HKU POP releases findings of the latest annual June Fourth surveyBack

 

Press Release on June 2, 2017

| Detailed Findings (June Fourth Incident) |

Special Announcements

1. Robert Chung, the Director of Public Opinion Programme (POP) of The University of Hong Kong, continues to publish his article series “Chung’s Blunt Words: HKSAR 20th Anniversary Series” in his online column “Chung’s Blunt Words” ( www.facebook.com/ChungsBluntWords ) today. He discusses the changes to role and positioning of Hong Kong citizens toward the development of China. The copyrights of all articles are open to the world, the media are welcome to re-publish the articles in full or in part, early or concurrent publication can also be arranged.

2. To facilitate academic study and rational discussion, POP has already released for public examination some time ago via the “HKU POP SITE” (http://hkupop.hku.hk) the raw data of all 123 regular rating surveys of CE CY Leung, as well as the 181 regular rating surveys of former CE Donald Tsang and 239 regular rating surveys of former CE CH Tung, along with related demographics of respondents. Please follow normal academic standards when using or citing such data.

Abstract

POP interviewed 1,003 Hong Kong people between 22 and 25 May by means of a random telephone survey conducted by real interviewers. This is the 25th anniversary survey on the June Fourth Incident conducted by POP, marking its 28th anniversary. From a broad perspective, Hong Kong people’s mainstream opinion still holds that the Chinese Government was wrong in 1989, people still support the Beijing students, and demand a reversion of the official stand on June Fourth. However, the percentage of those believing the Beijing students did the wrong thing has increased to record high since this survey began in 1993, while those not supporting a reversion has increased to record high since 2006. Besides, the percentages of those who consider the human rights condition in China has improved since 1989 and those who think the condition will improve in the next three years have both rebounded from the low points last year, roughly back to the level registered in 2014. Hong Kong people continue to think that they have a responsibility to promote democratic and economic developments in China, but the percentages who believed they have no such responsibility have again reached their record highs since 1993 and 1996 respectively. Both in terms of absolute and relative measurements, democratic development takes priority over economic development. This probably reflects Hong Kong people’s wish on the future development of the Mainland. Compared to a year ago, the popularity rating of the Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movement in China has significantly dropped by 3.2 marks to 46.9 marks. The percentage of people who oppose to disbanding the Alliance has also decreased by 5 percentage points to 46%, but they remain to be the majority as compared to the 25% who support the disbanding. Further analyses show that the younger the respondents, the more they blame the Chinese Government, the more they support the Beijing students, and the more they demand for a reversion of the official stand on June Fourth. This probably reflects the demand for democracy among the younger generation. The maximum sampling error of all percentage figures is +/-3 percentage points at 95% confidence level, while the sampling error of rating figure is +/-1.7. The response rate of the survey is 70%.

Points to note:

[1] The address of the “HKU POP SITE” is http://hkupop.hku.hk, journalists can check out the details of the survey there.

[2] The sample size of this survey is 1,003 successful interviews, not 1,003 x 69.7% response rate. In the past, many media made this mistake.

[3] “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. When quoting these figures, journalists can state “sampling error of rating not more than +/-1.7, sampling error of percentages not more than +/-3% at 95% confidence level”.

[4] Because of sampling errors in conducting the survey(s) and the rounding procedures in processing the data, the figures cannot be too precise, and the totals may not be completely accurate. Therefore, when quoting percentages of the survey(s), journalists should refrain from reporting decimal places, but when quoting the rating figures, one decimal place can be used.

[5] The data of this survey is collected by means of random telephone interviews conducted by real interviewers, not by any interactive voice system (IVS). If a research organization uses “computerized random telephone survey” to camouflage its IVS operation, it should be considered unprofessional.


Latest Figures

POP today releases on schedule via the “HKU POP SITE” the findings of the latest annual June Fourth survey. From 2014, POP enhanced the previous simple weighting method based on age and gender distribution to “rim weighting” based on age, gender and education (highest level attended) distribution. The latest figures released today have been rim-weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population in 2016 year-end and the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution collected in the 2011 Census. Herewith the contact information for the latest survey:

Date of survey

Overall sample size

Response rate

Maximum sampling error of percentages[6]

22-25/5/2017

1,003

69.7%

+/-3%

[6] Calculated at 95% confidence level using full sample size. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Questions using only sub-samples would have bigger sample error. Sampling errors of ratings are calculated according to the distribution of the scores collected.


