Opinion Survey on Poverty Issues in Policy Address 2017back

| Research Background | Research Team Members | Contact Information | Research Design |

| Demographic profile of respondents | Frequency Tables | Presentation Slides | Press release prepared by sponsor | Presentation slides prepared by sponsor | Related Surveys |


Research Background

The Hong Kong Council of Social Service (HKCSS) commissioned Public Opinion Programme at the University of Hong Kong for the first time in 2010 for a public opinion poll to gauge people’s instant views on the poverty alleviation policies of the Policy Address. The same survey series is repeated every year since then. This year, HKCSS commissioned POP again for the seventh time for this “Opinion Survey on Poverty Issues in Policy Address 2017” conducted on 18 January 2017 (i.e. the evening after CE announced the Policy Address) to gauge the public’s instant reaction on the poverty alleviation policies of the Policy Address, and compare the results with previous figures.

The research instrument used in this study was designed entirely by the POP Team after consulting HKCSS. Fieldwork operations and data analysis were conducted independently by the POP Team, without interference from any outside party. In other words, POP was given full autonomy to design and conduct the survey, and POP would take full responsibility for all the findings reported herewith.



Research Team Members

Research Directors :
CHUNG Ting-Yiu Robert
and PANG Ka-Lai Karie

Project Manager :
LEE Wing-Yi Winnie

Project Executive :
CHU Cho-Leung Stanley

Data Analyst :
TAI Chit-Fai Edward


Survey date

:

18/1/2017

Target population

:

Cantonese-speaking Hong Kong citizens aged 18 or above who know about the contents of the Policy Address

Survey method

:

Random telephone survey conducted by real interviewers

Sampling method

:

Telephone numbers are randomly generated using known prefixes assigned to telecommunication services providers under the Numbering Plan provided by the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA). Invalid numbers are then eliminated according to computer and manual dialing records to produce the final sample. If more than one eligible subject had been available, the one who had his/her birthday next was selected.

Sample size

:

528 successful cases

Effective response rate

:

67.2%

Standard error

:

Less than 2.2% (i.e. at 95% confidence level, the maximum sampling error of all percentages should be no more than +/-4.4 percentage points)


Research Design

Telephone interviews were conducted by interviewers under close supervision. All data were collected by our interviewers using a Computer Assisted Telephone Interview (CATI) system invented by the research team which allowed real-time data capture and consolidation. To ensure data quality, on top of on-site supervision, voice recording, screen capturing and camera surveillance were used to monitor the interviewers' performance.

Telephone numbers are randomly generated using known prefixes assigned to telecommunication services providers under the Numbering Plan provided by the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA). Invalid numbers are then eliminated according to computer and manual dialing records to produce the final sample.

The target population of this survey was Cantonese-speaking Hong Kong citizens aged 18 or above who know about the contents of the Policy Address. If more than one eligible subject had been available, selection was made using the “next birthday rule” which selected the person who had his/her birthday next. The survey was conducted on January 18, 2017. A total of 528 eligible respondents were successfully interviewed. The effective response rate of this survey was 67.2%, and the standard sampling error for percentages based on this sample was less than 2.2 percentage points. In other words, the sampling error for all percentages using the total sample was less than plus/minus 4.4 percentage points at 95% confidence level.

To ensure representativeness of the findings, the raw data collected have been rim-weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population in 2016 mid-year and the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution collected in the 2011 Census. All figures are based on the weighted sample.




| Research Background | Research Team Members | Contact Information | Research Design |

| Demographic profile of respondents | Frequency Tables | Presentation Slides | Press release prepared by sponsor | Presentation slides prepared by sponsor | Related Surveys |

公眾對2017年施政報告扶貧措施的意見調查返回

| 研究背景 | 研究隊員 | 樣本資料| 調查設計 | 被訪者背景資料| 數據彙集 |

| 結果簡報 | 由贊助機構撰寫之新聞公報 | 由贊助機構撰寫之簡報 | 相關調查 |


研究背景

香港社會服務聯會在2010首次委託港大民意研究計劃進行意見調查,以探討本港市民對施政報告中扶貧措施的即時反應,調查之後每年進行一次。本年度,香港社會服務聯會第七次委託港大民研進行同類調查,於2017年1月18日(即特首發表施政報告當晚)訪問了528位十八歲或以上、並知道施政報告內容的香港居民,主要目的是探討本港市民對2017施政報告中扶貧措施的即時反應,並與以前的調查結果作出比較。

調查問卷由本研究組諮詢香港社會服務聯會後獨立設計,而調查的所有操作、數據收集及分析均由本研究組負責,不受任何機構影響。換句話說,雖然問題主要源自香港社會服務聯會的構思,但港大民研計劃在今次調查的設計及運作上絕對獨立自主,結果亦由港大民研全面負責。



研究隊員

研究總監 : 鍾庭耀、彭嘉麗

研究統籌 : 李頴兒

研究幹事 : 朱祖良

數據分析 : 戴捷輝


調查日期

:

2017年1月18日

訪問對象

:

18歲或以上操粵語、並知道施政報告內容的香港居民

調查方法

:

由真實訪員以電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問形式進行

抽樣方法

:

從通訊事務管理局之香港電訊服務號碼計劃獲取已分配予電訊商的電話字頭,然後以隨機方式從中產生號碼。最後,按照電腦撥打及過往調查記錄,剔除無效號碼成為最終樣本。訪問員在成功接觸目標電話號碼用戶後,再以「即將生日」的抽樣方法從戶中抽取一名合資格的人士接受訪問。

成功樣本

:

528個成功個案

有效回應比率

:

67.2%

標準誤差

:

少於2.2%,亦即在95%置信水平下,各個百分比的抽樣誤差為少於正負4.4個百分比


調查設計

調查以電話訪問形式進行,所有資料均由研究組的訪問員以電腦輔助電話訪問系統(簡稱CATI)收集,有關系統由研究組研發,能夠即時處理資料並作出合併分析。為確保資料的真確性,訪問期間除督導員現場監督之外,研究組亦進行電話錄音、畫面擷取及即時視象監察,以確保訪問員的表現及質素。

電話號碼抽樣方法是先從通訊事務管理局之香港電訊服務號碼計劃獲取已分配予電訊商的電話字頭,然後以隨機方式從中產生號碼。最後,按照電腦撥打及過往調查記錄,剔除無效號碼成為最終樣本。

調查的訪問對象為18歲或以上操粵語、並知道施政報告內容的香港居民。訪問員在成功接觸目標住戶後,再從住戶中以「即將生日」的方法抽取一名符合條件的人士接受訪問。調查於2017年1月18日進行,透過電話成功訪問了528名符合資格的香港居民。有效回應比率為67.2%,標準誤差則少於2.2個百分比,亦即在95%置信水平下,各個百分比的抽樣誤差為少於正負4.4個百分比。

為增加結果的代表性,各項數字已經按照政府統計處提供之2016年中全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以及2011年人口普查收集之教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈統計數字,以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。




| 研究背景 | 研究隊員 | 樣本資料| 調查設計 | 被訪者背景資料| 數據彙集 |

| 結果簡報 | 由贊助機構撰寫之新聞公報 | 由贊助機構撰寫之簡報 | 相關調查 |