HKU POP releases the latest social indicators and the PSIBack

 

Press Release on November 6, 2018

| Detailed Findings (Social Indicators) | (Rule of law indicators) |

| Detailed Findings (Public Sentiment Index Feature Page) |

Special Announcements

1. From July 2017, apart from sampling landline numbers to conduct opinion surveys, the Public Opinion Programme (POP) of The University of Hong Kong has also added mobile numbers to the sampling frame. After three months of testing, in October 2017, POP formalized the use of mixed samples as its standard for regular opinion surveys using a landline and mobile sample ratio of 4 to 1. Starting from April 2018, POP further increased the proportion of mobile sample, which the landline and mobile sample ratio became 2 to 1. The figures released today by POP have already incorporated landline and mobile samples.

2. In September 2017, POP started to use “effective response rate” to report surveys’ contact information. In July 2018, POP further revised the calculation of effective response rate. Thus, the response rates before and after the change cannot be directly compared.

3. To facilitate academic study and rational discussion, POP has already released for public examination some time ago via the “HKU POP SITE” (http://hkupop.hku.hk) the raw data of regular rating surveys of current CE Carrie Lam, former CEs CH Tung, Donald Tsang and CY Leung, along with related demographics of respondents. Please follow normal academic standards when using or citing such data.

Abstract

POP interviewed 1,006 Hong Kong people between 22 and 24 October 2018 by means of a random telephone survey conducted by real interviewers. Our latest survey shows that people now appraised the Hong Kong society more negatively than five months ago. Among the five core social indicators, Hong Kong’s degree of “stability” and “prosperity” scored the highest ratings, followed by “freedom” and “compliance with rule of law”, and finally “democracy”. Apart from “stability”, the remaining four indicators have dropped significantly. The ratings of “freedom” and “democracy” have even dropped to their record low since the survey questions were first asked in 1997. As for the results of other social indicators including non-core social indicators, freedom and law sub-indicators, they will be released in this survey series next time. The maximum sampling error of various indicators is +/-0.22 marks at 95% confidence level. The response rate of the survey is 63%.

As for the Public Sentiment Index (PSI), the latest PSI stands at 101.8, decreased by 3.1 points since early October. This time both component scores of PSI have decreased. Specifically, the Government Appraisal (GA) Score that reflects people’s appraisal of society’s governance decreases by 0.1 point to 100.9, whereas the Society Appraisal (SA) Score that reflects people’s appraisal of the social environment goes down by 5.5 points to 95.2.

Points to note:

[1] The address of the “HKU POP SITE” is http://hkupop.hku.hk, journalists can check out the details of the survey there.

[2] The sample size of this survey is 1,006 successful interviews, not 1,006 x 63.4% response rate. In the past, many media made this mistake.

[3] “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. When quoting these figures, journalists can state “sampling error of various indicators not more than +/-0.22 at 95% confidence level”.

[4] Because of sampling errors in conducting the survey(s) and the rounding procedures in processing the data, the figures cannot be too precise, and the totals may not be completely accurate. Therefore, when quoting percentages of the survey(s), journalists should refrain from reporting decimal places, but when quoting the rating figures, one decimal place can be used.

[5] The data of this survey is collected by means of random telephone interviews conducted by real interviewers, not by any interactive voice system (IVS). If a research organization uses “computerized random telephone survey” to camouflage its IVS operation, it should be considered unprofessional.


I. Social Indicators

Latest Figures

POP today releases the latest results of 5 core indicators of social indicators. From July 2018, 5 core indicators continue to be released once every half-year, while 7 non-core indicators, 10 freedom sub-indicators, 2 rule of law sub-indicators, and the rating of Chief Justice have been changed to be released once every year. Besides, from July 2017, POP enhanced the previous weighting method that has been used for quite a few years. Apart from age, gender and education, economic activity group is now also taken into account when adjusting data. The latest figures released today have been rim-weighted according to figures provided by the Census and Statistics Department. The gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population came from “Mid-year population for 2017”, while the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution and economic activity status distribution came from “Women and Men in Hong Kong - Key Statistics (2018 Edition)”. In the past, the mobile sample would be rim-weighted according to the basic Public Sentiment Index (PSI) figures collected in the landline sample. In July 2018, POP further refined the weighting method. The landline sample and the mobile sample would no longer be processed separately. The mobile sample would also no longer be adjusted using the basic PSI figures collected in the landline sample. The overall effect is that the importance of the mobile sample would be increased. Herewith the contact information for the latest survey:

Date of survey

Sample size

Effective response rate

Maximum sampling error
of ratings[6]

22-24/10/2018

1,006

63.4%

+/-0.22

[6] Errors are calculated at 95% confidence level using full sample size. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified.


