HKU POP releases the Budget second follow-up surveyBack

 

Press Release on March 21, 2017

| Detailed Findings (Budget Feature Page) |

Special Announcement

To facilitate academic study and rational discussion, Public Opinion Programme (POP) at The University of Hong Kong has already released for public examination some time ago via the “HKU POP SITE” (http://hkupop.hku.hk) the raw data of all 118 regular rating surveys of CE CY Leung, as well as the 181 regular rating surveys of former CE Donald Tsang and 239 regular rating surveys of former CE CH Tung, along with related demographics of respondents. Please follow normal academic standards when using or citing such data.

Abstract

POP interviewed 1,018 Hong Kong people from 11 to 15 March by means of a random telephone survey conducted by real interviewers. Over the years, we find people’s receptiveness of the government’s Budget drops in our follow-up surveys after it has been debated for some time. The situation this year is that people’s initial appraisal of the Budget was positive, with a net satisfaction of positive 15 percentage points. After one to two days’ media widespread coverage, the reaction turned negative significantly, net satisfaction rate went down sharply to zero. Three weeks later, it continues to drop slightly to negative 1 percentage point. Satisfaction rating also drops from 55.7 marks at the beginning to 52.6, then again significantly to 51.0 marks in this survey. In terms of specific policies, with regards to the government surplus and reserves at a historical high but the total amount of “giveaway” from the relief measures suggested by the Financial Secretary having decreased by 10 percent compared to last year, 30% supported this approach while 51% opposed. Also, 24% of the respondents think that the Budget can serve the three objectives mentioned by the Financial Secretary, 57% think the opposite. Finally, people continue to consider Hong Kong’s tax system as fair, but the distribution of wealth unreasonable. Meanwhile, 34% are satisfied with the government’s fiscal policies, 39% are dissatisfied, giving a net satisfaction of negative 5 percentage points. The maximum sampling error of all percentages is +/-3 percentage points at 95% confidence level, while the sampling error of rating figure is +/-1.4, and that of net values needs another calculation. The response rate of the survey is 71%.

Points to note:

[1] The address of the “HKU POP SITE” is http://hkupop.hku.hk, journalists can check out the details of the survey there.

[2] The overall sample size of this survey is 1,018 successful interviews, not 1,018 x 71.3% response rate. In the past, many media made this mistake.
[3] The maximum sampling error of all percentages is +/-3 percentage points at 95% confidence level, while the sampling error needs another calculation. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. When quoting these figures, journalists can state “sampling error of rating not more than +/-1.4, that of percentages not more than +/-3% and net values not more than +/-5% at 95% confidence level”.
[4] Because of sampling errors in conducting the survey(s) and the rounding procedures in processing the data, the figures cannot be too precise, and the totals may not be completely accurate. Therefore, when quoting percentages of the survey(s), journalists should refrain from reporting decimal places, but when quoting the rating figures, one decimal place can be used.
[5] The data of this survey is collected by means of random telephone interviews conducted by real interviewers, not by any interactive voice system (IVS). If a research organization uses “computerized random telephone survey” to camouflage its IVS operation, it should be considered unprofessional.


Background

Since 1992, HKUPOP has already been conducting Policy Address instant surveys every year. From 1998 onwards, we expanded our instant surveys to cover the Budget Talks. In 2008, we revised our research design by splitting up our instant survey into two rounds, while our follow-up survey operation weeks later remains intact, to become the third survey under our new design. Starting 2011, we revised our design to concentrate on people’s appraisal of the Budget and FS’s popularity in our instant survey, and move the remaining questions to our follow-up surveys. There is no change to our operation this year.

For this year’s Budget, in our first survey, we measured people’s overall appraisal of the Budget, their rating of the Budget, and the Financial Secretary’s popularity. Our results were released on February 23. For our first Budget follow up survey, we focused on people’s reactions towards major government proposals, their satisfaction with the government’s fiscal policies, and other relevant issues. Our results were released on February 28 respectively. Today we are releasing the results of our second Budget follow up and it is the last survey.

