HKU POP enhances its survey standards and announces its policy address survey plan Back

 

Press Release on October 9, 2017

Concurring with the 20th Anniversary of the HKSAR, starting from July this year, the Public Opinion Programme (POP) at The University of Hong Kong has been reviewing and revising its many survey designs. After three months of testing, and enchoing the beginning of a new policy year, POP formally implements the following changes starting October this year:

(1) Other than using landline samples, POP introduces mobile numbers in all its regular surveys in the ratio of 4:1 to become mixed mode samples.

(2) For instant surveys, on top of the mixed mode random samples described, an equal number of “panel samples” would be added, these are pre-selected random samples who have agreed to be re-interviewed on the survey day.

(3) “Effective response rate” will be used to describe all samples. As for the weighting method, a two-step protocol will be used. First, all sub-samples will be rim-weighted according to figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender, age, educational attainment and economic activity status distribution of Hong Kong population. After that, all sub-samples will be rim-weighted according to the basic Public Sentiment Index (PSI) figures collected in the landline sample. This weighting method has proven to be feasible after three months of testing, but POP will continue to review and enhance it, and keep the public informed.

Since 1992, POP has been conducting Policy Address instant surveys every year. In 2008, we split it into two. In our first survey, we measure people’s overall appraisal of the Policy Address, their rating of the Policy Address, their change in confidence towards Hong Kong’s future, and CE’s popularity. In our second survey, we focus on people’s reactions towards different government proposals, their satisfaction with CE’s policy direction, and other relevant issues. Tomorrow (October 10), we will release our survey on people “expectations on the policy address” as scheduled. On October 11, we will engage more than 100 telephone interviewers to survey people’s instant reaction to the address. The preliminary results will be released via our “POP Site” ( http://hkupop.hku.hk) for the public consumption, at around 10 pm, including: “How satisfied are you with Chief Executive Carrie Lam’s Policy Address delivered today?” and “Please use a scale of 0-100 to rate your degree of satisfaction of the policy address delivered by Chief Executive Carrie Lam today, with 0 indicating very dissatisfied, 100 indicating very satisfied and 50 indicating half-half.” Detailed results including those of other questions will be released at noon the following day (October 12).

Media enquiry:   Mr Frank Lee   Telephone: 3917 7724

港大民研正式更新調查方法及公佈施政報告調查安排返回

 

2017年10月9日 新聞公報

隨著特區成立20週年,香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)在今年7月開始,陸續檢視和更新各種調查和統計方法。經過三個月的反複測試,呼應新一屆施政年度的開始,今年10月正式推出以下改變:

(1)民研計劃進行的定期調查,除了使用固網電話號碼進行抽樣外,亦加入手機號碼混合使用,比例暫定為四比一。

(2)即時調查方面,則會在上述隨機混合樣本之上加入預先隨機抽樣而願意在調查當日進行再訪的「追蹤」樣本,比例為一比一。

(3)所有樣本會以「實效回應比率」彙報。至於加權方法方面,則分成兩個部驟:首先,所有次樣本會按照政府統計處提供之全港人口年齡、性別、教育程度及經濟活動身分的分佈狀況,以「反覆多重加權法」調整數據,然後再按固網樣本中民情指數的基礎數據進行調整。有關加權方法在測試三個月後證實可行,但民研計劃仍會不斷作出檢討和改良,及定期公佈最新加權方法。

民研計劃在1992年開始每年都進行施政報告即時調查,2008年開始,把過往的即時調查分拆成為兩輪調查。首輪調查包括市民對施政報告的整體評價、市民對施政報告評分、對香港前途信心的轉變、以及特首的民望,而次輪調查則集中探討市民對施政報告中建議的反應、對特首施政方針的滿意程度和其他相關問題。明天(10月10日),民研計劃會如期發放「市民對施政報告期望」。後天(10月11日),民研計劃會動員過百電話訪問員,就市民對施政報告的即時反應作出調查,初步結果大約於晚上10時透過《香港大學民意網站》( http://hkupop.hku.hk )公佈,題目包括:「整體黎講,你對特首林鄭月娥今日發表既施政報告滿唔滿意?」及「請你對特首林鄭月娥今日發表既施政報告既滿意程度進行評分,0分代表非常不滿,100分代表非常滿意,50分代表一半半。」而包括其他問題的詳細結果,則會在翌日(10月12日)中午公佈。

傳媒查詢: 李先生(Frank Lee) 電話:3917 7724