Figures of latest annual June Fourth survey are summarized as follows:

Date of survey

23-25/5/13

17-22/5/14

22-28/5/15

16-19/5/16

22-25/5/17

Latest change

Sample base

1,013

1,005

1,089

1,001

1,003

--

Overall response rate

67.8%

66.8%

65.1%

67.6%

69.7%

--

Finding for each question /
Sampling error

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding and error[7]

--

Proportion of respondents believing:

The Beijing students did the right thing

54%

48%[8]

49%

47%

46+/-3%

-1%

The Beijing students did the wrong thing

15%

17%

17%

17%

22+/-3%

+5%[8]

The Chinese Government did the right thing

10%

12%

14%

11%[8]

12+/-2%

+1%

The Chinese Government did the wrong thing

68%

64%

63%

66%

69+/-3%

+3%

There should be a reversion of the official stand on the incident

63%

56%[8]

52%[8]

59%[8]

55+/-3%

-4%[8]

There should not be a reversion of the official stand on the incident

16%

20%[8]

24%[8]

20%[8]

27+/-3%

+7%[8]

China’s human rights condition has improved since 1989

51%[8]

56%[8]

61%[8]

46%[8]

53+/-3%

+7%[8]

China’s human rights condition has worsened since 1989

18%[8]

19%

15%[8]

24%[8]

23+/-3%

-1%

China’s human rights condition would improve after 3 years

40%[8]

40%

44%[8]

32%[8]

38+/-3%

+6%[8]

China’s human rights condition would worsen after 3 years

16%

19%

16%[8]

25%[8]

23+/-3%

-2%

HK people have a responsibility to instigate the development of democracy in China

68%

65%

66%

62%[8]

58+/-3%

-4%[8]

HK people have no responsibility to instigate the development of democracy in China

20%

21%

24%

27%

30+/-3%

+3%

HK people have a responsibility to instigate economic development in China

67%[8]

62%[8]

62%

57%[8]

58+/-3%

+1%

HK people have no responsibility to instigate economic development in China

24%

26%

28%

34%[8]

36+/-3%

+2%

HK people should put more effort on instigating economic than democratic development in China

25%[8]

31%[8]

29%

29%

32+/-3%

+3%

HK people should put more effort on instigating democratic than economic development in China

42%[8]

37%[8]

37%

36%

38+/-3%

+2%

China should emphasize more on economic development

25%[8]

28%

28%

29%

32+/-3%

+3%

China should emphasize more on democratic development

48%[8]

45%

41%[8]

44%

46+/-3%

+2%

[7] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of percentages not more than +/-3% at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures. The error margin of previous survey can be found at the POP Site.

[8] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level under the same weighting method, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant or not is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful.


This year’s survey findings revealed that 46% of the respondents believed that the Beijing students did the right thing in 1989, while 22% believed that they did the wrong thing. Meanwhile, with regard to the way the Chinese Government handled the matter at that time, 12% regarded it as correct and 69% regarded it as wrong.


The findings also showed that 55% of the respondents supported a reversion of the official stand on the incident while 27% did not. Regarding the human rights condition in China, 53% of the respondents believed that China’s human rights condition has been improved since 1989, and 38% anticipated that China’s human rights condition will be improved after 3 years.

Moreover, 58% of the respondents believed that Hong Kong people had a responsibility to instigate the development of democracy in China, whereas on the economic aspect, 58% believed that Hong Kong people had such a responsibility. When comparing democratic and economic development, 32% of the respondents believed Hong Kong people should put more effort on instigating economic development in China, while 38% of the respondents put more weight on the development of democracy. Furthermore, 32% believed that China should emphasize more on its economic development, while 46% believed that China should emphasize more on the development of democracy.

Latest figures regarding the HK Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movement in China (“the Alliance”) are as follows:

Date of survey

23-25/5/13

17-22/5/14

22-28/5/15

16-19/5/16

22-25/5/17

Latest change

Sample base

1,013

1,005

1,089

1,001

1,003

--

Overall response rate

67.8%

66.8%

65.1%

67.6%

69.7%

--

Finding for each question /
Sampling error

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding and e rror[9]

--

Popularity rating of the HK Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movement in China (“the Alliance”)

52.8

50.1[10]

44.6[10]

50.1[10]

46.9+/-1.7

-3.2[10]

The Alliance should be disbanded

16%

18%

26%[10]

21%[10]

25+/-3%

+4%[10]

The Alliance should not be disbanded

48%[10]

44%

38%[10]

51%[10]

46+/-3%

-5%[10]

[9] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of rating not more than +/-1.7, sampling error of percentages not more than +/-3% at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures. The error margin of previous survey can be found at the POP Site.