Latest Figures

POP today releases the findings of the Budget follow-up poll. From 2014, POP enhanced the previous simple weighting method based on age and gender distribution to “rim weighting” based on age, gender and education (highest level attended) distribution. The latest figures released today have been rim-weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population in 2016 mid-year and the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution collected in the 2011 Census. Herewith the contact information of various surveys:

Round of survey

Date of survey

Sample base

Overall response rate

Sampling error of percentages [6]

2016 second follow up survey

11-15/3/2017

1,018

71.3%

+/-3%

2016 first follow up survey

23-24/2/2017

506

70.4%

+/-4%

2016 instant survey

22/2/2017

559

64.4%

+/-4%

[6] Errors are calculated at 95% confidence level using full sample size. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified.


Results of the Budget follow-up poll, together with the previous two surveys, are tabulated below:

Date of survey

Instant survey

First follow up survey

Second follow up survey

Latest Change

22/2/2017

23-24/2/2017

11-15/3/201 7

--

Overall response rate

64.4%

70.4%

71.3%

--

Sub sample size for each qn/ Finding

Base

Finding

Base

Finding

Base

Finding/Error[7]

--

Satisfaction rating of Budget (0 to 100 marks)

502[8]

55.7

506

52.6[11]

1,018

51.0+/-1.4

-1.6[11]

Appraisal of Budget: Satisfaction rate [9]

502[8]

33%

506

26%[11]

1,018

31+/-3%

+5%[11]

Appraisal of Budget: Dissatisfaction rate [9]

502[8]

18%

506

27%[11]

1,018

32+/-3%

+5%[11]

Net satisfaction rate

15%

0%[11]

-1+/-5%

-1%

Mean value[9]

3.2

(Base=412)

2.9[11]

(Base=407)

2.9+/-0.1

(Base=905)

--

Agree with the approach that the government surplus and reserve have registered historical high but the total amount of “give away” from the relief measures suggested by the Financial Secretary have decreased by 10 percent as compared to last year.

--

--

506

27%

1,018

30+/-3%

+3%

Disagree with the approach that the government surplus and reserve have registered historical high but the total amount of “give away” from the relief measures suggested by the Financial Secretary have decreased by 10 percent as compared to last year.

--

--

506

52%

1,018

51+/-3%

-1%

Think that the suggestions in Budget can serve the three objectives: (1) appropriately proactive in developing the economy and improving people’s livelihood; (2) forward-looking and invest continuously for the future and enhance competitiveness; and (3) make good use of financial resources to build a fair and just society.”

--

--

506

24%

1,018

24+/-3%

--

Think that the suggestions in Budget can not serve the three objectives: (1) appropriately proactive in developing the economy and improving people’s livelihood; (2) forward-looking and invest continuously for the future and enhance competitiveness; and (3) make good use of financial resources to build a fair and just society.”

--

--

506

55%

1,018

57+/-3%

+2%

Satisfied with the government’s strategy in monetary arrangement [9]

--

--

506

32%

1,018

34+/-3%

+2%

Dissatisfied with the government’s strategy in monetary arrangement [9]

--

--

506

32%

1,018

39+/-3%

+7% [11]

Net satisfaction rate

--

0%

-5+/-5%

-5%

Mean value[9]

--

2.9

(Base=454)

2.8+/-0.1

(Base=947)

-0.1

Perceived the tax system in Hong Kong to be fair [10]

--

--

506

58%

1,018

54+/-3%

-4% [11]

Perceived the tax system in Hong Kong to be unfair [10]

--

--

506

28%

1,018

34+/-3%

+6% [11]

Perceived the distribution of wealth in Hong Kong to be reasonable [10]

--

--

506

20%

1,018

24+/-3%

+4% [11]

Perceived the distribution of wealth in Hong Kong to be unreasonable [10]

--

--

506

68%

1,018

65+/-3%

-3%

[7] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Sampling errors of ratings are calculated according to the distribution of the scores collected. Media can state “sampling error of various ratings not more than +/-1.4, that of percentages not more than +/-3% and net values not more than +/-5% at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures. The error margin of previous survey can be found at the POP Site.
[8] Excluding respondents who had not heard of/were not clear about the Budget.

[9] Collapsed from a 5-point scale. The mean value is calculated by quantifying all individual responses into 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 marks according to their degree of positive level, where 1 is the lowest and 5 the highest, and then calculate the sample mean.

[10] Collapsed from a 4-point scale.

[11] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level under the same weighting method, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant or not is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful.