Herewith the latest figures of the 5 core social indicators:

Date of survey

6-9/2/17

10-13/7/17

15-18/1/18

4-9/5/18

22-24/10/18

Latest change

Sample size[7]

1,029

804

1,035

1,017

1,006

--

Response rate*

70.5%

72.0%

63.6%

59.5%

63.4%

--

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding & error[8]

--

Degree of stability

6.41

6.83[9]

6.65[9]

6.59

6.61+/-0.18 [10]

+0.02

Degree of prosperity

6.63[9]

7.03[9]

6.93

7.21[9]

6.61+/-0.17 [10]

-0.60[9]

Degree of freedom

6.90[9]

7.07[9]

6.72[9]

7.11[9]

6.57+/-0.20

-0.53[9]

Compliance with the rule of law

6.63[9]

7.08[9]

6.29[9]

6.74[9]

6.21+/-0.19

-0.53[9]

Degree of democracy

6.02

6.39[9]

5.74[9]

5.65

5.10+/-0.22

-0.55[9]

* “Overall response rate” was used before September 2017, thereafter, “effective response rate” was used. In July 2018, POP revised the calculation of effective response rate. Thus, the response rates before and after the change cannot be directly compared.

[7] Except in the survey conducted during 4-9/5/18, these questions only use sub-samples of the surveys concerned. The sub-sample sizes of this survey range from 523 to 554, and the increased sampling errors have already been reflected in the figures tabulated.

[8] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of various ratings not more than +/-0.22 at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures.

[9] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful, and different weighting methods could have been applied in different surveys.

[10] In three decimal places, the rating of “stability” is 6.613 and that of “prosperity” is 6.611.

[11] Since October 2018, POP started to conduct tests on the wordings used in different rating scales. Figures in the table are the combined results. Please visit the POP Site for details.


Latest results showed that, on a scale of 0-10, Hong Kong’s degree of “stability” and “prosperity” scored the highest ratings, each with 6.61 marks, followed by “freedom” and “compliance with rule of law”, with 6.57 and 6.21 marks respectively, and finally “democracy”, with 5.10 marks.

Opinion Daily

In January 2007, POP opened a feature page called “Opinion Daily” at the “POP Site”, to record significant events and selected polling figures on a day-to-day basis, in order to let readers judge by themselves the reasons for the ups and downs of different opinion figures. In July 2007, POP collaborated with Wisers Information Limited whereby Wisers supplies to POP each day starting from July 24, a record of significant events of that day, according to the research method designed by POP. These daily entries would be uploaded to “Opinion Daily” as soon as they are verified by POP.

For the polling items covered in this press release, the previous survey was conducted from May 4 to 9, 2018 while this survey was conducted from October 22 to 24, 2018. During this period, herewith the significant events selected from counting newspaper headlines and commentaries on a daily basis and covered by at least 25% of the local newspaper articles. Readers can make their own judgment if these significant events have any impacts to different polling figures.

24/10/18

The Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge officially commences operation.

16/10/18

The traffic is paralyzed as four MTR lines encounter signalling issues.

14/10/18

People protest against Lantau Tomorrow Vision.

12/10/18

The returning officer declares Lau Siu-lai’s nomination for Legislative Council Kowloon West by-election invalid.

11/10/18

Hong Kong stock market drops sharply after US falls.

10/10/18

Chief Executive Carrie Lam delivers the 2018 Policy Address.

28/9/18

Price Indices of Private Domestic Property fall for the first time in 29 months.

27/9/18

Hong Kong Banks increase prime rate for the first time in twelve years.

24/9/18

An order banning the Hong Kong National Party’s operation is gazetted by the government.

