HKU POP releases latest survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identityBack

 
Press Release on June 26, 2012

| Special Announcement | Abstract | Latest Figures | Opinion Daily | Commentary | Future Releases | Reference materials on survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity |
| Detailed Findings (People's Ethnic Identity) |


Special Announcement

(1) Starting from today, Public Opinion Programme (POP) at the University of Hong Kong will release the survey series of "HKSAR anniversary" according to the following schedule:

June 26, 2012 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity
June 27, 2012 (Wednesday) 1pm to 2pm: Popularity of CE, CE-elect and SARG
June 28, 2012 (Thursday) 1pm to 2pm: People's appraisal of society's conditions, PSI analysis
June 29, 2012 (Friday) 1pm to 2pm: HKSAR anniversary survey
July 3, 2012 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: Popularity of disciplinary forces
July 10, 2012 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: Ratings of top 10 political groups

 

(2) Today’s release concerning the “survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity” includes a large amount of reference material, readers should click on the “What’s New” at “HKU POP SITE” (website: http://hkupop.hku.hk) and read in detail, in order to understand the background and controversy related to this survey series.



Abstract

The latest survey conducted by POP shows that in terms of absolute rating, people’s identification with “Hong Kong citizens” has dropped back a bit compared to 6 months ago, but their identification with “Chinese citizens” has dropped to a 13-year low since the end of 1999. Indepth analysis shows that the rating of those under 30 years of age continues to drop since mid-2009, and plunges to just over 5 points in the past 6 months. This warrants special attention. Moreover, if we use a dichotomy of “Hong Kong citizens” versus “Chinese citizens” to measure Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity, the proportion of people identifying themselves as “Hong Kong citizens” outnumbers that of “Chinese citizens” both in their narrow and broad senses, by about 28 to 38 percentage points. For those under 30 years of age, the gap widens to 60 to 72 percentage points. For the overall sample, the percentages of those identifying themselves as “Hong Kong citizens” both in its narrow and broad senses (including “Hong Kong citizens” or “Chinese Hong Kong citizens”) have reached record high since the 1997 handover. Moreover, if we use “identity indices” ranging between 0 and 100 to measure the strengths of people’s identities (the higher the index, the stronger the identity), Hong Kong people’s feeling is the strongest as “Hong Kong citizens”, followed by “members of the Chinese race”, then “Asians”, “Chinese citizens”, “global citizens”, and finally “citizens of the PRC”. All in all, Hong Kong people feel strongest as “Hong Kong citizens”, then followed by a number of cultural identities. The feeling of being “citizens of the PRC” is the weakest among all identities tested. The maximum sampling error of percentages is +/-4 percentage points at 95% confidence level, while the sampling error of rating figures needs another calculation. The response rate of the survey is 68%.

 

Points to note:
[1] The address of the “HKU POP SITE” is http://hkupop.hku.hk, journalists can check out the details of the survey there.
[2]The sample size is 1,001 successful interviews, not 1,001 x 68.0% response rates. In the past, many media made this mistake.
[3] The maximum sampling error of all percentages is +/-4 percentage points at 95% confidence level, while the sampling error of rating figure needs another calculation. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. When quoting these figures, journalists can state "sampling error of various ratings not more than +/-0.26, sampling error of identity indices not more than +/-2.5, and sampling error of percentages not more than +/-4% at 95% confidence level”.
[4] When quoting percentages of this survey, journalists should refrain from reporting decimal places in order to match the precision level of the figures.
[5] The data of this survey is collected by means of random telephone interviews conducted by real interviewers, not by any interactive voice system (IVS). If a research organization uses “computerized random telephone survey” to camouflage its IVS operation, it should be considered unprofessional.



Latest Figures

POP today releases via the POP Site the latest survey on people’s ethnic identity. All the figures have been weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population in 2011 year-end. Herewith the latest contact information:

Date of survey

Sample base

Overall response rate

Maximum sampling error of percentages [6]

Maximum sampling error of ethnicity indices [6]

13-20/6/2012

1,001

68.0%

+/-3%

+/-2.5

[6] Errors are calculated at 95% confidence level using full sample size. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Questions using only sub-samples would have bigger sample error. Sampling errors of ratings are calculated according to the distribution of the scores collected.

