HKU POP releases the latest ratings of the top 10 Legislative Councillors and a survey on South China Sea DisputesBack

 

Press Release on November 20, 2018

| Detailed Findings Rating of Top Ten Legislative Councillors|

Special Announcements

1. In August 2018, the Public Opinion Programme (POP) of The University of Hong Kong was commissioned by Mr Albert del Rosario of the Philippines to conduct an independent opinion survey in Hong Kong on the South China Sea Disputes, in order to investigate Hong Kong people’s awareness and views on the disputes and how much importance they give to public opinion in settling the disputes. The survey was conducted from 1 to 6 November 2018 with 1,000 Cantonese-speaking Hong Kong residents aged 18 or above. The survey report will be released tomorrow via “HKU POP SITE” (https://www.hkupop.hku.hk/english/report/south_china_sea_2018/index.html).

2. From July 2017, apart from sampling landline numbers to conduct opinion surveys, POP has also added mobile numbers to the sampling frame. After three months of testing, in October 2017, POP formalized the use of mixed samples as its standard for regular opinion surveys using a landline and mobile sample ratio of 4 to 1. Starting from April 2018, POP further increased the proportion of mobile sample, which the landline and mobile sample ratio became 2 to 1. The figures released today by POP have already incorporated landline and mobile samples.

3. In September 2017, POP started to use “effective response rate” to report surveys’ contact information. In July 2018, POP further revised the calculation of effective response rate. Thus, the response rates before and after the change cannot be directly compared.

4. To facilitate academic study and rational discussion, POP has already released for public examination some time ago via the “HKU POP SITE” (http://hkupop.hku.hk) the raw data of regular rating surveys of current CE Carrie Lam, former CEs CH Tung, Donald Tsang and CY Leung, along with related demographics of respondents. Please follow normal academic standards when using or citing such data.

Abstract

POP conducted a two-stage survey on the Legislative Councillors in October and November, by means of random telephone surveys conducted by real interviewers. The survey shows that, compared to four months ago, in terms of familiarity, Leung Yiu-chung and Paul Tse have replaced Eddie Chu and Andrew Leung to enter the “top 10” list. In terms of absolute ratings, out of the 8 Councillors in the “top 10” list who were also rated last time, only 1 has gone up while the remaining 7 have gone down. Among them, only the drops in the ratings of Priscilla Leung and Chiang Lai-wan have gone beyond sampling errors, down by 5.0 and 4.3 marks respectively. In terms of relative rankings, Michael Tien continues to rank first, for 4 consecutive times since November 2017. James To, Tanya Chan and Regina Ip remain in the same positions and rank second to fourth respectively. Leung Yiu-chung enters the list for the first time and ranks fifth. Claudia Mo continues to rank sixth. Paul Tse re-enters the list to rank seventh. Starry Lee goes down one position to rank eighth. Priscilla Leung and Chiang Lai-wan remain in the same positions and rank ninth and tenth respectively. It should be noted however that our list of “top 10” only includes LegCo members who are best known to the public, ranked according to their support ratings. Some of the other councillors may well have very high or low support ratings, but because they are not the most well-known councillors, they do not appear on the “top 10” list by design. The maximum sampling error of the ratings registered is +/-2.8 marks at 95% confidence level, while the response rate of the rating survey is 59%.

Points to note:

[1] The address of the “HKU POP SITE” is http://hkupop.hku.hk, journalists can check out the details of the survey there.

[2] The sample size of the first stage naming survey is 1,006 successful interviews, not 1,006 x 63.4% response rate, while that of the second stage rating survey is 1,002 successful interviews, not 1,002 x 58.9% response rate. In the past, many media made this mistake.

[3] “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. When quoting these figures, journalists can state “sampling errors of various ratings not more than +/-2.8 at 95% confidence level”.

[4] Because of sampling errors in conducting the survey(s) and the rounding procedures in processing the data, the figures cannot be too precise, and the totals may not be completely accurate. Therefore, when quoting percentages of the survey(s), journalists should refrain from reporting decimal places, but when quoting the rating figures, one decimal place can be used.

[5] The data of this survey is collected by means of random telephone interviews conducted by real interviewers, not by any interactive voice system (IVS). If a research organization uses “computerized random telephone survey” to camouflage its IVS operation, it should be considered unprofessional.