22/9/18

The Hong Kong Section of Express Rail Link will be launched on September 23.

17/9/18

The traffic is paralyzed in the first working day after Super Typhoon Mangkhut hit Hong Kong.

16/9/18

Super Typhoon Mangkhut hits Hong Kong.

7/9/18

Thirteen protesters who oppose North East New Territories development plan win their appeal at the Court of Final Appeal.

10/8/18

Buildings near the construction site of Exhibition Centre Station of MTR Shatin to Central Link are found to be affected by land subsidence.

9/8/18

Buildings near the construction site of To Kwa Wan Station are found to be affected by land subsidence.


II. Public Sentiment Index

Background

The Public Sentiment Index (PSI) compiled by POP aims at quantifying Hong Kong people’s sentiments, in order to explain and predict the likelihood of collective behaviour. PSI comprises 2 components: one being Government Appraisal (GA) Score and the other being Society Appraisal (SA) Score. GA refers to people’s appraisal of society’s governance while SA refers to people’s appraisal of the social environment. Both GA and SA scores are compiled from a respective of 4 and 6 opinion survey figures. All PSI, GA and SA scores range between 0 to 200, with 100 meaning normal, the grading reference of the scores are shown below. For methodological detailed please refer to the HKU POP Site at http://hkupop.hku.hk.

POP started to pilot study the “Public Sentiment Index” in year 2010 in collaboration with NowTV. The first survey was conducted in June 2010, followed by a series of monthly tracking surveys in 2011. There were altogether 13 surveys, covered by 11 releases from March 2011 to January 2012. All results have been uploaded to the POP Site.

At the end of June 2012, before the 15th anniversary of the handover of Hong Kong, POP officially released a “PSI analysis” with figures dating back to 1992, spanning over 20 years. Moreover, the frequency of the study was set at twice a month. In October 2012, echoing the start of a new Legislative Council, POP decided to set the cut-off date of all PSI analyses at the Sunday proceeding every 15th and last day of month, whereas the release date was set at the first Thursday following the cut-off date. In July 2017, after the 20th anniversary of the handover, POP further streamlined the release date and mode of PSI analyses to become POP Site release only for the first analysis of each month, and POP Site plus press release for the second analysis of each month. At the same time, the second release was shifted to the first Tuesday of the following month, except under special circumstances.

Cut-off date of the PSI figures released by POP today is October 28, 2018, while that of the next round of release will be November 11, 2018. The tentative release date for the next release will be November 15, 2018 (Thursday).

Latest Figures of PSI

The PSI released by POP today shows that as of October 28, 2018, the latest Public Sentiment Index (PSI) is 101.8, down 3.1 from early October. As for the Government Appraisal (GA) and Society Appraisal (SA), the scores are 100.9 and 95.2, down by 0.1 and 5.5 respectively. The chart of PSI, GA and SA are shown below:

Latest figure

Public Sentiment Index
(PSI): 101.8 (-3.1)

Government Appraisal
(GA): 100.9 (-0.1)

Society Appraisal
(SA): 95.2 (-5.5)

Recent values of PSI, GA, SA and 10 fundamental figures are tabulated as follows:

Release date

16/8/18

4/9/18

13/9/18

2/10/18

11/10/18

6/11/18

Latest change[13]

Cut-off date

12/8/18

26/8/18

9/9/18

23/9/18

7/10/18

28/10/18

--

Public Sentiment Index (PSI)

106.8

105.3

105.7

104.0

104.9

101.8

-3.1

Government Appraisal (GA)

101.8

103.9

104.6

99.4

101.0

100.9

-0.1

Rating of CE

55.4

55.3

57.3

50.8

52.3

51.7

-0.7

Net approval rate of CE

1%

14%

10%

-4%

4%

-1%

-5%

Mean value of people’s satisfaction with SARG [14]

2.7[12]

2.8

2.8[12]

2.8

2.8[12]

2.8

+0.1

Mean value of people’s trust in SARG

3.0[12]

3.0[12]

3.0[12]

3.0[12]

3.0[12]

3.0 [12]

--

Society Appraisal (SA)

103.3[12]

98.4

98.4[12]

100.6

100.6[12]

95.2

-5.5

People’s satisfaction with political condition [14]

2.3[12]

2.2

2.2[12]

2.3

2.3[12]

2.2

-0.1

Weighting index of political condition

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

--

People’s satisfaction with economic condition [14]

3.1[12]

3.0

3.0[12]

2.9

2.9[12]

2.8

-0.1

Weighting index of economic condition

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

--

People’s satisfaction with livelihood condition [14]

2.7[12]

2.6

2.6[12]

2.6

2.6[12]

2.6

-0.1

Weighting index of livelihood condition

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

--

[12] POP will adopt the latest published figures when there are no respective updates.