Recent figures on Hong Kong people’s ratings on separate identities are tabulated as follows:

Date of survey

13-16/12/10

17-22/6/11

12-20/12/11

13-20/6/12

Latest change

Sample base[10]

528-550

503-596

534-551

527-601

--

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding and error[7]

--

Strength rating of being “Hong Kong citizens”

Identity index of being “Hong Kong citizens”[9]

8.12[8]

77.7[8]

7.63[8]

74.7[8]

8.23[8]

79.1[8]

8.11
+/-0.18

77.4
+/-1.8

-0.12

-1.7

Importance rating of being “Hong Kong citizens” [9]

7.62[8]

7.50

7.78[8]

7.64
+/-0.20

-0.14

Strength rating of being “Members of the Chinese race”

Identity index of being “Members of the Chinese race” [9]

7.42[8]

72.1[8]

7.29

70.8

7.46

72.5

7.26
+/-0.22

69.5
+/-2.1

-0.20

-3.0[8]

Importance rating of being “Members of the Chinese race” [9]

7.12[8]

7.06

7.18

6.82
+/-0.22

-0.36[8]

Strength rating of being “Asians”

Identity index of being “Asians” [9]

7.45[8]

69.3[8]

7.63

71.2[8]

7.65

72.1

7.45
+/-0.20

69.2
+/-2.0

-0.20

-2.9[8]

Importance rating of being “Asians” [9]

6.67[8]

6.88

6.96

6.69
+/-0.22

-0.27[8]

Strength rating of being “Chinese citizens”

Identity index of being “Chinese citizens” [9]

7.10[8]

69.7[8]

7.24

70.7

7.01

67.9[8]

6.99
+/-0.22

67.0
+/-2.2

-0.02

-0.9

Importance rating of being “Chinese citizens” [9]

7.01[8]

7.08

6.80[8]

6.66
+/-0.23

-0.14

Strength rating of being “global citizens”

Identity index of being “global citizens” [9]

6.66

64.6

6.88

67.0[8]

6.91

67.0

6.61
+/-0.23

63.6
+/-2.1

-0.30[8]

-3.4[8]

Importance rating of being “global citizens” [9]

6.47

6.65

6.68

6.35
+/-0.25

-0.33[8]

Strength rating of being “citizens of PRC”

Identity index of being “citizens of PRC” [9]

6.27

60.8

6.41

62.3

6.28

61.1

6.12
+/-0.26

59.0
+/-2.5

-0.16

-2.1

Importance rating of being “citizens of PRC” [9]

6.07

6.31

6.12

5.85
+/-0.26

-0.27[8]

 

 

[7] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. “95% confidence level” means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of ratings not more than +/-0.26 and sampling error of identity indices not more than +/-2.5 at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures. The error margin of previous survey can be found at the POP Site.
[8] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant or not is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful.
[9] New items since December 2008. “Identity index” is calculated for each identity of a respondent by taking the geometric mean of the strength and importance ratings of a certain identity, multiply by 10. If either the strength or importance rating of a respondent is missing, it is substituted by the sample mean of that identity.
[10] Since December 2008, the sub-sample size of the series of questions is controlled at slightly over 500 cases.


The above figures were collected from independent rating questions, but not involving the dichotomy issue of “Hong Kong citizens” and “Chinese citizens”. Latest findings showed that the identity ratings for “Hong Kong citizens”, “Asians” and “members of the Chinese race” were 8.11, 7.45 and 7.26 marks respectively. Using the same rating method, the strength of people’s identity as “Chinese citizens”, “global citizens” and “citizens of PRC” were 6.99, 6.61 and 6.12 marks respectively. As for the importance ratings, “Hong Kong citizens” and “members of the Chinese race” scored 7.64 and 6.82 marks respectively, while those for “Asians”, “Chinese citizens”, “global citizens” and “citizens of PRC” were 6.69, 6.66, 6.35 and 5.85 marks respectively.