The second follow up survey conducted in mid-March revealed that, 31% of the respondents were satisfied with the Budget and 32% were dissatisfied, thus net satisfaction stands at negative 1 percentage point. The mean score is 2.9 marks, meaning close to “half-half”. The average rating registered for the Budget was 51.0 marks. Meanwhile, 34% were satisfied with the government's strategy in monetary arrangement, whereas 39% were dissatisfied, thus net satisfaction stands at negative 5 percentage points. The mean score is 2.8 marks, meaning close to “half-half” in general.

On the other hand, with regards to the government surplus and reserves at a historical high but the total amount of “giveaway” from the relief measures suggested by the Financial Secretary have decreased by 10 percent compared to last year, 30% supported this approach while 51% opposed. Also, 24% of the respondents thought that the Budget can serve the three objectives mentioned by the Financial Secretary, namely, (1) appropriately proactive in developing the economy and improving people’s livelihood; (2) forward-looking and invest continuously for the future and enhance competitiveness; and (3) make good use of financial resources to build a fair and just society. Meanwhile, 57% thought the opposite.

With respect to Hong Kong’s tax system, 54% considered it fair, whilst 34% thought the opposite. Last of all, 24% perceived the distribution of wealth in Hong Kong reasonable, as contrast to 65% who regarded it unreasonable.

Commentary

Frank Lee, Research Manager of Public Opinion Programme, observed, “Over the years, we find people’s receptiveness of the government’s Budget drops in our follow-up surveys after it has been debated for some time. The situation this year is that people’s initial appraisal of the Budget was positive, with a net satisfaction of positive 15 percentage points. After one to two days’ media widespread coverage, the reaction turned negative significantly, net satisfaction rate went down sharply to zero. Three weeks later, it continues to drop slightly to negative 1 percentage point. Satisfaction rating also drops from 55.7 marks at the beginning to 52.6, then again significantly to 51.0 marks in this survey. In terms of specific policies, with regards to the government surplus and reserves at a historical high but the total amount of “giveaway” from the relief measures suggested by the Financial Secretary having decreased by 10 percent compared to last year, 30% supported this approach while 51% opposed. Also, 24% of the respondents think that the Budget can serve the three objectives mentioned by the Financial Secretary, 57% think the opposite. Finally, people continue to consider Hong Kong’s tax system as fair, but the distribution of wealth unreasonable. Meanwhile, 34% are satisfied with the government’s fiscal policies, 39% are dissatisfied, giving a net satisfaction of negative 5 percentage points.”

Future Release (Tentative)

  • March 28, 2017 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: Popularity of CE and HKSAR Government

港大民研今日發放財政預算案次輪跟進調查返回

 

2017年3月21日 新聞公報

| 詳細結果 (財政預算案專頁) |

特別宣佈

在促進學術研究和理性討論的基礎上,香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)早前已在《香港大學民意網站》(http://hkupop.hku.hk)發放自特首梁振英上任以來,民研計劃所進行的118次定期特首民望評分、181次前特首曾蔭權和239次前特首董建華民望評分及相關人口變項的原始數據,供各界考證。惟請用家使用及引用有關數據時,按照學術慣例註明出處。

公報簡要

民研計劃於3月11至15日,透過真實訪員以隨機抽樣方式,成功以電話訪問1,018名香港巿民。巿民對預算案的滿意程度,在跟進調查中差於即日調查,多年來都是普遍現象,原因是巿民在消化預算案的內容後,滿意程度一般都有所減退。今年的情況是,巿民對預算案的即時反應屬於正面,滿意淨值為正15個百分比。經過一兩天傳媒廣泛報導後,反應明顯轉向負面,滿意淨值大幅下跌至零。再過三個星期,滿意淨值繼續輕微下跌至負1個百分比。而評分則由最初的55.7分先下跌至52.6分,然後於今次調查再明顯下跌至51.0分。具體政策方面,對於財政司司長在政府盈餘及儲備錄得歷史新高下但提出的紓困措施較去年少一成的做法,有30%巿民表示贊成,但51%反對這做法。此外,24%巿民認為預算案的建議可以達到財政司司長指出公共財政應有的三大目標,而57%則認為不可以。最後,巿民繼續認為香港的稅制公平,但財富分配不合理,而滿意政府理財策略的比率就有34%,不滿比率39%,滿意淨值為負5個百分比。在95%置信水平下,有關百分比的最高抽樣誤差為+/-3個百分比,評分誤差為+/-1.4,淨值誤差另計,調查的回應率為71%。