[13] Latest changes are based on the differences between the exact values of the two figures, but not the rounded figures shown in the table.

[14] Since October 2018, POP started to conduct tests on the wordings used in different rating scales. Figures in the table are the combined results. Please visit the POP Site for details.


As for the meaning of the score values, please refer to the following:

Score value

Percentile

Score value

Percentile

140-200

Highest 1%

0-60

Lowest 1%

125

Highest 5%

75

Lowest 5%

120

Highest 10%

80

Lowest 10%

110

Highest 25%

90

Lowest 25%

100 being normal level, meaning half above half below


The latest PSI of 101.8 can be considered as among the best 45% across the past 20 years or so, while the GA and SA scores of 100.9 and 95.2 can be considered as among the best 48% and worst 37% respectively.

Commentary

Note: The following commentary was written by Research Manager of POP, Frank Lee.

Our latest survey shows that people now appraised the Hong Kong society more negatively than five months ago. Among the five core social indicators, Hong Kong’s degree of “stability” and “prosperity” scored the highest ratings, followed by “freedom” and “compliance with rule of law”, and finally “democracy”. Apart from “stability”, the remaining four indicators have dropped significantly. The ratings of “freedom” and “democracy” have even dropped to their record low since the survey questions were first asked in 1997. As for the results of other social indicators including non-core social indicators, freedom and law sub-indicators, they will be released in this survey series next time.

As for the Public Sentiment Index (PSI), the latest PSI stands at 101.8, decreased by 3.1 points since early October. This time both component scores of PSI have decreased. Specifically, the Government Appraisal (GA) Score that reflects people’s appraisal of society’s governance decreases by 0.1 point to 100.9, whereas the Society Appraisal (SA) Score that reflects people’s appraisal of the social environment goes down by 5.5 points to 95.2. As for the reasons affecting the ups and downs of these figures, we leave it to our readers to form their own judgment using detailed records displayed in our “Opinion Daily”.

Future Release (Tentative)

  • November 13, 2018 (Tuesday) 12pm to 2pm: Popularity of CE and Principal Officials

  • Reference Materials on Survey on PSI

港大民研發放最新社會指標及民情指數返回

 

2018年11月6日 新聞公報

| 詳細結果 (社會指標) | (法治指標) |

| 詳細結果 (「民情指數」專頁) |

特別宣佈

1. 2017年7月起,香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)除了使用固網電話號碼進行抽樣調查外,亦加入手機號碼混合使用,固網及手機樣本比例為四比一。經過三個月的測試,民研計劃在2017年10月正式把混合樣本常規化,作為定期民意調查的統計方法。2018年4月開始,民研計劃再增加手機樣本的比例,令固網及手機樣本比例為二比一。民研計劃今日發放的數據已整合固網電話及手機號碼兩個部份。

2. 民研計劃在2017年9月開始以「實效回應比率」彙報樣本資料。2018年7月,民研計劃再調整實效回應比率的計算方法,因此改變前後的回應比率不能直接比較。

3. 在促進學術研究和理性討論的基礎上,民研計劃早前已在《香港大學民意網站》(http://hkupop.hku.hk)發放現任特首林鄭月娥、前特首董建華、曾蔭權及梁振英的定期特首民望評分及相關人口變項的原始數據,供各界考證。惟請用家使用及引用有關數據時,按照學術慣例註明出處。