[10] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level under the same weighting method, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant or not is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful.


Lastly, regarding the Alliance, 25% of the respondents said the Alliance should be disbanded, 46% said no. The latest popularity rating of the Alliance was 46.9 marks.


Indepth Analysis

In the survey, we also asked respondents for their age. If they were reluctant to give their exact age, they could give us a range. According to their answers, we grouped them into 18-29, 30-49, and 50 years or older. Herewith further analyses of respondents’ views on the Chinese Government and Beijing students in the June Fourth Incident and on a reversion of the official stand on the incident by respondents’ age:

Date of survey: 22-25/5/17

18-29

30-49

50 or above

Overall sample

Chinese Government did the right / wrong thing in the June Fourth Incident[11]

Right

5+/-3%
(8)

5+/-2%
(19)

20+/-4%
(89)

12+/-2%
(116)

Wrong

87+/-5%
(145)

74+/-5%
(255)

58+/-5%
(260)

69+/-3%
(660)

Don’t know / hard to say

9+/-4%
(14)

21+/-4%
(71)

22+/-4%
(101)

19+/-3%
(187)

Total

100%
(167)

100%
(345)

100%
(451)

100%
(963)

[11] Differences among sub-groups are tested to be statistically significant at 99% confidence level.


Date of survey: 22-25/5/17

18-29

30-49

50 or above

Overall sample

Beijing students did the right / wrong thing in the June Fourth Incident[12]

Right

72+/-7%
(119)

49+/-5%
(171)

34+/-4%
(156)

46+/-3%
(447)

Wrong

7+/-4%
(12)

19+/-4%
(65)

30+/-4%
(136)

22+/-3%
(214)

Don’t know / hard to say

21+/-6%
(35)

32+/-5%
(112)

36+/-4%
(163)

32+/-3%
(311)

Total

100%
(167)

100%
(349)

100%
(456)

100%
(971)

[12] Differences among sub-groups are tested to be statistically significant at 99% confidence level.


Date of survey: 22-25/5/17

18-29

30-49

50 or above

Overall sample

There should be a reversion of the official stand on the incident[13]

Support

75+/-7%
(127)

58+/-5%
(199)

45+/-5%
(205)

55+/-3%
(531)

Do not support

13+/-5%
(21)

22+/-4%
(76)

36+/-5%
(162)

27+/-3%
(259)

Don’t know / hard to say

12+/-5%
(20)

20+/-4%
(67)

19+/-4%
(85)

18+/-2%
(172)

Total

100%
(168)

100%
(342)

100%
(452)

100%
(962)

[13] Differences among sub-groups are tested to be statistically significant at 99% confidence level.



Commentary

Frank Wai-Kin Lee, Research Manager of POP, observed, “This is the 25th anniversary survey on the June Fourth Incident conducted by POP, marking its 28th anniversary. From a broad perspective, Hong Kong people’s mainstream opinion still holds that the Chinese Government was wrong in 1989, people still support the Beijing students, and demand a reversion of the official stand on June Fourth. However, the percentage of those believing the Beijing students did the wrong thing has increased to record high since this survey began in 1993, while those not supporting a reversion has increased to record high since 2006. Besides, the percentages of those who consider the human rights condition in China has improved since 1989 and those who think the condition will improve in the next three years have both rebounded from the low points last year, roughly back to the level registered in 2014. Hong Kong people continue to think that they have a responsibility to promote democratic and economic developments in China, but the percentages who believed they have no such responsibility have again reached their record highs since 1993 and 1996 respectively. Both in terms of absolute and relative measurements, democratic development takes priority over economic development. This probably reflects Hong Kong people’s wish on the future development of the Mainland. Compared to a year ago, the popularity rating of the Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movement in China has significantly dropped by 3.2 marks to 46.9 marks. The percentage of people who oppose to disbanding the Alliance has also decreased by 5 percentage points to 46%, but they remain to be the majority as compared to the 25% who support the disbanding. Further analyses show that the younger the respondents, the more they blame the Chinese Government, the more they support the Beijing students, and the more they demand for a reversion of the official stand on June Fourth. This probably reflects the demand for democracy among the younger generation.”

