HKU POP SITE releases the latest results of the Handover Anniversary surveyBack


Press Release on June 29, 2006
 

| Latest Figures | Commentary | News about POP | Focus Analysis of POP Findings |
| Detailed Findings (HKSAR Anniversary Surveys) |

Latest Figures
 

The Public Opinion Programme (POP) at the University of Hong Kong today releases on schedule via the "HKU POP SITE" (http://hkupop.hku.hk) the latest survey results related to the Handover Anniversary. As a general practice, all figures have been weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population at the end of 2005. Herewith the contact information for the latest survey:


 Date of survey  Overall sample size   Response rate   Sampling error of percentages* 
 19-21/6/06   1,012   58.2%   +/- 3% 
* Calculated at 95% confidence level using full sample size. "95% confidence level" means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Questions using only sub-samples would have bigger sample error. Sampling errors of ratings are calculated according to the distribution of the scores collected.
 

The survey results related to the Handover Anniversary are tabulated below:

  Date of survey  4-5/6/02   13-18/6/03   7-11/6/04   20-23/6/05   19-21/6/06   Latest change 
  Sample base  1,010   1,043   1,027   1,026   1,012   -- 
  Overall response rate  65.4%   68.0%   66.9%   61.9%   58.2%   -- 
  Sampling error of percentages (at 95% conf. level)*  +/- 3%   +/- 3%   +/- 3%   +/- 3%   +/- 3%   -- 
  Being proud of becoming a national citizen of China  40%   38%   39%   46%   47%   +1% 
  Not being proud of becoming a national citizen of China  54%   53%   53%   45%   51%   +6% 
  Central Government's policy on HK: positive evaluations **  30%   36%   25%   36%   56%   +20% 
  Central Government's policy on HK: negative evaluations **  21%   24%   29%   15%   10%   -5% 

* "95% confidence level" means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified.
** Collapsed from a 5-point scale.

Results of the latest Anniversary survey revealed that, 47% of the respondents were proud of becoming a national citizen of China after the handover, while 51% said they did not have any special feeling. As for the policy of the Central Government on Hong Kong after the handover, 56% of the respondents evaluated it positively, whereas 10% gave negative evaluations.


Commentary

Robert Ting-Yiu Chung, Director of Public Opinion Programme, observed, "As the 9th anniversary of HKSAR draws near, people are feeling much more positive about Central Government's Hong Kong policies, compared to a year ago. This year, the positive figure has shot up by 20 percentage points to reach record high since this survey item started in 1999. After Donald Tsang became the Chief Executive, most central government officials have used mild words when commenting on Hong Kong affairs. This may have contributed to Hong Kong people's positive feedback. Regarding people's feeling of becoming a Chinese national citizen, those feeling proud and those not feeling proud each comprises about half of the sample. The situation in 1997 was almost the same, but between 1998 and 2004, those not feeling proud usually out-numbered those feeling proud by about 15 to 20 percentage points. Starting last year, the situation recovered to that of half and half. The fluctuations of these figures are very likely related to the development of the public sentiment in Hong Kong, as well as China's state of development as a whole."

News about POP

POP's normal practice is to release the results of our regular surveys every Tuesday afternoon via our POP Site, except during public holidays, each time with a forecast of the items to be released in the next 7 days. According to schedule, our next release of regular survey findings will be July 4, 2006, Tuesday, between 1pm to 2pm, when the latest figures of people's satisfaction with the performance of the Legislative Council members in general, the People's Liberation Army Hong Kong garrison and the Hong Kong Police Force will be released. Then on July 6, 2006, Thursday, between 1pm to 2pm, we will release the latest figures of people's appraisal of society's current conditions.

Our general practice is to answer all questions on the research design of the surveys published in the POP Site as soon as we receive them, but we will not further comment on the findings. We welcome questions for follow-up purpose, please email them to us at . We will keep such an arrangement under constant review, suggestions most welcome. Please note that everything carried in the POP Site does not represent the stand of the University of Hong Kong. Dr Robert Ting-Yiu Chung, Director of POP, is responsible for everything posted herewith, except for column articles which represent the stand of their authors.