Latest Figures

From July 2017, POP enhanced the previous weighting method that has been used for quite a few years. Apart from age, gender and education, economic activity group is now also taken into account when adjusting data. The latest figures released today have been rim-weighted according to figures provided by the Census and Statistics Department. The gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population came from “Mid-year population for 2017”, while the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution and economic activity status distribution came from “Women and Men in Hong Kong - Key Statistics (2018 Edition)”. In the past, the mobile sample would be rim-weighted according to the basic Public Sentiment Index (PSI) figures collected in the landline sample. In July 2018, POP further refined the weighting method. The landline sample and the mobile sample would no longer be processed separately. The mobile sample would also no longer be adjusted using the basic PSI figures collected in the landline sample. The overall effect is that the importance of the mobile sample would be increased. Herewith the contact information for the latest survey:

Date of survey

Sample size

Effective response rate

Maximum sampling error[6]

22-24/10/2018 (Naming survey)

1,006

63.4%

+/-3%

1-6/11/2018 (Rating survey)

1,002

58.9%

+/-2.8

[6] Errors are calculated at 95% confidence level using full sample size. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Questions using only sub-samples would have bigger sampling error. Sampling errors of ratings are calculated according to the distribution of the scores collected.


The research design of our “Top 10 Legislative Councillors” has been explained in detail under “Survey Method” in our corresponding web page. The top councillors listed in our latest survey were all those who obtained the highest unprompted mentions in our first stage naming survey conducted from October 22 to 24. In that survey, respondents could name, unaided, up to 10 councillors whom they knew best. Starry Lee, Claudia Mo, Tanya Chan, Regina Ip and James To were the top 5 councillors mentioned most frequently. Please refer to the relevant table for the rest of the list. Those 12 who were named most frequently then entered into the second stage rating survey. During the second stage rating survey conducted from November 1 to 6, respondents were asked to rate each legislator in turn using a 0-100 scale, where 0 indicates absolutely no support, 100 indicates absolutely support, and 50 means half-half. After calculation, the bottom 2 legislators in terms of recognition rate were dropped; the remaining 10 were then ranked according to their support ratings attained to become the top 10 Legislative Councillors. For easy reference, the POP Site has already displayed the results of all naming surveys conducted since the year 1998. Recent ratings of top 10 Legislative Councillors are summarized below:

Date of survey

14-16/11/2017

1-6/3/2018

3-5/7/2018

1-6/11/2018

Latest change

Sample base[7]

525-707

562-682

525-575

520-555

--

Effective response rate*

62.8%

64.7%

49.5%

58.9%

--

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding & error[8]

Recognition rate

--

Michael Tien

57.3{1}

56.8{1}

57.7{1}

57.0+/-1.8{1}

93.5%

-0.7

James To

51.4{3}[9]

48.9{4}[9]

51.3{2}

52.4+/-2.2{2}

89.5%

+1.2

Tanya Chan

46.9{6}[9]

46.8{6}

50.2{3}[9]

49.4+/-2.6{3}

89.7%

-0.9

Regina Ip

52.7{2}

51.4{2}

50.0{4}

48.4+/-2.2{4}

96.6%

-1.6

Leung Yiu-chung

--

--

--

46.8+/-2.1{5}

86.0%

--

Claudia Mo

44.6{8}

46.4{8}

48.2{6}

45.3+/-2.5{6}

88.7%

-3.0

Paul Tse

48.5{4}

46.7{7}

--

44.1+/-2.2{7}

90.9%

--

Starry Lee

48.4{5}

47.6{5}

45.9{7}

43.1+/-2.8{8}

86.8%

-2.8

Priscilla Leung

43.2{9}

40.2{9}[9]

41.6{9}

36.6+/-2.6{9}

83.3%

-5.0[9]

Chiang Lai-wan

40.0{10}

36.8{10}[9]

37.9{10}

33.6+/-2.6{10}

89.2%

-4.3[9]

Alvin Yeung

52.7[10]

51.1[10]

52.2[10]

52.2+/-2.7[10]

75.4%

--

Eddie Chu

46.3{7}[9]

51.2{3}[9]

49.5{5}

50.7+/-2.8[10]

82.6%

+1.2

Andrew Leung

--

--

43.4{8}

--

--

--

Raymond Chan

--

42.9[10]

46.3[10]

--

--

--

Elizabeth Quat

38.4[10]

--

--

--

--

--

* In July 2018, POP revised the calculation of effective response rate. Thus, the response rates before and after the change cannot be directly compared.