Supplementary Information: About annual June Fourth surveys

June Fourth is an important page in the contemporary history of China with a tremendous impact on both the development of Hong Kong and Mainland China. The June Fourth complex which deeply troubled Hong Kong people has dictated the results of many elections, as well as changed the course of Hong Kong’s return to the motherland. Therefore, HKUPOP began to study Hong Kong people’s opinions of June Fourth and human rights conditions in China since 1993. This is the 25th anniversary survey in a row. We have explained the development of this polling series in our press releases in previous years. Today, we publish it again, so that readers can grasp such developments more comprehensively.

Starting from May 1993, we began this June Fourth survey. Ever since then, it is repeated once every year. The survey has asked respondents to rate the Alliance before June Fourth since 1992 and the wordings used in this question are, “Please use a scale of 0-100 to rate your extent of support to the Hong Kong Alliance in Support of Patriotic Democratic Movement in China, with 0 indicating absolutely not supportive, 100 indicating absolutely supportive and 50 indicating half-half. How would you rate the Alliance?”. Other questions include “Do you think the Beijing students did the right thing in the June Fourth Incident?”, “Do you think the Chinese Government did the right thing in the June Fourth Incident?”, “Do you think the human rights condition in China will be better or even worse in three years’ time?”, “Compared to 1989, do you think China’s human rights condition has become better or worse?”, “Do you think Hong Kong people have a responsibility to instigate the development of democracy in China?”, “Do you think Hong Kong people should put more effort on instigating development in China’s economy or democracy?”, “Which do you think China needs more economic or democratic development?” and “Do you think the Alliance should be disbanded?”

In 1996, we added a question to survey people’s opinion on whether Hong Kong people have a responsibility to instigate economic development in China while in 1997, we also included a question to see if people would support a reversion of the official stand on the June Fourth Incident.

Regarding sample size, from the beginning to May 1999, the sample size of the survey was set at slightly over 500. Then from May 2000 onwards, it was increased to at least 1,000.

Our findings of previous surveys in May 1999 or before were published in our newsletter POP Express. After our HKU POP Site was established, the findings are released online, while all previous findings published in our POP Express have also uploaded on-line in various formats.

Future Release (Tentative)

  • June 6, 2017 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: Popularity of disciplinary forces

港大民研今日發放六四事件的最新週年調查結果返回

 

2017年6月2日 新聞公報

| 詳細結果 (六四事件專頁) |

特別宣佈

1. 香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)總監鍾庭耀於今日繼續在其網上專欄「鍾言亦議」內發放「鍾言亦議:特區二十週年系列」短篇文章,提到香港市民對自己擔負中國發展的角色定位的轉變。有關文章即將在「鍾言亦議」的facebook專頁發放(網址為www.facebook.com/ChungsBluntWords)。「鍾言亦議」所有文章的版權完全開放,歡迎傳媒全文轉載或節錄報導,亦可安排率先或同步發放。

2. 在促進學術研究和理性討論的基礎上,民研計劃早前已在《香港大學民意網站》(http://hkupop.hku.hk)發放自特首梁振英上任以來,民研計劃所進行的123次定期特首民望評分、181次前特首曾蔭權和239次前特首董建華民望評分及相關人口變項的原始數據,供各界考證。惟請用家使用及引用有關數據時,按照學術慣例註明出處。

