung, along with related demographics of respondents. Please follow normal academic standards when using or citing such data.

 

Abstract

POP conducted a double stage survey on people’s expectation of CE CY Leung’s Policy Address in early January 2017 by means of random telephone surveys conducted by real interviewers. We use a two-stage design to study both the absolute and relative importance of different policy items. In our latest surveys, when asked to name only one issue unaided, most people considered “housing” the most pressing policy area to be handled in CE CY Leung’s Policy Address. In terms of absolute percentage of importance, 85% said CE should tackle housing problems, with a mean score of 4.5, in between “very important” and “quite important”. Both figures are the highest across all items. The second to fifth items in terms of mean score are “medical policy”, “social welfare”, “economic development” and “political development”. Among them, only the mean score of importance of “political development” has dropped significantly. All five items are the same as those one year ago, although their degree and order have changed. The maximum sampling error of the survey is +/-4 percentage points at 95% confidence level, response rates of the first stage and second stage survey being 57% and 69% respectively.


Points to note:

[1] The address of the “HKU POP SITE” is http://hkupop.hku.hk, journalists can check out the details of the survey there.

[2] The sample size of the first stage survey is 1,004 successful interviews, not 1,004 x 56.7% response rate, while the sample size of the second stage survey is another 1,005, not 1,005 x 69.3% response rate. In the past, many media made this mistake.

[3] “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. When quoting these figures, journalists can state “sampling error of all percentages not more than +/-4% at 95% confidence level”.

[4] Because of sampling errors in conducting the survey(s) and the rounding procedures in processing the data, the figures cannot be too precise, and the totals may not be completely accurate. Therefore, when quoting percentages of the survey(s), journalists should refrain from reporting decimal places, but when quoting the rating figures, one decimal place can be used.

[5] The data of this survey is collected by means of random telephone interviews conducted by real interviewers, not by any interactive voice system (IVS). If a research organization uses “computerized random telephone survey” to camouflage its IVS operation, it should be considered unprofessional.

 

Latest Figures

POP today releases the latest findings on people’s expectation of the fifth Policy Address of CE CY Leung. From 2014, POP enhanced the previous simple weighting method based on age and gender distribution to “rim weighting” based on age, gender and education (highest level attended) distribution. The latest figures released today for both the first and second stage surveys have been rim-weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population in 2016 mid-year and the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution collected in the 2011 Census. Herewith the contact information for the latest survey:

Date of survey

Overall sample size

Response rate

Maximum sampling error of percentages[6]

3-5/1/2017 (First Stage)

1,004

56.7%

+/-3%

9-12/1/2017 (Second Stage)

1,005

69.3%

+/-3%

[6] Errors are calculated at 95% confidence level using full sample size. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Questions using only sub-samples would have bigger sampling error.


According to our first stage survey conducted in early January 2017, when asked to name unaided one issue that CE CY Leung should focus on in his fifth Policy Address to be announced this Wednesday, 45% of the respondents wished he would take “housing” as his first priority, while 11%, 9% and 8% respectively chose “economic development”, “social welfare” and “political development”. Besides, “medical policy”, “labour and employment” and “education” took up 6%, 3% and 3% respectively, while 11% of the respondents failed to give a specific answer. Please refer to the “HKU POP SITE” for detailed figures.

In order to further study people’s expectation, another survey was then conducted whereby respondents were asked to evaluate each of the 5 top priority items individually, on a 5-point scale, how important it is for each item to be tackled in the Policy Address. Results compared to those of last 2 years are summarized below in descending order of mean values:


Date of survey

2-9/1/15

4-6/1/16

9-12/1/17

Latest Change

Sample base

519-645

563-639

548-632

--

Overall response rate

65.7%

63.9%

69.3%

--

Latest findings

Finding

Finding

Finding & error [7]

--

Perceived housing issues as “very important”

74%

70%

70+/-4%

--

Perceived housing issues as “quite important”

16%

21%[9]

15+/-3%

-6%[9]

“Very” + “quite” important[8]

90%

91%

85+/-3%

-6%[9]

Mean value[10]

4.6

(Base=598)

4.6

(Base=622)

4.5+/-0.1

(Base=607)