 

Taking the geometric mean of the strength and importance ratings of each respondent and then multiply it by 10, we have an ‘identity index’ for the respondent for a certain identity between 0 and 100, with 0 meaning no feeling, 100 meaning extremely strong feeling, and 50 meaning half and half. Using these identity indices, the rank order of Hong Kong people’s six identities was “Hong Kong citizens”, “members of the Chinese race”, “Asians”, “Chinese citizens”, “global citizens” and “citizens of PRC”. Their scores were 77.4, 69.5, 69.2, 67.0, 63.6 and 59.0 marks respectively.

 

As for the results from the survey mode used for long on Hong Kong people’s sense of ethnic identity, recent figures are tabulated as follows:

 

Date of survey

13-16/12/10

21-22/6/11

12-20/12/11

13-20/6/12

Latest Change

Sample base[14]

1,013

520[14]

541[14]

560[14]

--

Overall response rate

67.4%

65.7%

66.4%

68.0%

--

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding

Finding and error[11]

--

Identified themselves as “Hong Kong citizens”

36%[13]

44%[13]

38%[13]

46+/-4%

+8%[13]

Identified themselves as “Chinese citizens”

21%[13]

23%

17%[13]

18+/-3%

+1%

Identified themselves with a mixed identity of “Hong Kong citizens” plus “Chinese citizens” [12]

41%[13]

32%[13]

43%[13]

34+/-4%

-9%[13]

Identified themselves as “Hong Kong People” in broad sense

63%[13]

65%

63%

68+/-4%

-5%[13]

Identified themselves as “Chinese People” in broad sense

35%[13]

34%

34%

30+/-4%

-4%

 

[11] All error figures in the table are calculated at 95% confidence level. "95% confidence level" means that if we were to repeat a certain survey 100 times, using the same questions each time but with different random samples, we would expect 95 times getting a figure within the error margins specified. Media can state “sampling error of percentages not more than +/-4% at 95% confidence level” when quoting the above figures. The error margin of previous survey can be found at the POP Site.
[12] This means the percentage of “Chinese Hong Kong citizens” plus “Hong Kong Chinese citizens”.
[13] Such changes have gone beyond the sampling errors at the 95% confidence level, meaning that they are statistically significant prima facie. However, whether numerical differences are statistically significant or not is not the same as whether they are practically useful or meaningful.
[14] Starting from June 2011, this question only uses sub-samples of the tracking surveys concerned. The sub-sample size of this survey is 560, and the increased sampling errors have already been reflected in the figures tabulated. 

When asked to make a choice among 4 given identities, namely, "Hong Kong citizens", "Chinese Hong Kong citizens", "Chinese citizens" and "Hong Kong Chinese citizens", 46% of the respondents identified themselves as "Hong Kong citizens", 18% as "Chinese citizens", 23% as "Chinese Hong Kong citizens", while 11% identified themselves as "Hong Kong Chinese citizens". In other words, 68% of the respondents identified themselves as "Hong Kong People" in the broader sense (i.e. either as "Hong Kong citizens" or "Chinese Hong Kong citizens"), whereas 30% identified themselves as "Chinese People" in the broader sense (i.e. either as "Chinese citizens" or "Hong Kong Chinese citizens"), 34% chose a mixed identity of “Hong Kong citizens plus Chinese citizens” (i.e. either as "Chinese Hong Kong citizens" or "Hong Kong Chinese citizens").

 

Because the concepts of "Hong Kong citizens", "Chinese Hong Kong citizens", "Chinese citizens" and "Hong Kong Chinese citizens" may overlap with each other, and making a one-in-four choice may not reflect the actual strengths of one's ethnic identities, POP has right from the beginning conducted parallel tests on the strengths of people's separate identities as "Hong Kong citizens" and "Chinese citizens" using a scale of 0-10, to study ethnic identity in different levels. In June 2007, POP has already expanded its study to include four new identities for strength rating, namely, “citizens of PRC”, “members of the Chinese race”, “Asians” and “global citizens”. In December 2008, the study was further expanded by including separate importance ratings for different identities, and the compilation of a separate index for each identity using geometric means. Though they may not be perfect, the complex studies adopted by POP were already very comprehensive.