Starting from January 2006, we have included in our regular press releases a small educational section for the purpose of general civic education, so that we can share our experience with the general public. The subject of our education section today is "Focus Analysis of POP Findings", and we will discuss the analysis of public opinion at handover anniversaries.

Focus Analysis of POP Findings

Analysis of public opinion at handover anniversaries

July 1, 1997 is an important date in Hong Kong's history. From the macroscopic perspective of opinion research, after the handover in 1997, July 1 each year has become a good time to summarize the development of public opinion. For the first five years after the handover, HKUPOP's handover anniversary surveys usually included the following research items:

  • People's feelings about the handover anniversary
  • People's ethnic identity before and after the handover 
  • Overall evaluation of Hong Kong's condition after the handover 
  • People's evaluation of changes before and after the handover 
  • People's feelings about the central government 
  • People's evaluation of the policy of the central government on Hong Kong after the handover

After 5 years, public mood has pacified, POP has therefore gradually reduced the number of survey items to two, namely, "people's ethnic identity before and after the handover" and "people's evaluation of the policy of the central government on Hong Kong after the handover". However, since the handover was exactly in the middle of the year, the public and the press can actually click on the half-yearly averages of various POP polls in the "POP SITE" to see the macro development of public sentimental. The half-yearly averages of the following topics should be highly useful:

  • Popularity of the HKSAR government
  • People's ethnic identity
  • People's trust in the HKSAR government
  • People's trust in the Beijing central government
  • People's confidence in Hong Kong's future
  • People's confidence in China's future
  • People's confidence in "one country, two systems"
  • Social indicators
  • Legal indicators
  • Freedom indicators
  • Appraisal of society's current conditions

POP will gather the half-yearly averages of the above survey topics, and upload them onto our "POP SITE" later today for public consumption.

| Latest Figures | Commentary | News about POP | Focus Analysis of POP Findings |
| Detailed Findings (HKSAR Anniversary Surveys) |

《港大民意網站》今日發放香港回歸的週年調查結果返回


2006年6月29日新聞公報
 

| 最新數據 | 分析評論 | 民研計劃動向 | 附加資料 |
| 詳細結果 (特區成立週年調查) |

最新數據
 

香港大學民意研究計劃今日如期在《港大民意網站》(http://hkupop.hku.hk)發放香港回歸的週年調查結果。按照慣例,有關調查數字已經按照政府統計處提供之2005年終全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以「加權」方法作出調整。現先列出最新調查的樣本資料:


 調查日期   總樣本數   回應比率   百分比誤差* 
 19-21/6/06   1,012   58.2%   +/- 3% 
* 有關誤差數字均以95%置信水平及整體樣本計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。個別題目如果只涉及調查內若干次樣本,百分比誤差會相應增加。評分誤差則會按照樣本評分的分佈情況另行推算。
 

至於有關香港回歸的週年調查結果,則表列如下:

  調查日期  4-5/6/02   13-18/6/03   7-11/6/04   20-23/6/05   19-21/6/06   最新變化 
  樣本基數  1,010   1,043   1,027   1,026   1,012   -- 
  整體回應比率  65.4%   68.0%   66.9%   61.9%   58.2%   -- 
  百分比誤差 (95%置信水平)*  +/- 3%   +/- 3%   +/- 3%   +/- 3%   +/-3%   -- 
  因成為中國國民而感到自豪的比率  40%   38%   39%   46%   47%   +1% 
  沒有感到自豪的比率  54%   53%   53%   45%   51%   +6% 
  中央政府的香港政策:正面評價**  30%   36%   25%   36%   56%   +20% 
  中央政府的香港政策:負面評價**  21%   24%   29%   15%   10%   -5% 