公報簡要

民研計劃在5月22至25日,透過真實訪員以隨機抽樣方式,成功以電話訪問1,003名香港巿民。今年是六四事件28週年,民研計劃亦已經連續進行了25次六四週年調查。宏觀而論,香港巿民的主流意見繼續認為中國政府當年處理不當、同情北京學生及支持平反六四,但認為北京學生做法錯誤的比率就升至調查自1993年開始以來的新高,而不支持平反六四的比率亦升至2006年以來新高。此外,認為中國現時人權狀況較1989年有改善及估計三年後中國人權狀況會比現時有改善的比率均從去年的低位回升,大概回到2014年的水平。大部分巿民繼續認為香港人有責任推動內地民主及經濟發展,但認為沒有責任的比率分別再次錄得1993及1996年有紀錄以來的新高。不論是絕對或相對測試,都是民主發展優先於經濟發展,這大概反應了香港巿民對國內發展的期望。對比一年前,市民對支聯會的評分明顯下跌3.2分至46.9分,反對解散支聯會的比率亦下跌5個百分比至46%,但就繼續高於支持解散的25%。深入分析顯示,巿民的年紀愈輕,愈傾向認為中國政府當年處理事件的手法不對,愈認同北京學生的做法,又愈傾向支持平反六四,大概顯示年青一輩對民主的追求。在95%置信水平下,各項百分比的最高抽樣誤差為+/-3個百分比,評分誤差為+/-1.7,回應率為70%。

注意事項:

[1] 《香港大學民意網站》的網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk,傳媒可到網站參閱調查細節。

[2] 調查樣本為1,003個成功個案,並非1,003乘以回應率69.7%,過去有不少傳媒在報導上犯了上述錯誤。

[3] 95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用本調查的評分數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項評分誤差不超過+/-1.7,百分比誤差不超過+/-3%」。

[4] 因為調查存在的抽樣誤差及處理數據的捨入過程,數字不能過份精確,合計數字亦未必完全準確。因此,傳媒在引用有關調查的百分比數字時,應避免使用小數點,在引用評分數字時,則可以使用一個小數點。

[5] 調查數據並非透過音頻互動系統取得,倘若調查機構以「電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問」或類似文字來掩飾音頻互動調查,是不專業的做法。



最新數據

民研計劃今日如期在《民意網站》發放六四事件的最新週年調查結果。2014年起,民研計劃把以往按照年齡及性別分佈進行的簡單加權方法,改良成為按照年齡、性別及教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈的「反覆多重加權」方法調整數據。今天公佈的最新數據,是按照政府統計處提供之2016年底全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以及2011年人口普查收集之教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈統計數字,以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。現先列出最新調查的樣本資料:

調查日期

總樣本數

回應比率

最高百分比誤差[6]

22-25/5/2017

1,003

69.7%

+/-3%

[6] 有關誤差數字均以95%置信水平及整體樣本計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。個別題目如果只涉及調查內若干次樣本,百分比誤差會相應增加。評分誤差則會按照樣本評分的分佈情況另行推算。


六四事件的最新週年調查結果表列如下:

調查日期

23-25/5/13

17-22/5/14

22-28/5/15

16-19/5/16

22-25/5/17

最新變化

樣本基數

1,013

1,005

1,089

1,001

1,003

--

整體回應比率

67.8%

66.8%

65.1%

67.6%

69.7%

--

最新結果/誤差

結果

結果

結果

結果

結果及
誤差 [7]

--

認為北京學生做法正確的被訪者比率

54%

48%[8]

49%

47%

46+/-3%

-1%

認為北京學生做法錯誤的被訪者比率

15%

17%

17%

17%

22+/-3%

+5%[8]

認為中國政府處理正確的被訪者比率

10%

12%

14%

11%[8]

12+/-2%

+1%

認為中國政府處理錯誤的被訪者比率

68%

64%

63%

66%

69+/-3%

+3%

支持平反六四的被訪者比率

63%

56%[8]

52%[8]

59%[8]

55+/-3%

-4%[8]

不支持平反六四的被訪者比率

16%

20%[8]

24%[8]

20%[8]

27+/-3%

+7%[8]

認為中國現時人權狀況較1989年
有改善的被訪者比率

51%[8]

56%[8]

61%[8]

46%[8]

53+/-3%

+7%[8]

認為中國現時人權狀況較1989年
惡劣的被訪者比率

18%[8]

19%

15%[8]

24%[8]

23+/-3%

-1%

估計三年後中國的人權狀況將較
現時有改善的被訪者比率

40%[8]

40%

44%[8]

32%[8]

38+/-3%

+6%[8]

估計三年後中國的人權狀況將較
現時惡劣的被訪者比率

16%

19%

16%[8]

25%[8]

23+/-3%

-2%

認為香港人有責任推動中國民主
發展的被訪者比率

68%

65%

66%

62%[8]

58+/-3%

-4%[8]