Opinion Daily

In January 2007, POP opened a feature page called "Opinion Daily" at the "POP Site", to record significant events and selected polling figures on a day-to-day basis, in order to let readers judge by themselves the reasons for the ups and downs of different opinion figures. In July 2007, POP collaborated with Wisers Information Limited whereby Wisers supplies to POP each day starting from July 24, a record of significant events of that day, according to the research method designed by POP. These daily entries would be uploaded to "Opinion Daily" as soon as they are verified by POP.

 

For some of the polling items covered in this press release, the previous survey was conducted from December 12 to 20, 2011 while this survey was conducted from June 13 to 20, 2012. During this period, herewith the significant events selected from counting newspaper headlines and commentaries on a daily basis and covered by at least 25% of the local newspaper articles. Readers can make their own judgment if these significant events have any impacts to different polling figures.

16/6/12

China’s first female astronaut rides in Shenzhou IX.

10/6/12

25,000 protestors demand Li Wangyang probe.

4/6/12

180,000 people take part in the June 4 candlelight vigil in Victoria Park.

1/6/12

Donald Tsang apologizes to the public for his use of luxury hotel suites during overseas visits.

2/5/12

Blind activist Chen Guangcheng seeks protection in US embassy after fleeing house arrest.

10/4/12

Premier Wen Jiabao reminds Chief Executive Leung Chun-ying that it is important for politicians to stay away from corruption.

9/4/12

Hong Kong and Macau Affairs Office director Wang Guangya says it’s time to put aside differences and look forward future.

25/3/12

Leung Chun Ying wins the Chief Executive election with 689 votes.

15/3/12

Vice Premier Zhang Dejiang replaces Bo Xilai as the Secretary of Municipal Committee of the CPC in Chongqing.

21/1/12

Beijing University professor Kong Qingdong comments many Hong Kong people are dogs.



Commentary

Robert Chung, Director of Public Opinion Programme, observed, “Our latest survey shows that in terms of absolute rating, people’s identification with ‘Hong Kong citizens’ has dropped back a bit compared to 6 months ago, but their identification with ‘Chinese citizens’ has dropped to a 13-year low since the end of 1999. Indepth analysis shows that the rating of those under 30 years of age continues to drop since mid-2009, and plunges to just over 5 points in the past 6 months. This warrants special attention. Moreover, if we use a dichotomy of ‘Hong Kong citizens’ versus ‘Chinese citizens’ to measure Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity, the proportion of people identifying themselves as ‘Hong Kong citizens’ outnumbers that of ‘Chinese citizens’ both in their narrow and broad senses, by about 28 to 38 percentage points. For those under 30 years of age, the gap widens to 60 to 72 percentage points. For the overall sample, the percentages of those identifying themselves as ‘Hong Kong citizens’ both in its narrow and broad senses (including ‘Hong Kong citizens’ or ‘Chinese Hong Kong citizens’) have reached record high since the 1997 handover. Moreover, if we use ‘identity indices’ ranging between 0 and 100 to measure the strengths of people’s identities (the higher the index, the stronger the identity), Hong Kong people’s feeling is the strongest as ‘Hong Kong citizens’, followed by ‘members of the Chinese race’, then ‘Asians’, ‘Chinese citizens’, ‘global citizens’, and finally ‘citizens of the PRC’. All in all, Hong Kong people feel strongest as ‘Hong Kong citizens’, then followed by a number of cultural identities. The feeling of being ‘citizens of the PRC’ is the weakest among all identities tested. As for the reasons behind the ups and downs of these figures, we will leave it to our readers to form their own judgment using the detailed records displayed in our ‘Opinion Daily’.”