* 95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。
** 數字採自五等量尺。

最新的香港回歸週年調查的焦點題目只有兩項,包括巿民對成為中國國民的感覺,和對中央政府政策的評價。調查顯示,47%被訪市民因回歸後正式成為中國國民而感到自豪,另一方面,51%表示對此沒有感覺。至於回歸以來中央政府對香港的政策,56%被訪市民給予正面評價,10%則給予負面評價。


分析評論

民意研究計劃主任鍾庭耀分析:「調查顯示,在接近回歸九週年時,巿民對中央政府香港政策的正面評價,比去年同期大幅飆升20個百分比,達到有關項目在1999年開展以來的歷史高點,估計是因為中央政府在曾蔭權接任特首後,對香港事務的發言變得溫和有關。至於香港巿民在成為中國國民後有否感到自豪的比率,則是一半一半。1997年回歸時是一半一半,1998至2004年間,不感自豪的數字比感到自豪的數字大概超出15至20個百分比,去年開始又回復至一半一半的局面。這組數字的波動,大概與香港民情和中國國情的發展有密切的關係。」

民研計劃動向

香港大學民意研究計劃一般逢星期二下午於《民意網站》公佈定期調查結果,公眾假期除外,並同時預告未來七天的發放項目。按照計劃,《民意網站》下次發放定期調查數據的日期及時間為7月4日星期二下午一時至二時,網站將會發放香港巿民對整體立法會議員、駐港解放軍及香港警隊表現的滿意程度的定期調查結果。及至7月6日星期二下午一時至二時,網站將會發放市民對社會整體狀況評價的最新調查結果。

民研計劃的一貫做法,是除了就調查方法的查詢作出解釋外,不會再就調查結果作出評述,但歡迎各界人士把問題以電郵方式傳給我們,電郵地址為,作為日後跟進。我們會不斷檢討此等安排,歡迎各界人士提供意見。《民意網站》內一切內容與香港大學立場無關。專欄文章的文責由作者自負,其餘內容則由民研計劃主任鍾庭耀博士負責。

為了加強民研計劃的公民教育工作,我們由2006年1月開始,在定期新聞公報中附加一個關於民意研究的小欄目,與讀者分享和討論民意研究的經驗和心得。今日的專題欄目是「民研結果焦點分析」,集中討論香港回歸週年的民情分析。

附加資料:「民研結果焦點分析」

香港回歸週年民情分析

1997年7月1日是香港歷史的重要日子。從宏觀民意研究的角度看,從1997年香港回歸開始,每年7月1日前後都是總結民情發展的理想時間。回歸後首五年,民研計劃的週年總結一般都包括下列調查項目:
  • 市民回歸心情
  • 市民回歸前後的身份認同感 
  • 市民對香港回歸後整體環境的評價
  • 市民對回歸前後社會轉變的評價
  • 市民對中央政府的觀感 
  • 回歸後市民對中央政府對香港政策的評價 

五年過後,激情淡化,民研計劃於是逐漸減少有關調查項目,至今年的兩項,亦即「市民回歸前後的身份認同感」和「回歸後市民對中央政府對香港政策的評價」。不過,由於香港回歸剛好是在年中,傳媒和巿民大眾大可以在《民意網站》中點擊各項民意調查的半年總結,便可宏觀檢視民情的發展。以下調查項目的半年總結應有很高的參考價值:

  • 政府民望
  • 巿民的身份認同感
  • 市民對香港特區政府的信任程度
  • 市民對北京中央政府的信任程度
  • 市民對香港前途的信心
  • 市民對中國前途的信心
  • 市民對一國兩制的信心
  • 社會指標
  • 法治指標
  • 自由指標
  • 社會整體狀況評價

民研計劃會把上述調查項目的半年總結彙集一起,在今天較後時間上載至《民意網站》,方便巿民查閱。

 

| 最新數據 | 分析評論 | 民研計劃動向 | 附加資料 |
| 詳細結果 (特區成立週年調查) |