公報簡要

民研計劃於2018年10月22至24日,透過真實訪員以隨機抽樣方式,成功以電話訪問1,006名香港巿民。調查顯示,巿民對香港社會的評價較五個月前負面。五項核心社會指標中,市民對「安定」和「繁榮」的評分最高,其次是「自由」和「法治」,最後是「民主」。除「安定」指標以外,其餘四項指標均顯著下跌,「自由」和「民主」指標更錄得自1997年相關調查題目開展以來新低。至於其他社會指標,包括非核心社會指標、自由及法治次指標的結果,則有待下次相關調查之公佈。在95%置信水平下,各項指標評分誤差不超過+/-0.22分,調查回應率為63%。

民情指數方面,最新數字為101.8,較十月上旬下跌3.1點。今次民情指數的兩個成份數值同時下跌,反映市民對整體政府管治表現評價的政評數值下跌0.1點至100.9,而反映市民對整體社會狀況評價的社評數值則下跌5.5點至95.2。

注意事項:

[1]《香港大學民意網站》的網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk,傳媒可到網站參閱調查細節。

[2] 調查樣本為1,006個成功個案,並非1,006乘以回應率63.4%,過去有不少傳媒在報導上犯了上述錯誤。

[3] 95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用有關數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各指標評分誤差不超過+/-0.22」。

[4] 因為調查存在的抽樣誤差及處理數據的捨入過程,數字不能過份精確,合計數字亦未必完全準確。因此,傳媒在引用有關調查的百分比數字時,應避免使用小數點,在引用評分數字時,則可以使用一個小數點。

[5] 調查數據並非透過音頻互動系統取得,倘若調查機構以「電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問」或類似文字來掩飾音頻互動調查,是不專業的做法。


一. 社會指標

最新數據

民研計劃今日發放社會指標中五項核心社會指標的最新調查結果。2018年7月起,五項核心社會指標維持每半年發放一次,而七項非核心社會指標、十項自由次指標、兩項法治次指標,以及終審法院首席法官評分則改為每年發放一次。此外,2017年7月起,民研計劃把沿用多年的加權方法改良,除了考慮年齡、性別和教育程度外,加入經濟活動身分予以調整。今天公佈的最新數據,已經按照政府統計處提供的統計數字以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。全港人口年齡及性別分佈統計數字來自《二零一七年年中人口數字》,而教育程度(最高就讀程度)及經濟活動身分統計數字則來自《香港的女性及男性 - 主要統計數字》(2018年版)。過往,手機樣本會按照固網樣本中民情指數的基礎數據進行調整,再作統計,但由2018年7月起,民研計劃再微調加權方法,不再將固網樣本及手機樣本分開處理,手機樣本亦不再按照固網樣本中民情指數的基礎數據作調整,整體效果是手機樣本的重要性略為提升。現先列出最新調查的樣本資料:

調查日期

樣本數目

實效回應比率

最高評分誤差[6]

22-24/10/2018

1,006

63.4%

+/-0.22

[6] 有關誤差數字均以95%置信水平及整體樣本計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。


以下是五項核心社會指標的最新數字:

調查日期

6-9/2/17

10-13/7/17

15-18/1/18

4-9/5/18

22-24/10/18

最新變化

樣本基數[7]

1,029

804

1,035

1,017

1,006

--

回應比率*

70.5%

72.0%

63.6%

59.5%

63.4%

--

最新結果

結果

結果

結果

結果

結果及誤差 [8]

--

安定指標評分

6.41

6.83[9]

6.65[9]

6.59

6.61+/-0.18 [10]

+0.02

繁榮指標評分

6.63[9]

7.03[9]

6.93

7.21[9]

6.61+/-0.17 [10]

-0.60[9]

自由指標評分

6.90[9]

7.07[9]

6.72[9]

7.11[9]

6.57+/-0.20

-0.53[9]

法治指標評分

6.63[9]

7.08[9]

6.29[9]

6.74[9]

6.21+/-0.19

-0.53[9]

民主指標評分

6.02

6.39[9]

5.74[9]

5.65

5.10+/-0.22

-0.55[9]

*2017年9月前以「整體回應比率」顯示,之後以「實效回應比率」顯示。2018年7月,民研計劃已調整實效回應比率的計算方法,因此改變前後的回應比率不能直接比較。

[7] 除於4-9/5/18進行的調查外,各題目只涉及次樣本,而是次調查的次樣本基數是介乎523至554之間,加大誤差數字已經列明表內。

[8] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平計,即是倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用上述數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項評分誤差不超過+/-0.22」。