Future Releases

  • June 27, 2012 (Wednesday) 1pm to 2pm: Popularity of CE, CE-elect and SARG

  • June 28, 2012 (Thursday) 1pm to 2pm: People’s appraisal of society's conditions, PSI analysis

  • June 29, 2012 (Friday) 1pm to 2pm: HKSAR anniversary survey

  • July 3, 2012 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: Popularity of disciplinary forces

  • July 10, 2012 (Tuesday) 1pm to 2pm: Ratings of top 10 political groups



Reference materials on survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity


| Special Announcement| Abstract | Latest Figures | Opinion Daily | Commentary | Future Releases |Reference materials on survey on Hong Kong people’s ethnic identity |
| Detailed Findings (People's Ethnic Identity) |

港大民研發放最新香港市民身分認同調查結果返回

 
2012年6月26日 新聞公報

| 特別宣佈 | 公報簡要 | 最新數據 | 民意日誌 | 分析評論 | 未來發放 | 香港市民身分認同調查參考資料 |
| 詳細結果 (巿民的身份認同感) |


特別宣佈

(1) 即日開始,香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)將會按照下列日程陸續發放《特區成立週年》調查系列:

2012年6月26日(星期二)下午一時至二時:香港市民身份認同
2012年6月27日(星期三)下午一時至二時:特首、候任特首及政府民望
2012年6月28日(星期四)下午一時至二時:社會現況評價、民情指數分析
2012年6月29日(星期五)下午一時至二時:特區成立週年調查
2012年7月3日(星期二)下午一時至二時:紀律部隊民望
2012年7月10日(星期二)下午一時至二時:十大政團評分

 

(2) 是日關於「香港市民身分認同調查」的發放包涵大量參考資料,讀者適宜點擊《香港大學民意網站》(網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk)內之「最新內容」詳細審閱,以了解有關調查的背景和爭論



公報簡要

民研計劃的最新調查顯示,以絕對評分計,巿民對「香港人」身分的認同感對比六個月前略為回落,但對「中國人」身分的認同感就下跌至1999年底以來十三年新低。深入分析更加顯示,年齡未及三十歲的被訪者,對「中國人」身分的認同評分自2009年中開始下跌,過去半年更加急劇下瀉至5分邊緣,須要正視。此外,若把「香港人」和「中國人」的身分二元對立比較,香港巿民中無論是狹義或廣義地自稱為「香港人」的比率,都比狹義或廣義地自稱為「中國人」的比率高,大約有28至38個百分比的差距。年齡未及三十歲的被訪者,差距則達到60至72個百分比之間。以整體樣本計,巿民自稱為「香港人」或「廣義香港人」(包括「香港人」或「中國的香港人」)的比率,都上升至九七回歸以來的新高。此外,若以0至100分的「身分認同指數」計算(指數愈高,正面感覺愈強),香港巿民對「香港人」的感覺最強,然後是「中華民族一份子」、「亞洲人」、「中國人」、「世界公民」和「中華人民共和國國民」。綜合各種測試顯示,香港巿民最認同「香港人」的身分,然後是一系列的文化認同。對「中華人民共和國國民」身分的認同程度,就相對低於其他身分認同。在95%置信水平下,有關百分比的最高抽樣誤差則為+/-4個百分比,評分誤差另計,調查的回應率為68%。

 

注意事項:
[1] 《香港大學民意網站》的網址為http://hkupop.hku.hk,傳媒可到網站參閱調查細節。
[2]調查樣本為1,001個成功個案,並非1,001乘以回應率68.0%,過去有不少傳媒在報導上犯了上述錯誤。
[3] 在95%置信水平下,調查中的百分比的最高抽樣誤差為+/-4個百分比,評分誤差另計。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用有關數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項評分誤差不超過+/-0.26,各認同指數之誤差不超過+/-2.5,百分比誤差不超過+/-4個百分比」。
[4] 因為調查存在抽樣誤差,數字不能過份精確,因此,傳媒在引用本調查的百分比數字時,應避免使用小數點,在引用評分數字時,則可以使用一個小數點。
[5] 調查數據並非透過音頻互動系統取得,倘若調查機構以「電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問」或類似文字來掩飾音頻互動調查,是不專業的做法。