認為香港人沒有責任推動中國民主
發展的被訪者比率

20%

21%

24%

27%

30+/-3%

+3%

認為香港人有責任推動中國經濟
發展的被訪者比率

67%[8]

62%[8]

62%

57%[8]

58+/-3%

+1%

認為香港人沒有責任推動中國經濟
發展的被訪者比率

24%

26%

28%

34%[8]

36+/-3%

+2%

認為香港人應該偏向推動中國經濟
發展多於民主發展的被訪者比率

25%[8]

31%[8]

29%

29%

32+/-3%

+3%

認為香港人應該偏向推動中國民主
發展多於經濟發展的被訪者比率

42%[8]

37%[8]

37%

36%

38+/-3%

+2%

認為中國現時應該較著重發展經濟
的被訪者比率

25%[8]

28%

28%

29%

32+/-3%

+3%

認為中國現時應該較著重發展民主
的被訪者比率

48%[8]

45%

41%[8]

44%

46+/-3%

+2%

[7] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用有關數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,百分比誤差不超過+/-3個百分比」;以前調查的誤差數值請參閱網站。

[8] 等變化在相同加權方法下超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義。


本年度的調查發現,46%被訪市民認為當年北京學生的做法正確,22%則認為錯誤。至於當年中國政府處理事件的手法方面,12%認為正確,69%則認為不當。

調查亦發現,55%被訪市民支持平反六四,不支持者則佔27%。就中國的人權狀況方面,53%被訪市民認為中國現時的人權狀況較1989年時有所改善,38%則估計三年後中國的人權狀況將較現時為佳。

此外,58%被訪市民認為香港人有責任推動中國的民主發展,至於推動中國經濟發展方面,亦有58%認為有責任。民主與經濟相比,32%認為港人應該偏向推動中國的經濟發展多於民主發展,38%則比較重視中國的民主步伐。另一方面,32%認為中國現時應該較著重發展經濟,46%則傾向民主發展。

而有關支聯會的最新調查結果如下:

調查日期

23-25/5/13

17-22/5/14

22-28/5/15

16-19/5/16

22-25/5/17

最新變化

樣本基數

1,013

1,005

1,089

1,001

1,003

--

整體回應比率

67.8%

66.8%

65.1%

67.6%

69.7%

--

最新結果/誤差

結果

結果

結果

結果

結果及
誤差 [9]

--

支聯會的評分

52.8

50.1[10]

44.6[10]

50.1[10]

46.9+/-1.7

-3.2[10]

認為應該解散支聯會的被訪者比率

16%

18%

26%[10]

21%[10]

25+/-3%

+4%[10]

認為不應該解散支聯會的被訪者比率

48%[10]

44%

38%[10]

51%[10]

46+/-3%

-5%[10]

[9] 有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用有關數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,評分誤差不超過+/-1.7,百分比誤差不超過+/-3%」;以前調查的誤差數值請參閱網站。

[10] 等變化在相同加權方法下超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義。


最後,有關支聯會方面,25%被訪市民認為應該解散支聯會,46%則表示不應該,而支聯會的最新評分為46.9分。


深入分析

調查之中,我們都有要求被訪者回答自己的年齡。如被訪者不願說出準確年齡,被訪者亦可選答年齡組別。根據被訪者的答案,我們再把被訪者組合為18-29歲、30-49歲、以及50歲或以上。以下是有關中國政府處理事件的手法、北京學生的做法以及支持/不支持平反六四的比率按被訪者年齡組別的深入分析:

調查日期:22-25/5/17

18-29歲

30-49歲

50歲或以上

整體樣本

中國政府
處理事件的手法[11]

5+/-3%
(8)

5+/-2%
(19)

20+/-4%
(89)

12+/-2%
(116)

不對

87+/-5%
(145)

74+/-5%
(255)

58+/-5%
(260)

69+/-3%
(660)

唔知/難講

9+/-4%
(14)

21+/-4%
(71)

22+/-4%
(101)

19+/-3%
(187)

合計

100%
(167)

100%
(345)

100%
(451)

100%
(963)

[11] 各組別在99%置信水平下有顯著性差異。


調查日期:22-25/5/17

18-29歲

30-49歲

50歲或以上

整體樣本

北京學生的做法[12]

72+/-7%
(119)

49+/-5%
(171)

34+/-4%
(156)

46+/-3%
(447)

不對

7+/-4%
(12)

19+/-4%
(65)