[9] 該等變化超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義,而不同調查的加權方法亦可能有所不同。

[10] 以三個小數位計,安定指標的評分為6.613,繁榮指標的評分為6.611。

[11] 2018年10月底開始,民研計劃為不同量尺描述程度的字眼進行測試,表中數字為綜合結果。詳情請參閱網站。


最新調查顯示,以0-10分為標準,被訪市民對「安定」和「繁榮」的評分最高,各得6.61分;其次是「自由」和「法治」,分別得6.57和6.21分;最後是「民主」,得5.10分。

民意日誌

民研計劃於2007年1月在《民意網站》開設「民意日誌」專頁,以按日形式紀錄每日大事及提供若干在當天錄得的民意調查數字。2007年7月,民研計劃與慧科訊業有限公司合作,從7月24日起,「民意日誌」中的每日大事紀錄由慧科訊業按照民研計劃設計的分析方法,按日傳送至民研計劃,經民研計劃核實後隨即上載到「民意日誌」。

由於本新聞公報所涉及的調查項目,上次調查日期為4-9/5/2018,而今次調查日期則為22-24/10/2018,因此是次公報中的「民意日誌」項目便以上述日期為依歸,讓讀者作出比較。以涵蓋率不下25%本地報章每日頭條新聞和報社評論計,在上述期間發生的相關大事包括以下事件,讀者可以自行判斷有關事件有否影響各項民調數字,又或參閱「民意日誌」內所有大事紀錄後,再作判斷:

24/10/18

港珠澳大橋正式通車營運

16/10/18

港鐵四線信號故障造成交通癱瘓

14/10/18

市民遊行反對明日大嶼願景計劃

12/10/18

選舉主任裁定劉小麗立法會九龍西補選提名無效

11/10/18

港股跟隨美股急挫

10/10/18

行政長官林鄭月娥發表2018年施政報告

28/9/18

私人住宅售價指數28個月首次回落

27/9/18

香港銀行12年來首度上調最優惠利率

24/9/18

政府刊憲禁香港民族黨運作

22/9/18

高鐵香港段9月23日正式通車

17/9/18

超強颱風「山竹」襲港後首個工作天交通癱瘓

16/9/18

超強颱風「山竹」吹襲本港

7/9/18

13名反新界東北發展工程的示威者獲終院裁定上訴得直

10/8/18

港鐵沙中線會展站地盤附近樓宇出現沉降

9/8/18

土瓜灣站地盤附近樓宇出現沉降


二. 民情指數

研究背景

民研計劃制定「民情指數」(PSI),目的在於量化香港市民對香港社會的情緒反應,以解釋及預視社會出現集體行動的可能性。「民情指數」包涵了「政通」和「人和」兩個概念,分別以「政評數值(GA)」和「社評數值(SA)」顯示。「政評數值(GA)」泛指市民對整體政府管治的表現評價,而「社評數值(SA)」則泛指市民對整體社會狀況的評價,分別由四及六項民意數字組合而成。指數本身及兩項數值均以0至200顯示,100代表正常,具體方法請參閱《香港大學民意網站》,網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk。

民研計劃之「民情指數」研究,始自2010年與now新聞台合作進行的民情指數先導調查。有關調查於2010年6月進行第一次調查,然後於2011年全年每月進行一次。有關調查總共取樣十三次,研究結果於2011年3月至2012年1月分十一次公佈。全部結果已經上載到《民意網站》。

2012年6月底,香港回歸15週年前夕,民研計劃正式發放「民情指數」分析,數字追溯至1992年,橫跨20年,並把統計頻率定調為每月兩次。2012年10月,新一屆立法會開始運作。民研計劃亦把「民情指數」的截數日期,正式定為每月第15天及最後一天之前的星期日,而公報日期則定為及後的星期四。2017年7月,回歸20週年過後,民研計劃再精簡「民情指數」的發放形式和日期,把每月的第一次分析限在「民意網站」發放,而第二次分析則同時透過網站及新聞公報發表。不過,第二次發放日期則改為下月的首個星期二,特殊情況除外。