最新數據

民研計劃今日如期在《民意網站》發放市民身分認同的最新調查結果。按照慣例,有關調查數字已經按照政府統計處提供之2011年底全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以「加權」方法作出調整。現先列出最新調查的樣本資料:

調查日期

總樣本數

回應比率

最高百分比誤差[6]

最高認同指數之誤差[6]

13-20/6/2012

1,001

68.0%

+/-3%

+/-2.5

[6] 有關誤差數字均以95%置信水平及整體樣本計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。個別題目如果只涉及調查內若干次樣本,百分比誤差會相應增加。評分誤差則會按照樣本評分的分佈情況另行推算。

有關市民各項身分認同感的獨立評分數字表列如下:

調查日期

13-16/12/10

17-22/6/11

12-20/12/11

13-20/6/12

最新變化

樣本基數[10]

528-550

503-596

534-551

527-601

--

最新結果

結果

結果

結果

結果及誤差[7]

--

「香港人」認同感

「香港人」 認同指數[9]

8.12[8]

77.7[8]

7.63[8]

74.7[8]

8.23[8]

79.1[8]

8.11
+/-0.18

77.4
+/-1.8

-0.12

-1.7

「香港人」重要度[9]

7.62[8]

7.50

7.78[8]

7.64
+/-0.20

-0.14

「中華民族一份子」認同感

「中華民族一份子」 認同指數[9]

7.42[8]

72.1[8]

7.29

70.8

7.46

72.5

7.26
+/-0.22

69.5
+/-2.1

-0.20

-3.0[8]

「中華民族一份子」重要度[9]

7.12[8]

7.06

7.18

6.82
+/-0.22

-0.36[8]

「亞洲人」認同感

「亞洲人」 認同指數[9]

7.45[8]

69.3[8]

7.63

71.2[8]

7.65

72.1

7.45
+/-0.20

69.2
+/-2.0

-0.20

-2.9[8]

「亞洲人」重要度[9]

6.67[8]

6.88

6.96

6.69
+/-0.22

-0.27[8]

「中國人」認同感

「中國人」 認同指數[9]

7.10[8]

69.7[8]

7.24

70.7

7.01

67.9[8]

6.99
+/-0.22

67.0
+/-2.2

-0.02

-0.9

「中國人」重要度[9]

7.01[8]

7.08

6.80[8]

6.66
+/-0.23

-0.14

「世界公民」認同感

「世界公民」認同指數[9]

6.66

64.6

6.88

67.0[8]

6.91

67.0

6.61
+/-0.23

63.6
+/-2.1

-0.30[8]

-3.4[8]

「世界公民」重要度[9]

6.47

6.65

6.68

6.35
+/-0.25

-0.33[8]

「中華人民共和國國民」認同感

「中華人民共和國國民」認同 指數[9]

6.27

60.8

6.41

62.3

6.28

61.1

6.12
+/-0.26

59.0
+/-2.5

-0.16

-2.1

「中華人民共和國國民」重要度[9]

6.07

6.31

6.12

5.85
+/-0.26

-0.27[8]

[7] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用上述數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,各項評分誤差不超過+/-0.26,各認同指數之誤差不超過+/-2.5」;以前調查的誤差數值請參閱網站。
[8] 該等變化超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義。
[9] 為2008年12月之新增項目。「認同指數」計算自個別樣本之認同感評分乘以同一樣本的重要度評分,然後求取幾何平均數乘以10,得出「認同指數」。倘若某個別樣本欠缺認同感或重要度評分之數字,則由整體認同感平均分或重要度平均分所取代。
[10] 由2008年12月開始,本系列題目的次樣本控制在略多於500個。