-0.1

Perceived medical policy issues as “very important”

49%[9]

55%[9]

62+/-4%

+7%[9]

Perceived medical policy issues as “quite important”

31%

30%

22+/-4%

-8%[9]

“Very” + “quite” important[8]

80%[9]

85%[9]

84+/-3%

-1%

Mean value[10]

4.3[9]

(Base=585)

4.4

(Base=563)

4.4+/-0.1[11]

(Base=536)

--

Perceived social welfare issues as “very important”

43%[9]

51%[9]

58+/-4%

+7%[9]

Perceived social welfare issues as “quite important”

30%[9]

33%

24+/-3%

-9%[9]

“Very” + “quite” important[8]

73%[9]

84%[9]

82+/-3%

-2%

Mean value[10]

4.1[9]

(Base=630)

4.3[9]

(Base=558)

4.4+/-0.1[11]

(Base=618)

+0.1

Perceived economic development issues as “very important”

55%

54%

50+/-4%

-4%

Perceived economic development issues as “quite important”

26%

27%

24+/-3%

-3%

“Very” + “quite” important[8]

81%

81%

74+/-4%

-7%[9]

Mean value[10]

4.4

(Base=478)

4.3

(Base=557)

4.2+/-0.1

(Base=571)

-0.1

Perceived political development issues as “very important”

54%[9]

45%[9]

40+/-4%

-5%[9]

Perceived political development issues as “quite important”

18%[9]

24%[9]

23+/-4%

-1%

“Very” + “quite” important[8]

72%

68%

64+/-4%

-4%

Mean value[10]

4.3

(Base=457)

4.1[9]

(Base=501)

3.9+/-0.1

(Base=498)

-0.2[9]

[7] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of percentages not more than +/-4% at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures.

[8] Percentages in these rows may not be equal to the sum of percentages shown in the rows of “very” and “quite important” due to rounding off.

[9] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level under the same weighting method, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant or not is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful.

[10] The mean value is calculated by quantifying all individual responses into 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 marks according to their degree of importance, where 1 is the lowest and 5 the highest, and then calculate the sample mean.

[11] In one decimal place, the respective mean values of “medical policy issues” and “social welfare issues” are 4.41 and 4.35. Thus, they are ranked 2nd and 3rd respectively.

When asked to evaluate the importance of each item individually, 85% said CE CY Leung needed to tackle housing issue in the coming Policy Address, including 70% regarded it as “very important” and 15% “quite important”. Meanwhile, medical policy, social welfare, economic development and political development were perceived by 84%, 82%, 74% and 64% respectively to be important. The mean scores of the five issues are 4.5, 4.4, 4.4, 4.2 and 3.9 respectively, meaning close to “quite important” in general.

 

Commentary

Edward Chit-Fai Tai, Senior Data Analyst of Public Opinion Programme, observed, “More than ten years ago we began to use a two-stage design to study people’s expectation of the upcoming Policy Address in order to study both the absolute and relative importance of different policy items. In our latest surveys, when asked to name only one issue unaided, most people considered ‘housing’ the most pressing policy area to be handled in CE CY Leung’s Policy Address. In terms of absolute percentage of importance, 85% said CE should tackle housing problems, with a mean score of 4.5, in between ‘very important’ and ‘quite important’. Both figures are the highest across all items. The second to fifth items in terms of mean score are ‘medical policy’, ‘social welfare’, ‘economic development’ and ‘political development’. Among them, only the mean score of importance of ‘political development’ has dropped significantly. All five items are the same as those one year ago, although their degree and order have changed.”

 

Future Releases (Tentative)

  • January 19, 2017 (Thursday) 1pm to 2pm: Policy Address Instant Poll
  • January 24, 2017 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: Policy Address First Follow-up Survey

港大民研今日發放市民對特首梁振英施政報告期望的最新調查結果返回

 

2017年1月17日 新聞公報

| 詳細結果 (施政報告專頁) |

特別宣佈

1. 一如以往,香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)將於明日(2017年1月18日,星期三)特首發表施政報告後進行即時調查,結果盡快公佈,然後再進行跟進調查,有意贊助有關調查的媒體請聯絡民研計劃。