民研計劃今日發放的「民情指數」,截數日期為2018年10月28日。下次截數日期為2018年11月11日,發放日期初步定為2018年11月15日(星期四)。

民情指數最新數字

民研計劃今日發表的民情指數顯示,以2018年10月28日計,最新民情指數為101.8,較十月上旬下跌3.1,而政評數值及社評數值分別為100.9及95.2,分別下跌0.1及5.5。以下為民情指數、政評數值及社評數值走勢圖:

最新數值

民情指數:101.8 (-3.1)

政評數值:100.9 (-0.1)

社評數值:95.2 (-5.5)


以下是民情指數、政評數值、社評數值,及十項基礎民意數字的近期數值:

公佈日期

16/8/18

4/9/18

13/9/18

2/10/18

11/10/18

6/11/18

最新變化 [13]

截數日期

12/8/18

26/8/18

9/9/18

23/9/18

7/10/18

28/10/18

--

民情指數

106.8

105.3

105.7

104.0

104.9

101.8

-3.1

政評數值

101.8

103.9

104.6

99.4

101.0

100.9

-0.1

特首評分

55.4

55.3

57.3

50.8

52.3

51.7

-0.7

特首民望淨值

1%

14%

10%

-4%

4%

-1%

-5%

政府滿意程度平均量值[14]

2.7[12]

2.8

2.8[12]

2.8

2.8[12]

2.8

+0.1

政府信任程度平均量值

3.0[12]

3.0[12]

3.0[12]

3.0[12]

3.0[12]

3.0 [12]

--

社評數值

103.3[12]

98.4

98.4[12]

100.6

100.6[12]

95.2

-5.5

政治狀況滿意程度[14]

2.3[12]

2.2

2.2[12]

2.3

2.3[12]

2.2

-0.1

政治狀況成份指標權數

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

0.31[12]

--

經濟狀況滿意程度[14]

3.1[12]

3.0

3.0[12]

2.9

2.9[12]

2.8

-0.1

經濟狀況成份指標權數

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

0.34[12]

--

民生狀況滿意程度[14]

2.7[12]

2.6

2.6[12]

2.6

2.6[12]

2.6

-0.1

民生狀況成份指標權數

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

0.35[12]

--

[12] 當有關數字沒有更新時,民研計劃會採用最近一次已公佈的數字替代。

[13] 最新變化數字是基於兩組數字的準確值相減得出,而非從數表內已捨入的數字計算。

[14] 2018年10月底開始,民研計劃為不同量尺描述程度的字眼進行測試,表中數字為綜合結果。詳情請參閱網站。


各項指數的具體數值,可按下表理解:

指數得分

百分位數

指數得分

百分位數

140-200

最高1%

0-60

最低1%

125

最高5%

75

最低5%

120

最高10%

80

最低10%

110

最高25%

90

最低25%

100為正常數值,即半數在上,半數在下


最新民情指數101.8,可以視為過去逾二十年來最佳的45個百分比。至於政評和社評數值之100.9和95.2,就可以分別視為過去逾二十年來最佳的48和最差的37個百分比。

分析評論

註:以下分析評論由民研計劃研究經理李偉健撰寫

最新調查顯示,巿民對香港社會的評價較五個月前負面。五項核心社會指標中,市民對「安定」和「繁榮」的評分最高,其次是「自由」和「法治」,最後是「民主」。除「安定」指標以外,其餘四項指標均顯著下跌,「自由」和「民主」指標更錄得自1997年相關調查題目開展以來新低。至於其他社會指標,包括非核心社會指標、自由及法治次指標的結果,則有待下次相關調查之公佈。

民情指數方面,最新數字為101.8,較十月上旬下跌3.1點。今次民情指數的兩個成份數值同時下跌,反映市民對整體政府管治表現評價的政評數值下跌0.1點至100.9,而反映市民對整體社會狀況評價的社評數值則下跌5.5點至95.2。至於是甚麼事情導致各項數字的差異和起跌,讀者可以根據「民意日誌」的詳細記錄自行判斷。

未來發放(暫定)

  • 2018年11月13日(星期二)下午十二時至二時:特首及問責官員民望

  • 民情指數參考資料