[7] These questions only use sub-samples of the tracking surveys concerned, with variable sub-sample size for each question. In latest survey, the sub-sample size of the questions varies between 520 and 555, and its effect has already been reflected in the sampling errors.

[8] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of various ratings not more than +/-2.8 at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures. Numbers in square brackets { } indicates rankings. The error margin of previous survey can be found at the POP Site.

[9] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful, and different weighting methods could have been applied in different surveys.

[10] Ratings with recognition rates not reaching top 10 in the rating stage of survey are not counted.

[11] Not a Legislative Councillor during the survey period.


The latest survey showed that Michael Tien was the most popularly supported councillor attaining 57.0 marks. James To, Tanya Chan and Regina Ip ranked the 2nd to 4th with 52.4, 49.4 and 48.4 marks correspondingly. The 5th to 8th ranks went to Leung Yiu-chung, Claudia Mo, Paul Tse and Starry Lee who attained 46.8, 45.3, 44.1 and 43.1 marks respectively. Priscilla Leung and Chiang Lai-wan ranked the 9th to 10th, attaining 36.6 and 33.6 marks respectively. The mean score obtained by the top 5 councillors was 50.8 marks, while that for the top 10 was 45.7 marks. For this latest survey, Alvin Yeung and Eddie Chu obtained support ratings of 52.2 and 50.7 marks respectively, but they were dropped due to their relatively low recognition rates. The overall ratings ranked according to results obtained over the past four surveys are tabulated as follows:

Date of survey

14-16/11/17

1-6/3/18

3-5/7/18

1-6/11/18

No. of times on top 10

Average rating [12]

Overall ranking [13]

Michael Tien

57.3

56.8

57.7

57.0

4

57.2

1

James To

51.4

48.9

51.3

52.4

4

51.0

2

Regina Ip

52.7

51.4

50.0

48.4

4

50.6

3

Tanya Chan

46.9

46.8

50.2

49.4

4

48.3

4

Starry Lee

48.4

47.6

45.9

43.1

4

46.2

5

Claudia Mo

44.6

46.4

48.2

45.3

4

46.1

6

Priscilla Leung

43.2

40.2

41.6

36.6

4

40.4

7

Chiang Lai-wan

40.0

36.8

37.9

33.6

4

37.1

8

Eddie Chu

46.3

51.2

49.5

--

3

49.0

9

Paul Tse

48.5

46.7

--

44.1

3

46.4

10

Leung Yiu-chung

--

--

--

46.8

1

46.8

11

Andrew Leung

--

--

43.4

--

1

43.4

12

[12] “Average rating” is the average of all ratings obtained by Legislative Councillors over the past four surveys.

[13] “Overall ranking” is first determined by their number of times on top 10, and then their average ratings.


The overall rankings in the past four surveys showed that eight Legislative Councillors have been on the list for four times. They are Michael Tien at the top rank achieving an average rating of 57.2 marks, James To, Regina Ip, Tanya Chan, Starry Lee, Claudia Mo, Priscilla Leung and Chiang Lai-wan who ranked the 2nd to 8th and attained 51.0, 50.6, 48.3, 46.2, 46.1, 40.4 and 37.1 marks correspondingly. Eddie Chu and Paul Tse have been on the list for three times and ranked the 9th to 10th with 49.0 and 46.4 marks correspondingly. Leung Yiu-chung and Andrew Leung have been on the list once and ranked the 11th to 12th with 46.8 and 43.4 marks correspondingly.

Opinion Daily

In January 2007, POP opened a feature page called “Opinion Daily” at the “POP Site”, to record significant events and selected polling figures on a day-to-day basis, in order to let readers judge by themselves the reasons for the ups and downs of different opinion figures. In July 2007, POP collaborated with Wisers Information Limited whereby Wisers supplies to POP each day starting from July 24, a record of significant events of that day, according to the research method designed by POP. These daily entries would be uploaded to “Opinion Daily” as soon as they are verified by POP.

For the polling items covered in this press release, the previous survey was conducted from July 3 to 5, 2018, while this survey was conducted from November 1 to 6, 2018. In between these two surveys, herewith the significant events selected from counting newspaper headlines and commentaries on a daily basis and covered by at least 25% of the local newspaper articles. Readers can make their own judgment if these significant events have any impacts to different polling figures.

1/11/18

The Public Transport Fare Subsidy Scheme will be implemented next year.