2. 在促進學術研究和理性討論的基礎上,民研計劃早前已在《香港大學民意網站》(http://hkupop.hku.hk)發放自特首梁振英上任以來,民研計劃所進行的112次定期特首民望評分、181次前特首曾蔭權和239次前特首董建華民望評分及相關人口變項的原始數據,供各界考證。惟請用家使用及引用有關數據時,按照學術慣例註明出處。

 

公報簡要

民研計劃在2017年1月初,透過真實訪員以隨機抽樣方式,分兩階段進行了市民對特首梁振英施政報告期望調查,目的是要清楚說明每個政策項目的絕對和相對重要性。最新調查顯示,在沒有提示及只選一項的情況下,最多巿民認為特首梁掁英的施政報告重點應放在房屋問題上。在個別項目評價中,以絕對重要比率計,85%認為特首需要處理房屋問題,平均量值為4.5,即介乎「好需要處理」及「幾需要處理」之間,亦屬最高。其後按平均量值的排名依次為醫療政策、社會福利、經濟發展和政制發展。當中,只有政制發展重要程度的平均量值錄得明顯跌幅。巿民最關心的五個項目都與去年同期一樣,只是程度和次序有所改變。在95%置信水平下,調查數字的最高抽樣誤差為+/-4個百分比,第一階段及第二階段調查的回應率分別為57%及69%。

注意事項:

[1]《香港大學民意網站》的網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk ,傳媒可到網站參閱調查細節。

[2] 第一階段調查的樣本為1,004個成功個案,並非1,004乘以回應率56.7%;第二階段調查的樣本則為另外1,005個,並非1,005乘以回應率69.3%,過去有不少傳媒在報導上犯了上述錯誤。

[3] 95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用有關數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項百分比誤差不超過+/-4%」。

[4] 因為調查存在的抽樣誤差及處理數據的捨入過程,數字不能過份精確,合計數字亦未必完全準確。因此,傳媒在引用有關調查的百分比數字時,應避免使用小數點,在引用評分數字時,則可以使用一個小數點。

[5] 調查數據並非透過音頻互動系統取得,倘若調查機構以「電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問」或類似文字來掩飾音頻互動調查,是不專業的做法。


 

最新數據

民研計劃今日發放市民對特首梁振英第五份施政報告期望的最新調查結果。2014年起,民研計劃把以往按照年齡及性別分佈進行的簡單加權方法,改良成為按照年齡、性別及教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈的「反覆多重加權」方法調整數據。今天公佈的第一與第二階段之有關調查數字,是按照政府統計處提供之2016年中全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以及2011年人口普查收集之教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈統計數字,以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。現先列出最新調查的樣本資料:

調查日期

總樣本數

回應比率

最高百分比誤差[6]

3-5/1/2017 (第一階段調查)

1,004

56.7%

+/-3%

9-12/1/2017 (第二階段調查)

1,005

69.3%

+/-3%

[6] 有關誤差數字均以95%置信水平及整體樣本計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。個別題目如果只涉及調查內若干次樣本,百分比誤差會相應增加。

2017年1月初的第一階段調查顯示,當問及市民期望特首梁振英於本星期三發表第五份施政報告中的重點時,在沒有提示及只選一項的情況下,45%被訪者認為重點應放在房屋問題上,11%、9%及8%則期望報告重點分別放在經濟發展、社會福利及政制發展上;而選擇醫療政策、勞工及就業問題及教育政策的,則分別有6%、3%及3%;至於回答「唔知/難講」者,則佔11%。有關調查的詳細數據已刊登於《港大民意網站》內。

為了更加深入探討巿民對施政報告的期望,民研計劃及後再把在上述調查排名前五位的項目再作優次調查,要求被訪者用五等量尺評估每個項目在施政報告的重要性,再以平均量值排列,重點結果與過去兩年同期調查的比較如下:

調查日期

2-9/1/15

4-6/1/16

9-12/1/17

最新變化

樣本基數

519-645

563-639

548-632

--

整體回應比率

65.7%

63.9%

69.3%

--

最新結果

結果

結果

結果及誤差 [7]

--

認為房屋問題「好需要」處理

74%

70%

70+/-4%

--

認為房屋問題「幾需要」處理

16%

21%[9]