30+/-4%
(136)

22+/-3%
(214)

唔知/難講

21+/-6%
(35)

32+/-5%
(112)

36+/-4%
(163)

32+/-3%
(311)

合計

100%
(167)

100%
(349)

100%
(456)

100%
(971)

[12] 各組別在99%置信水平下有顯著性差異。


調查日期:22-25/5/17

18-29歲

30-49歲

50歲或以上

整體樣本

支持/不支持
平反六四比率[13]

支持

75+/-7%
(127)

58+/-5%
(199)

45+/-5%
(205)

55+/-3%
(531)

不支持

13+/-5%
(21)

22+/-4%
(76)

36+/-5%
(162)

27+/-3%
(259)

唔知/難講

12+/-5%
(20)

20+/-4%
(67)

19+/-4%
(85)

18+/-2%
(172)

合計

100%
(168)

100%
(342)

100%
(452)

100%
(962)

[13] 各組別在99%置信水平下有顯著性差異。



分析評論

民意研究計劃研究經理李偉健分析:「今年是六四事件28週年,民研計劃亦已經連續進行了25次六四週年調查。宏觀而論,香港巿民的主流意見繼續認為中國政府當年處理不當、同情北京學生及支持平反六四,但認為北京學生做法錯誤的比率就升至調查自1993年開始以來的新高,而不支持平反六四的比率亦升至2006年以來新高。此外,認為中國現時人權狀況較1989年有改善及估計三年後中國人權狀況會比現時有改善的比率均從去年的低位回升,大概回到2014年的水平。大部分巿民繼續認為香港人有責任推動內地民主及經濟發展,但認為沒有責任的比率分別再次錄得1993及1996年有紀錄以來的新高。不論是絕對或相對測試,都是民主發展優先於經濟發展,這大概反應了香港巿民對國內發展的期望。對比一年前,市民對支聯會的評分明顯下跌3.2分至46.9分,反對解散支聯會的比率亦下跌5個百分比至46%,但就繼續高於支持解散的25%。深入分析顯示,巿民的年紀愈輕,愈傾向認為中國政府當年處理事件的手法不對,愈認同北京學生的做法,又愈傾向支持平反六四,大概顯示年青一輩對民主的追求。」

附加資料:六四事件週年調查簡介

六四事件是當代中國歷史的重要一頁,它對中國大陸和香港本地的發展都影響深遠,不單在政治層面上主導了不少選舉的結果,對香港回歸的歷程亦起了舉足輕重的作用。港大民研計劃於是在1993年開始,每年調查一次巿民對六四事件及國內人權狀況的意見,25年來從不間斷。有關「六四事件週年調查」的發展過程,我們在往年的新聞公報中已有介紹。今日我們再次刊登,以便讀者能夠更加全面掌握這些相關調查的發展。

1993年5月,調查系列正式開始,調查頻率為每年一次,迄今不變。當中包括自1992年起逢六四前夕進行的支聯會評分題目,提問方式為「請你用0至100分評價你對支聯會既支持程度,0分代表絕對唔支持、100分代表絕對支持、50分一半半、你會俾幾多分支聯會呢?」。其餘題目包括「你覺得北京學生係六四事件中做得對不對?」、「你覺得中國政府處理六四事件做得對不對?」、「以你估計,三年後中國既人權狀況會比而家好D定差D?」、「同八九年比較,你覺得中國而家既人權狀況好左定差左?」、「你覺得香港人有冇責任推動中國既民主發展?」、「你覺得香港人應該推動中國既經濟發展多D定係民主發展多D?」、「你覺得中國而家需要經濟發展多D定係民主發展多D?」及「你覺得應唔應該解散支聯會?」。

在1996年,調查加插一條問題「你覺得香港人有冇責任推動中國既經濟發展?」;而在1997年,調查亦加插一條問題「你是否支持平反六四?」

在1999年5月前,我們每次定期調查的樣本數目都稍為超過500個,以後就增加至每次起碼1,000個,上述調查亦不例外。

1999年5月以前的調查結果已經透過民研計劃刊物《民意快訊》發表,而上述所有調查數據,現已全部透過《港大民意網站》定期公佈,而所有以前的結果亦以不同形式上載到網站之中。

未來發放(暫定)

  • 2017年6月6日(星期二)下午一時至二時:紀律部隊民望