以上數字全部來自獨立評分題目,完全沒有涉及「香港人」與「中國人」身分對立的問題。最新數字顯示,被訪巿民對「香港人」、「亞洲人」及「中華民族一份子」的認同感分別為8.11、7.45及7.26分,而市民對「中國人」、「世界公民」及「中華人民共和國國民」的評分則分別為6.99、6.61及6.12分。重要程度方面,被訪巿民對「香港人」及「中華民族一份子」的重要度分別為7.64及6.82分,而市民對「亞洲人」、「中國人」、「世界公民」及「中華人民共和國國民」的重要度則分別為6.69、6.66、6.35及5.85分。

 

把個別樣本之認同感評分乘以同一樣本之重要度評分,求取幾何平均數後再乘以10,就得出0至100分的『身分認同指數』,0分代表絕不投入,100分代表絕對投入,50分代表一半半。以認同指數計,香港巿民六種身分的得分依次序為「香港人」、「中華民族一份子」、「亞洲人」、「中國人」、「世界公民」及「中華人民共和國國民」,分數為77.4、69.5、69.2、67.0、63.6及59.0分。

 

至於採自行之已久的「香港人」與「中國人」身分對立提問方式的調查結果,則表列如下:


調查日期

13-16/12/10

21-22/6/11

12-20/12/11

13-20/6/12

最新變化

樣本基數[14]

1,013

520[14]

541[14]

560[14]

--

整體回應比率

67.4%

65.7%

66.4%

68.0%

--

最新結果

結果

結果

結果

結果及誤差[11]

--

自稱為「香港人」之比率

36%[13]

44%[13]

38%[13]

46+/-4%

+8%[13]

自稱為「中國人」之比率

21%[13]

23%

17%[13]

18+/-3%

+1%

自稱「香港人」和「中國人」
混合身分之比率[12]

41%[13]

32%[13]

43%[13]

34+/-4%

-9%[13]

自認為廣義「香港人」之比率

63%[13]

65%

63%

68+/-4%

+5%[13]

自認為廣義「中國人」之比率

35%[13]

34%

34%

30+/-4%

-4%

[11] 表中所有誤差數字以95%置信水平計算。95%置信水平,是指倘若以不同隨機樣本重複進行有關調查100次,則95次的結果會在正負誤差之內。傳媒引用上述數字時,可以註明「在95%置信水平下,百分比誤差不超過+/-4%」;以前調查的誤差數值請參閱網站。
[12] 該即選擇「中國的香港人」或「香港的中國人」的比率。
[13] 該等變化超過在95%置信水平的抽樣誤差,表示有關變化在統計學上表面成立。不過,數字變化在統計學上成立與否,並不等同有關變化的實際用途和意義。
[14] 2011年6 月開始,本題目只涉及次樣本,而是次調查的次樣本基數是560,加大誤差數字已經列明表內。

當被訪市民可在「香港人」、「中國的香港人」、「中國人」、及「香港的中國人」四者中選擇自己認同的身分時,46%稱自己為「香港人」,18%自稱為「中國人」,23%自稱為「中國的香港人」,而11%則自稱為「香港的中國人」。換言之,68%認為自己是廣義的「香港人」(即回答「香港人」或「中國的香港人」),30%則認為自己是廣義的「中國人」(即回答「中國人」或「香港的中國人」),34%則選擇了「香港人」和「中國人」的混合身分(即回答「中國的香港人」或「香港的中國人」)。

 

由於「香港人」、「中國的香港人」、「中國人」、及「香港的中國人」四者可能意識重疊,四擇其一未必能夠反映各項身分認同的強弱;因此,民研計劃一早就以0至10分同時測試市民對「香港人」及「中國人」的認同程度,同步研究身分認同感的不同層次。2007年6月開始,民研計劃已把香港巿民身分認同感的研究擴充,加入「中華人民共和國的國民身分」、「中華民族的一份子」、「亞洲人身分」及「世界公民身分」4個單獨測試項目。及至2008年12月,有關研究再度擴充,加入巿民對不同身分的重視程度評分,再以幾何平均方式計算各種「身分認同指數」。民研計劃採用的綜合研究測試,雖非盡善盡美,但已相當全面。