15+/-3%

-6%[9]

認為房屋問題「 好需要」或「幾需要」處理 [8]

90%

91%

85+/-3%

-6%[9]

平均量值[10]

4.6

(基數=598)

4.6

(基數=622)

4.5+/-0.1

( 基數 =607)

-0.1

認為醫療政策問題「好需要」處理

49%[9]

55%[9]

62+/-4%

+7%[9]

認為醫療政策問題「幾需要」處理

31%

30%

22+/-4%

-8%[9]

認為 醫療政策問題「 好需要」或「幾需要」處理 [8]

80%[9]

85%[9]

84+/-3%

-1%

平均量值[10]

4.3[9]

(基數=585)

4.4

(基數=563)

4.4+/-0.1[11]

( 基數 =536)

--

認為社會福利問題「好需要」處理

43%[9]

51%[9]

58+/-4%

+7%[9]

認為社會福利問題「幾需要」處理

30%[9]

33%

24+/-3%

-9%[9]

認為 社會福利問題「 好需要」或「幾需要」處理 [8]

73%[9]

84%[9]

82+/-3%

-2%

平均量值[10]

4.1[9]

(基數=630)

4.3[9]

(基數=558)

4.4+/-0.1[11]

( 基數 =618)

+0.1

認為經濟發展問題「好需要」處理

55%

54%

50+/-4%

-4%

認為經濟發展問題「幾需要」處理

26%

27%

24+/-3%

-3%

認為 經濟發展問題「 好需要」或「幾需要」處理 [8]

81%

81%

74+/-4%

-7%[9]

平均量值[10]

4.4

(基數=478)

4.3

(基數=557)

4.2+/-0.1

( 基數 =571)

-0.1

認為政制發展問題「好需要」處理

54%[9]

45%[9]

40+/-4%

-5%[9]

認為政制發展問題「幾需要」處理

18%[9]

24%[9]

23+/-4%

-1%

認為 制發展問題「好需要」或「幾需要」處理 [8]

72%

68%

64+/-4%

-4%

平均量值[10]

4.3

(基數=457)

4.1[9]

(基數=501)

3.9+/-0.1

( 基數 =498)

-0.2[9]

[7] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用上述數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,百分比誤差不超過+/-4%」。

[8] 因個別數值的進位問題,此項目的百分比未必等如「好需要」和「幾需要」相加的總和。

[9] 該等變化在相同加權方法下超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義。

[10] 平均量值是把所有答案按照需要程度,以1分最低5分最高量化成為1、2、3、4、5分,再求取樣本平均數值。

[11] 以一個小數位計,醫療政策問題和社會福利問題的平均量值分別為4.41和4.35個百分比。因此醫療政策問題和社會福利問題分別排第二及三位。


調查顯示,當評估在施政報告中個別施政項目需要處理的重要性時,85%被訪者認為特首梁振英在施政報告中需要處理房屋問題,包括70%認為「好需要」和15%認為「幾需要」,而認為醫療政策、社會福利、經濟發展和政制發展需要處理的,分別佔及84%、82%、74%及64%。五項問題的平均量值依次為4.5、4.4、4.4、4.2及3.9分,即整體上接近「幾需要處理」。

 

分析評論

民意研究計劃高級數據分析師戴捷輝分析:「有關巿民對施政報告期望的調查,十多年前開始分成兩個階段進行,目的是要清楚說明每個政策項目的絕對和相對重要性。最新調查顯示,在沒有提示及只選一項的情況下,最多巿民認為特首梁掁英的施政報告重點應放在房屋問題上。在個別項目評價中,以絕對重要比率計,85%認為特首需要處理房屋問題,平均量值為4.5,即介乎『好需要處理』及『幾需要處理』之間,亦屬最高。其後按平均量值的排名依次為醫療政策、社會福利、經濟發展和政制發展。當中,只有政制發展重要程度的平均量值錄得明顯跌幅。巿民最關心的五個項目都與去年同期一樣,只是程度和次序有所改變。」

 

未來發放 (暫定)

  • 2017年1月19日(星期四)下午一時至二時:施政報告即時調查
  • 2017年1月24日(星期二)下午一時至二時:施政報告首輪跟進調查