31/10/18

The Environment Bureau will introduce the Charging for Municipal Solid Waste Bill into the Legislative Council soon.

25/10/18

Cathay Pacific leaks personal data of 9.4 million people.

24/10/18

The Hong Kong-Zhuhai-Macao Bridge officially commences operation.

16/10/18

The traffic is paralyzed as four MTR lines encounter signaling issues.

14/10/18

People protest against Lantau Tomorrow Vision.

12/10/18

The returning officer declares Lau Siu-lai’s nomination for Legislative Council Kowloon West by-election invalid.

10/10/18

Chief Executive Carrie Lam delivers the 2018 Policy Address.

24/9/18

An order banning the Hong Kong National Party’s operation is gazetted by the government.

22/9/18

The Hong Kong Section of Express Rail Link will be launched on September 23.

17/9/18

The traffic is paralyzed in the first working day after Super Typhoon Mangkhut hit Hong Kong.

16/9/18

Super Typhoon Mangkhut hits Hong Kong.

7/9/18

Thirteen protesters who oppose North East New Territories development plan win their appeal at the Court of Final Appeal.

14/8/18

Andy Chan Ho-tin, convenor of the Hong Kong National Party, delivers his speech in luncheon held by the Foreign Correspondents’ Club.

7/8/18

Five members of the MTR top management team resign because of problems about the construction of the Shatin to Central Link.


Commentary

Note: The following commentary was written by Research Manager of POP, Frank Lee.

The latest survey of the top 10 Legislative Councillors show that compared to four months ago, in terms of familiarity, Leung Yiu-chung and Paul Tse have replaced Eddie Chu and Andrew Leung to enter the “top 10” list. In terms of absolute ratings, out of the 8 Councillors in the “top 10” list who were also rated last time, only 1 has gone up while the remaining 7 have gone down. Among them, only the drops in the ratings of Priscilla Leung and Chiang Lai-wan have gone beyond sampling errors, down by 5.0 and 4.3 marks respectively. In terms of relative rankings, Michael Tien continues to rank first, for 4 consecutive times since November 2017. James To, Tanya Chan and Regina Ip remain in the same positions and rank second to fourth respectively. Leung Yiu-chung enters the list for the first time and ranks fifth. Claudia Mo continues to rank sixth. Paul Tse re-enters the list to rank seventh. Starry Lee goes down one position to rank eighth. Priscilla Leung and Chiang Lai-wan remain in the same positions and rank ninth and tenth respectively. It should be noted however that our list of “top 10” only includes LegCo members who are best known to the public, ranked according to their support ratings. Some of the other councillors may well have very high or low support ratings, but because they are not the most well-known councillors, they do not appear on the “top 10” list by design. As for the reasons affecting the ups and downs of various figures, readers are welcome to make their own judgment using the detailed records displayed in our “Opinion Daily”.

Future Release (Tentative)

  • November 27, 2018 (Tuesday) 12pm to 2pm: Popularity of CE and HKSAR Government, Ratings of the Best Corporations

港大民研發放十大立法會議員的最新評分和南中國海爭議意見調查返回

 

2018年11月20日 新聞公報

| 詳細結果 十大立法會議員評分|

特別宣佈

1. 香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)在2018年8月接受菲律賓的羅薩里奧先生(Albert del Rosario)委託,在香港進行一項有關南中國海爭議的獨立意見調查,以探討市民對南中國海爭議的認知程度,和民意對解決爭議的重要性。調查於2018年11月1至6日期間訪問了1,000位18歲或以上並操粵語的香港居民,調查報告將於明天在《香港大學民意網站》發放,網址為 https://www.hkupop.hku.hk/english/report/south_china_sea_2018/index.html

2. 2017年7月起,民研計劃除了使用固網電話號碼進行抽樣調查外,亦加入手機號碼混合使用,固網及手機樣本比例為四比一。經過三個月的測試,民研計劃在2017年10月正式把混合樣本常規化,作為定期民意調查的統計方法。2018年4月開始,民研計劃再增加手機樣本的比例,令固網及手機樣本比例為二比一。民研計劃今日發放的數據已整合固網電話及手機號碼兩個部份。