注意事項:

[1]《香港大學民意網站》的網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk,傳媒可到網站參閱調查細節。
[2] 調查樣本為504個成功個案,並非1,018乘以回應率71.3%,過去有不少傳媒在報導上犯了上述錯誤。
[3] 在95%置信水平下,調查中有關百分比的最高抽樣誤差為+/-3個百分比,評分及淨值誤差另計。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用有關數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,評分誤差不超過+/-1.4,百分比誤差不超過+/-3個百分比,淨值誤差不超過+/-5個百分比」。
[4] 因為調查存在的抽樣誤差及處理數據的捨入過程,數字不能過份精確,合計數字亦未必完全準確。因此,傳媒在引用有關調查的百分比數字時,應避免使用小數點,在引用評分數字時,則可以使用一個小數點。
[5] 調查數據並非透過音頻互動系統取得,倘若調查機構以「電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問」或類似文字來掩飾音頻互動調查,是不專業的做法。


背景說明

民研計劃在1992年便開始每年都進行施政報告即時調查,1998年再開展財政預算案即時調查,年年如是。2008年,民研計劃修改調查設計,把過往的即時調查分拆成為兩輪調查,而在即時調查後數星期進行的跟進調查,則沒有改變,變成新設計中第三輪調查。2011年開始,民研計劃把調查設計再次改良,首輪調查只集中探討市民對預算案的評價和財政司司長的民望,其餘題目撥歸跟進調查。今年的操作沒有改變。

本年度財政預算案的首輪調查包括市民對財政預算案的整體評價、市民對財政預算案評分、以及財政司司長的民望,結果已於2月23日公開發表。首輪跟進調查則在財政預算案發表後翌日進行,集中探討市民對預算案主要建議的反應、對政府理財策略的滿意程度和其他相關問題,結果已於2月28日發表。民研計劃今日公佈的次輪跟進調查亦即最後一輪調查的結果。

最新數據

民研計劃今日發放有關財政預算案跟進調查的結果。2014年起,民研計劃把以往按照年齡及性別分佈進行的簡單加權方法,改良成為按照年齡、性別及教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈的「反覆多重加權」方法調整數據。今天公佈的最新數據,是按照政府統計處提供之2016年中全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以及2011年人口普查收集之教育程度 (最高就讀程度)分佈統計數字,以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。現先列出各次調查的樣本資料:

調查階段

調查日期

總樣本數

回應比率

百分比誤差[6]

2017 次輪跟進調查

11-15/3/2017

1,018

71.3%

+/-3%

2017首輪跟進調查

23-24/2/2017

506

70.4%

+/-4%

2017即時調查

22/2/2017

559

64.4%

+/-4%

[6] 有關誤差數字均以95%置信水平及整體樣本計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。個別題目如果只涉及調查內若干次樣本,誤差會相應增加。


至於財政預算案的跟進調查結果,有關數字與首兩輪調查結果並列如下:

調查日期

即時調查

首輪跟進調查

次輪跟進調查

最新變化

22/2/2017

23-24/2/2017

11-15/3/2017

--

整體回應比率

64.4%

70.4%

71.3%

--

題目樣本基數/結果

基數

結果

基數

結果

基數

結果/誤差 [7]

--

財政預算案評分 (由0至100分)

502[8]

55.7

506

52.6[11]

1,018

51.0+/-1.4

-1.6[11]

對預算案的評價:滿意率[9]

502[8]

33%

506

26%[11]

1,018

31+/-3%

+5%[11]

對預算案的評價:不滿率[9]

502[8]

18%

506

27%[11]

1,018

32+/-3%

+5%[11]

滿意率淨值

15%

0%[11]

-1 +/- 5 %

-1 %

平均量值[9]

3.2

(基數=412)

2.9[11]

(基數=407)

2.9+/-0.1

( 基數 =905)

--

贊成 「政府既盈餘及儲備錄得歷史新高,但財政司司長提出既紓困措施,俗稱『派糖』就俾舊年少一成。」這個做法

--

--

506

27%

1,018

30+/-3%

+3%

反對 「政府既盈餘及儲備錄得歷史新高,但財政司司長提出既紓困措施,俗稱『派糖』就俾舊年少一成。」這個做法

--

--

506

52%

1,018

51+/-3%

-1%

認為預算案既建議可以 達到公共財政應該有三大目標,包括(1)適度有為,發展經濟、改善民生,(2)目光遠大,持續投資未來,提升競爭力,及(3)善用財政資源,建立公平公義的社會。