民意日誌

民研計劃於2007年1月在《民意網站》開設「民意日誌」專頁,以按日形式紀錄每日大事及提供若干在當天錄得的民意調查數字。2007年7月,民研計劃與慧科訊業有限公司合作,從7月24日起,「民意日誌」中的每日大事紀錄由慧科訊業按照民研計劃設計的分析方法,按日傳送至民研計劃,經民研計劃核實後隨即上載到「民意日誌」。

 

由於本新聞公報所涉及的部分調查項目,上次調查日期為12-20/12/11,而今次調查日期則為13-20/6/12,因此是次公報中的「民意日誌」項目便以上述日期為依歸,讓讀者作出比較。以涵蓋率不下25%本地報章每日頭條新聞和報社評論計,在上述期間發生的相關大事包括以下事件,讀者可以自行判斷有關事件有否影響各項民調數字,又或參閱「民意日誌」內所有大事紀錄後,再作判斷:

16/6/12

中國首名女太空人搭乘神舟九號

10/6/12

2.5萬人上街要求徹查李旺陽案

4/6/12

十八萬人到維園參加悼念六四燭光晚會

1/6/12

曾蔭權就外訪時入住豪華酒店向公眾道歉

2/5/12

盲人維權人士陳光誠逃離軟禁後到美國大使館尋求保護

10/4/12

國務院總理溫家寶勉勵行政長官梁振英要清廉治港

9/4/12

國務院港澳辦主任王光亞呼籲香港各界放下選舉分歧向前看

25/3/12

梁振英獲689票當選香港特別行政區行政長官

15/3/12

國務院副總理張德江接替薄熙來的重慶市委書記職務

21/1/12

北京大學教授孔慶東評論很多香港人是狗



分析評論

民意研究計劃總監鍾庭耀分析:「最新調查顯示,以絕對評分計,巿民對『香港人』身分的認同感對比六個月前略為回落,但對『中國人』身分的認同感就下跌至1999年底以來十三年新低。深入分析更加顯示,年齡未及三十歲的被訪者,對『中國人』身分的認同評分自2009年中開始下跌,過去半年更加急劇下瀉至5分邊緣,須要正視。此外,若把『香港人』和『中國人』的身分二元對立比較,香港巿民中無論是狹義或廣義地自稱為『香港人』的比率,都比狹義或廣義地自稱為『中國人』的比率高,大約有28至38個百分比的差距。年齡未及三十歲的被訪者,差距則達到60至72個百分比之間。以整體樣本計,巿民自稱為『香港人』或『廣義香港人』(包括『香港人』或『中國的香港人』)的比率,都上升至九七回歸以來的新高。此外,若以0至100分的『身分認同指數』計算(指數愈高,正面感覺愈強),香港巿民對『香港人』的感覺最強,然後是『中華民族一份子』、『亞洲人』、『中國人』、『世界公民』和『中華人民共和國國民』。綜合各種測試顯示,香港巿民最認同『香港人』的身分,然後是一系列的文化認同。對『中華人民共和國國民』身分的認同程度,就相對低於其他身分認同。至於是什麼事情影響了各項數字的起跌,讀者可以根據『民意日誌』的詳細記錄自行判斷。」


未來發放

  • 2012年6月27日(星期三)下午一時至二時:特首、候任特首及政府民望

  • 2012年6月28日(星期四)下午一時至二時:社會現況評價、民情指數分析

  • 2012年6月29日(星期五)下午一時至二時:特區成立週年調查

  • 2012年7月3日(星期二)下午一時至二時:紀律部隊民望

  • 2012年7月10日(星期二)下午一時至二時:十大政團評分



香港市民身分認同調查參考資料


| 特別宣佈| 公報簡要 | 最新數據 | 民意日誌 | 分析評論 | 未來發放 |香港市民身分認同調查參考資料 |
| 詳細結果 (巿民的身份認同感) |