3. 民研計劃在2017年9月開始以「實效回應比率」彙報樣本資料。2018年7月,民研計劃再調整實效回應比率的計算方法,因此改變前後的回應比率不能直接比較。

4. 在促進學術研究和理性討論的基礎上,民研計劃早前已在《香港大學民意網站》(http://hkupop.hku.hk)發放現任特首林鄭月娥、前特首董建華、曾蔭權及梁振英的定期特首民望評分及相關人口變項的原始數據,供各界考證。惟請用家使用及引用有關數據時,按照學術慣例註明出處。

公報簡要

民研計劃在10至11月期間,透過真實訪員以隨機抽樣方式,分兩階段進行了立法會議員調查。調查顯示,對比四個月前,以熟悉程度計,梁耀忠和謝偉俊取代朱凱廸和梁君彥進入十大。論絕對評分,十大榜內八位連續兩次進入評分階段的議員中只有一人的評分上升,餘下七人下跌,當中只有梁美芬和蔣麗芸的評分跌幅超過抽樣誤差,分別下跌5.0及4.3分。論相對排名,田北辰繼續排名第一,是自2017年11月起連續第四次,涂謹申、陳淑莊和葉劉淑儀的排名維持不變,位列第二至四,梁耀忠首次上榜排名第五,毛孟靜繼續排名第六,謝偉俊再次上榜排名第七,李慧琼下跌一位排名第八,梁美芬和蔣麗芸的排名維持不變,位列第九和第十。須要說明,躋身「十大議員」的先決條件是巿民的熟悉程度,然後再按支持度排名。「十大」以外的議員,支持度可以很高或很低,但由於並非巿民最熟悉的議員,所以不在榜內。在95%置信水平下,十大立法會議員評分的最高抽樣誤差為+/-2.8分,評分調查的回應率為59%。

注意事項:

[1]《香港大學民意網站》的網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk,傳媒可到網站參閱調查細節。

[2] 第一階段提名調查的樣本為1,006個成功個案,並非1,006乘以回應率63.4%;第二階段評分調查的樣本則為另外1,002個,亦非1,002乘以回應率58.9%。過去有不少傳媒在報導上犯了上述錯誤。

[3] 95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用有關數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項評分誤差不超過+/-2.8」。

[4] 因為調查存在的抽樣誤差及處理數據的捨入過程,數字不能過份精確,合計數字亦未必完全準確。因此,傳媒在引用有關調查的百分比數字時,應避免使用小數點,在引用評分數字時,則可以使用一個小數點。

[5] 調查數據並非透過音頻互動系統取得,倘若調查機構以「電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問」或類似文字來掩飾音頻互動調查,是不專業的做法。


最新數據

2017年7月起,民研計劃把沿用多年的加權方法改良,除了考慮年齡、性別和教育程度外,加入經濟活動身分予以調整。今天公佈的最新數據,已經按照政府統計處提供的統計數字以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。全港人口年齡及性別分佈統計數字來自《二零一七年年中人口數字》,而教育程度(最高就讀程度)及經濟活動身分統計數字則來自《香港的女性及男性 - 主要統計數字》(2018年版)。過往,手機樣本會按照固網樣本中民情指數的基礎數據進行調整,再作統計,但由2018年7月起,民研計劃再微調加權方法,不再將固網樣本及手機樣本分開處理,手機樣本亦不再按照固網樣本中民情指數的基礎數據作調整,整體效果是手機樣本的重要性略為提升。現先列出最新調查的樣本資料:


調查日期

樣本數目

實效回應比率

最高百分比/評分誤差[6]

22-24/10/2018 (提名階段調查)

1,006

63.4%

+/-3%

1-6/11/2018 (評分階段調查)

1,002

58.9%

+/-2.8

[6] 有關誤差數字均以95%置信水平及整體樣本計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。個別題目如果只涉及調查內若干次樣本,百分比誤差會相應增加。評分誤差則會按照樣本評分的分佈情況另行推算。


有關「十大立法會議員」評分調查的方法,在網頁內「調查方法」的欄目中已有詳述。是次調查被評分的立法會議員,皆於首階段在10月22至24日進行的提名調查中在未經提示下獲得最多被訪者提名的議員。在該項提名調查中,被訪者可說出多至10名最熟悉的議員,結果首5位最多被訪者提及的議員分別是李慧琼、毛孟靜、陳淑莊、葉劉淑儀及涂謹申,餘下名單請參閱有關數表。獲得提名次數最多的12名議員進入第二階段評分調查。在11月1至6日進行的第二階段評分調查中,被訪者就所有入選的12名議員以0至100分進行個別評分,0分代表絕對不支持,100分代表絕對支持,50分為一半半。統計結果後,認知度最低的兩名立法會議員再被剔除,之後再按十名立法會議員所得的支持度由高至低順序排列,得出十大立法會議員。《民意網站》已把1998年開始的各次提名調查結果加入網站,方便各界人士參考。以下是十大立法會議員的最新評分:

調查日期

14-16/11/2017

1-6/3/2018

3-5/7/2018

1-6/11/2018

最新變化

樣本基數[7]

525-707

562-682

525-575

520-555

--

實效回應比率*

62.8%

64.7%

49.5%

58.9%

--

最新結果

結果

結果

結果

結果及誤差 [8]

認知率

--

田北辰

57.3{1}

56.8{1}

57.7{1}

57.0+/-1.8{1}

93.5%

-0.7

涂謹申

51.4{3}[9]

48.9{4}[9]

51.3{2}

52.4+/-2.2{2}

89.5%

+1.2

陳淑莊

46.9{6}[9]

46.8{6}

50.2{3}[9]

49.4+/-2.6{3}

89.7%

-0.9

葉劉淑儀

52.7{2}

51.4{2}

50.0{4}

48.4+/-2.2{4}

96.6%

-1.6

梁耀忠

--

--

--

46.8+/-2.1{5}

86.0%

--

毛孟靜

44.6{8}

46.4{8}

48.2{6}

45.3+/-2.5{6}

88.7%

-3.0

謝偉俊

48.5{4}

46.7{7}

--

44.1+/-2.2{7}

90.9%

--

李慧琼

48.4{5}

47.6{5}

45.9{7}

43.1+/-2.8{8}

86.8%

-2.8

梁美芬

43.2{9}

40.2{9}[9]

41.6{9}

36.6+/-2.6{9}

83.3%

-5.0[9]

蔣麗芸

40.0{10}

36.8{10}[9]

37.9{10}

33.6+/-2.6{10}

89.2%

-4.3[9]

楊岳橋

52.7[10]

51.1[10]

52.2[10]

52.2+/-2.7[10]

75.4%

--

朱凱廸

46.3{7}[9]

51.2{3}[9]

49.5{5}

50.7+/-2.8[10]

82.6%

+1.2

梁君彥

--

--

43.4{8}

--

--

--

陳志全

--

42.9[10]

46.3[10]

--

--

--

葛珮帆

38.4[10]

--

--

--

--

--

* 2018年7月,民研計劃已調整實效回應比率的計算方法,因此改變前後的回應比率不能直接比較。

[7] 本系列題目每次只涉及有關定期調查的次樣本,每題樣本數目不等,是次調查各題的次樣本基數介乎520-555之間,效應已從抽樣誤差中反映。

[8] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用上述數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項評分誤差不超過+/-2.8」;括弧{ }內數字為榜上的排名。以前調查的誤差數值請參閱網站。

[9] 該等變化超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義,而不同調查的加權方法亦可能有所不同。

[10] 於評分階段認知率不入十大,故評分不計算在內。

[11] 調查期間不是立法會議員。


最新調查顯示,市民對立法會議員的最新支持度排名,首位是田北辰,得57.0分;第二至四位是涂謹申、陳淑莊和葉劉淑儀,分別得52.4、49.4及48.4分。梁耀忠、毛孟靜、謝偉俊和李慧琼分別排第五至八位,得46.8、45.3、44.1及43.1分。排第九至十位的是梁美芬和蔣麗芸,分別得36.6及33.6分。市民對排名首五位議員的平均分為50.8分,而首十位則為45.7分。在最新調查中,楊岳橋和朱凱廸分別得52.2及50.7分,但由於認知率較低而被剔除。此外,過去四次調查的總結排名則表列如下:

調查日期

14-16/11/17

1-6/3/18

3-5/7/18

1-6/11/18

上榜次數

平均分數 [12]

總結排名 [13]