--

--

506

24%

1,018

24+/-3%

--

認為預算案既建議不可以 達到公共財政應該有三大目標,包括(1)適度有為,發展經濟、改善民生,(2)目光遠大,持續投資未來,提升競爭力,及(3)善用財政資源,建立公平公義的社會。

--

--

506

55%

1,018

57+/-3%

+2%

對政府理財策略的滿意率[9]

--

--

506

32%

1,018

34+/-3%

+2%

對政府理財策略的不滿率[9]

--

--

506

32%

1,018

39+/-3%

+7% [11]

滿意率淨值

--

0%

-5+/-5%

- 5%

平均量值[9]

--

2.9

(基數=454)

2.8+/-0.1

( 基數 =947)

-0.1

認為香港稅制公平的比率[10]

--

--

506

58%

1,018

54+/-3%

-4% [11]

認為香港稅制不公平的比率[10]

--

--

506

28%

1,018

34+/-3%

+6% [11]

認為香港財富分配合理的比率[10]

--

--

506

20%

1,018

24+/-3%

+4% [11]

認為香港財富分配不合理的比率[10]

--

--

506

68%

1,018

65+/-3%

-3%

[7] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。評分誤差則會按照樣本評分的分佈情況另行推算。傳媒引用上述數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,評分誤差不超過+/-1.4,百分比誤差不超過+/-3%,淨值誤差不超過+/-5%」;以前調查的誤差數值請參閱網站。

[8] 撇除未聞/不清楚預算案的被訪者。

[9] 數字採自五等量尺,平均量值是把所有答案按照正面程度,以1分最低5分最高量化成為1、2、3、4、5分,再求取樣本平均數值。

[10] 數字採自四等量尺。

[11] 該等變化在相同加權方法下超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義。


3月中進行的次輪跟進調查顯示,31%對預算案表示滿意,32%則表示不滿,滿意淨值為負1個百分比,平均量值為2.9分,即接近「一半半」,而被訪市民平均給予財政預算案51.0分。此外,34%被訪市民滿意政府的理財策略,不滿者則佔39%,滿意淨值為負5個百分比,平均量值為2.8分,即整體上接近「一半半」。

另一方面,對於政府的盈餘及儲備錄得歷史新高,但財政司司長提出的紓困措施,俗稱「派糖」就較去年少一成,30%被訪者表示贊成這個做法,51%則反對。另外,24%被訪者認為預算案的建議可以達到財政司司長指出公共財政應有的三大目標,包括(1)適度有為,發展經濟、改善民生,(2)目光遠大,持續投資未來,提升競爭力,及(3)善用財政資源,建立公平公義的社會。與此同時,57%則認為不可以。

至於香港的稅制,54%認為公平,認為不公平者則佔34%。最後,24%認為香港財富分配合理,65%則認為不合理。

分析評論

民研計劃研究經理李偉健分析:「巿民對預算案的滿意程度,在跟進調查中差於即日調查,多年來都是普遍現象,原因是巿民在消化預算案的內容後,滿意程度一般都有所減退。今年的情況是,巿民對預算案的即時反應屬於正面,滿意淨值為正15個百分比。經過一兩天傳媒廣泛報導後,反應明顯轉向負面,滿意淨值大幅下跌至零。再過三個星期,滿意淨值繼續輕微下跌至負1個百分比。而評分則由最初的55.7分先下跌至52.6分,然後於今次調查再明顯下跌至51.0分。具體政策方面,對於財政司司長在政府盈餘及儲備錄得歷史新高下但提出的紓困措施較去年少一成的做法,有30%巿民表示贊成,但51%反對這做法。此外,24%巿民認為預算案的建議可以達到財政司司長指出公共財政應有的三大目標,而57%則認為不可以。最後,巿民繼續認為香港的稅制公平,但財富分配不合理,而滿意政府理財策略的比率就有34%,不滿比率39%,滿意淨值為負5個百分比。」

未來發放(暫定)

  • 2017年3月28日(星期二)下午一時至二時:特首及特區政府民望