Parent Perception Survey on Computational Thinking 2018Back

| Research Background | Research Team Members | Contact Information | Research Design |
| Questionnaire | Survey Report | Related Survey |


Research Background

After May 2017, The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust commissioned the Public Opinion Programme (POP) of The University of Hong Kong again in July 2018 to conduct this “Parent Perception Survey on Computational Thinking 2018” targeting Cantonese-speaking parents whose child / children is / are studying in kindergarten, primary or secondary school. The objectives of the survey was to measure parents’ awareness of computational thinking and the “[email protected]” project, and also compare some survey results of last year.

 

The research instrument used in this study was designed entirely by the POP Team after consulting The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, while both POP and The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust had equal say in the final instrument. Moreover, fieldwork operations, data collection and data analysis were conducted independently by the POP Team, without interference from any party. In other words, although the content of the questionnaire mainly came from the commissioning organization, POP was given full autonomy to design and conduct the survey, and POP would take full responsibility for all the findings reported herewith.



Research Team Members

Research Directors :
CHUNG Ting-Yiu Robert
and PANG Ka-Lai Karie

Project Manager :
LEE Wai-Kin Frank

Project Executive :
CHAN Wai-man Joyce

Data Analyst :
TAI Chit-Fai Edward


Survey date

:

23 August to 7 September 2018

Survey method

:

Random telephone survey conducted by real interviewers

Target population

:

Cantonese-speaking parents whose child / children is / are studying in kindergarten, primary or secondary school

Sampling method

:

Telephone numbers are randomly generated using known prefixes assigned to telecommunication services providers under the Numbering Plan provided by the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA). Invalid numbers are then eliminated according to computer and manual dialing records to produce the final sample. If more than one subject had been available, the one who had his/her birthday next was selected.

Sample size

:

1,003 successful cases (including 682 landline samples and 321 mobile samples)

Effective response rate

:

53.8%

Sample error

:

Less than 1.6% (i.e. at 95% confidence level, the maximum sampling error of all percentages should be no more than +/-3.2 percentage points)


Research Design

Telephone interviews were conducted by interviewers under close supervision. All data were collected by our interviewers using a Web-based Computer Assisted Telephone Interview (Web-CATI) system invented by the research team, which allowed real-time data capture and consolidation. To ensure data quality, on top of on-site supervision, voice recording, screen capturing and camera surveillance were used to monitor the interviewers’ performance.

 

Telephone numbers are randomly generated using known prefixes assigned to telecommunication services providers under the Numbering Plan provided by the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA). Invalid numbers are then eliminated according to computer and manual dialing records to produce the final sample.

 

The target population of this survey was Cantonese-speaking parents whose child / children is / are studying in kindergarten, primary or secondary school. For landline sample, when telephone contact was successfully established with a target household, one eligible subject was interviewed. If more than one eligible subject had been available, selection was made using the “next birthday rule” which selected the person who had his/her birthday next. The survey was conducted during the period of 23 August to 7 September 2018. A total of 1,003 eligible subjects were successfully interviewed. The effective response rate of this survey was 53.8%, and the standard sampling error for percentages based on this sample was less than 1.6 percentage points. In other words, the sampling error for all percentages using the total sample was less than plus/minus 3.2 percentage points at 95% confidence level.



| Research Background | Research Team Members | Contact Information | Research Design |
| Questionnaire | Survey Report | Related Survey |

家長對運算思維教育的意見調查2018返回

| 研究背景 | 研究隊員 | 樣本資料 | 調查設計 | 調查問卷 | 調查報告 | 相關調查 |


研究背景

繼2017年5月,香港賽馬會慈善信託基金於2018年7月再次委託香港大學民意研究計劃 (民研計劃) 進行是次《家長對運算思維教育的意見調查2018》,目標訪問對象為操粵語、子女現正就讀幼稚園、小學或中學的家長。調查的主要目的為瞭解香港家長對運算思維教育,及對「賽馬會運算思維教育」計劃([email protected])的認知等意見,部分題目亦與去年作比較。

 

調查所用問卷由民研計劃諮詢香港賽馬會慈善信託基金後獨立設計,最終審議權由雙方同時擁有。此外,所有調查操作、數據收集及資料分析則由民研計劃獨立負責,不受任何人士或機構影響。換句話說,民研計劃在今次調查的設計及運作上保持獨立自主,所有研究結果亦由民研計劃全面負責。



研究隊員

研究總監 : 鍾庭耀、彭嘉麗

研究統籌 : 李偉健

研究幹事 : 陳慧敏

數據分析 : 戴捷輝


調查日期

:

2018年8月23日至9月7日

調查方法

:

由真實訪員以電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問形式進行

訪問對象

:

操粵語、子女現正就讀幼稚園、小學或中學的家長

抽樣方法

:

先從通訊事務管理局之香港電訊服務號碼計劃獲取已分配予電訊商的電話字頭,然後以隨機方式從中產生號碼。最後,按照電腦撥打及過往調查記錄,剔除無效號碼成為最終樣本。成功接觸目標住戶後,再以「即將生日」的抽樣方法抽取一名合資格人士接受訪問。

樣本數目

:

1,003個成功個案 (包括682個固網及321個手機樣本)

實效回應比率

:

53.8%

標準誤差

:

少於1.6%,亦即在95%置信水平下,各個百分比的標準誤差為少於正負3.2個百分比


調查設計

調查以電話訪問形式進行,所有資料均由研究組的訪問員以網上電腦輔助電話訪問系統 (簡稱Web-CATI) 收集,有關系統由研究組研發,能夠即時處理資料並作出合併分析。為確保資料的真確性,訪問期間除督導員現場監督之外,研究組亦進行電話錄音、畫面擷取及即時視象監察,以確保訪問員的表現及質素。

 

電話號碼抽樣方法是先從通訊事務管理局之香港電訊服務號碼計劃獲取已分配予電訊商的電話字頭,然後以隨機方式從中產生號碼。最後,按照電腦撥打及過往調查記錄,剔除無效號碼成為最終樣本。

 

調查的訪問對象為操粵語、子女現正就讀幼稚園、小學或中學的家長。訪問員在固網樣本中成功接觸目標住戶後,再從住戶中以「即將生日」的方法抽取一名符合條件的成員接受訪問。調查於2018年8月23日至9月7日進行,透過電話成功訪問了1,003名符合資格的市民。實效回應比率為53.8%,標準誤差少於1.6個百分比,亦即在95%置信水平下,各個百分比的抽樣誤差為少於正負3.2個百分比。



| 研究背景 | 研究隊員 | 樣本資料 | 調查設計 | 調查問卷 | 調查報告 | 相關調查 |