田北辰

57.3

56.8

57.7

57.0

4

57.2

1

涂謹申

51.4

48.9

51.3

52.4

4

51.0

2

葉劉淑儀

52.7

51.4

50.0

48.4

4

50.6

3

陳淑莊

46.9

46.8

50.2

49.4

4

48.3

4

李慧琼

48.4

47.6

45.9

43.1

4

46.2

5

毛孟靜

44.6

46.4

48.2

45.3

4

46.1

6

梁美芬

43.2

40.2

41.6

36.6

4

40.4

7

蔣麗芸

40.0

36.8

37.9

33.6

4

37.1

8

朱凱廸

46.3

51.2

49.5

--

3

49.0

9

謝偉俊

48.5

46.7

--

44.1

3

46.4

10

梁耀忠

--

--

--

46.8

1

46.8

11

梁君彥

--

--

43.4

--

1

43.4

12

[12] 「平均分數」是各立法會議員在過去四次調查各次得分的平均數。

[13]「總結排名」的計算方法是先按上榜次數,後按平均分數排名。


過去四次調查的總結排名顯示,八位立法會議員曾經上榜四次,田北辰排名第一,平均得57.2分,第二至八位分別是涂謹申、葉劉淑儀、陳淑莊、李慧琼、毛孟靜、梁美芬和蔣麗芸,平均分分別為51.0、50.6、48.3、46.2、46.1、40.4及37.1分。朱凱廸和謝偉俊上榜三次,排名第九至十位,平均分分別為49.0及46.4分。梁耀忠和梁君彥則上榜一次,平均分分別為46.8及43.4分,排名第十一至十二位。

民意日誌

民研計劃於2007年1月在《民意網站》開設「民意日誌」專頁,以按日形式紀錄每日大事及提供若干在當天錄得的民意調查數字。2007年7月,民研計劃與慧科訊業有限公司合作,從7月24日起,「民意日誌」中的每日大事紀錄由慧科訊業按照民研計劃設計的分析方法,按日傳送至民研計劃,經民研計劃核實後隨即上載到「民意日誌」。

由於本新聞公報所涉及的調查項目,上次調查日期為3-5/7/2018,而今次調查日期則為1-6/11/2018,因此是次公報中的「民意日誌」項目便以上述日期為依歸,讓讀者作出比較。以涵蓋率不下25%本地報章每日頭條新聞和報社評論計,在上述期間發生的相關大事包括以下事件,讀者可以自行判斷有關事件有否影響各項民調數字,又或參閱「民意日誌」內所有大事紀錄後,再作判斷:

1/11/18

公共交通費用補貼計劃將於明年推行

31/10/18

環境局將向立法會提交都市固體廢物收費條例草案

25/10/18

國泰航空洩漏約940萬名乘客資料

24/10/18

港珠澳大橋正式通車營運

16/10/18

港鐵四線信號故障造成交通癱瘓

14/10/18

市民遊行反對明日大嶼願景計劃

12/10/18

選舉主任裁定劉小麗立法會九龍西補選提名無效

10/10/18

行政長官林鄭月娥發表2018年施政報告

24/9/18

政府刊憲禁香港民族黨運作

22/9/18

高鐵香港段9月23日正式通車

17/9/18

超強颱風「山竹」襲港後首個工作天交通癱瘓

16/9/18

超強颱風「山竹」吹襲本港

7/9/18

13名反新界東北發展工程的示威者獲終院裁定上訴得直

14/8/18

香港民族黨召集人陳浩天在香港外國記者會午餐會上演講

7/8/18

五名港鐵高層因沙中線工程問題離職


分析評論

註:以下分析評論由民研計劃研究經理李偉健撰寫

最新十大立法會議員調查結果顯示,對比四個月前,以熟悉程度計,梁耀忠和謝偉俊取代朱凱廸和梁君彥進入十大。論絕對評分,十大榜內八位連續兩次進入評分階段的議員中只有一人的評分上升,餘下七人下跌,當中只有梁美芬和蔣麗芸的評分跌幅超過抽樣誤差,分別下跌5.0及4.3分。論相對排名,田北辰繼續排名第一,是自2017年11月起連續第四次,涂謹申、陳淑莊和葉劉淑儀的排名維持不變,位列第二至四,梁耀忠首次上榜排名第五,毛孟靜繼續排名第六,謝偉俊再次上榜排名第七,李慧琼下跌一位排名第八,梁美芬和蔣麗芸的排名維持不變,位列第九和第十。須要說明,躋身「十大議員」的先決條件是巿民的熟悉程度,然後再按支持度排名。「十大」以外的議員,支持度可以很高或很低,但由於並非巿民最熟悉的議員,所以不在榜內。至於各項民意數字起跌的原因,讀者可以根據「民意日誌」的詳細記錄自行判斷。

未來發放(暫定)

  • 2018年11月27日(星期二)下午十二時至二時:特首及特區政府民望、最佳企業評分