Independent Police Complaints Council Public Opinion Survey 2017Back

| Research Background | Research Team Members | Contact Information | Research Design |Questionnaire |

| Survey Report | Focus group study report | Presentation Slides | Press release prepared by sponsor | Related Surveys |


Research Background

Since 2013, Independent Police Complaints Council (IPCC) has been commissioning POP to conduct public opinion polls entitled “Independent Police Complaints Council Public Opinion Survey”. In 2017, IPCC commissioned POP for the fifth time to conduct this “Independent Police Complaints Council Public Opinion Survey 2017”. The objectives of the survey were to investigate the public knowledge and perception of IPCC after the incorporation, to understand the expectation of the public towards IPCC so as to shape a better IPCC, as well as to identify the direction of IPCC’s publicity initiatives in future. This was also the first time that a focus group study was carried out in addition to the telephone survey to collect more in-depth and comprehensive opinions and suggestions from citizens.

The research instrument used in this study was designed entirely by the POP Team after consulting the IPCC. Fieldwork operations and data analysis were also conducted independently by the POP Team, without interference from any outside parties. In other words, POP was given full autonomy to design and conduct the survey, and POP would take full responsibility for all the findings reported herewith.



Research Team Members

Research Directors :
Project Manager :
Project Executive :
Data Analyst :

CHUNG Ting-Yiu Robert
and PANG Ka-Lai Karie

LEE Wing-Yi Winnie

CHU Cho-Leung Stanley

TAI Chit-Fai Edward



Contact Information

Telephone survey


Survey date

:

6 – 17 March 2017

Survey method

:

Random telephone survey conducted by real interviewers

Target population

:

Cantonese-speaking Hong Kong citizens aged 18 or above

Sampling method

:

Telephone numbers are randomly generated using known prefixes assigned to telecommunication services providers under the Numbering Plan provided by the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA). Invalid numbers are then eliminated according to computer and manual dialing records to produce the final sample. If more than one subject had been available, the one who had his/her birthday next was selected.

Sample size

:

1,010 successful cases

Response rate

:

70.7%

Standard error

:

Less than 1.6% (i.e. at 95% confidence level, the maximum sampling error of all percentages should be no more than +/-3.1 percentage points)


Focus group study


Number of focus groups

:

Two

Date and time

:

16 May 2017 (Tue) 7:15pm – 9:30pm
18 May 2017 (Thu) 7:15pm – 9:00pm

Venue

:

Focus Group Room, HKUPOP Office
Room 706, 7/F, The Jockey Club Tower, Centennial Campus, The University of Hong Kong

Participants

:

10 in each group (all are Cantonese-speaking Hong Kong residents aged 18 or above recruited at the IPCC Public Opinion Survey 2017)

Moderators

:

Mr Stanley CHU (POP representative)
Ms Ka Yu WONG (IPCC representative)


Research Design

Telephone survey


Telephone interviews were conducted by telephone interviewers under close supervision. All data were collected by interviewers using a Web-based Computer Assisted Telephone Interview (Web-CATI) system invented in-house by the research team, which allowed real-time data capture and consolidation. To ensure data quality, on top of on-site supervision and random checking, voice recording, screen capturing and camera surveillance were used to monitor the interviewers’ performance.


Telephone numbers were randomly generated using known prefixes assigned to telecommunication services providers under the Numbering Plan provided by the Office of the Communications Authority (OFCA). Invalid numbers were then eliminated according to computer and manual dialing records to produce the final sample.

 

The target population of this survey was Hong Kong residents aged 18 or above who spoke Cantonese. After telephone contact was successfully established with a target household, one eligible person was selected using “next birthday rule” for the interview. Telephone interviews were conducted during the period of 6 to 17 March, 2017. A total of 1,010 Hong Kong residents of age 18 or above were successfully interviewed. The response rate of this survey was 70.7%, and the standard sampling error for percentages based on this sample was less than 1.6 percentage points. In other words, the sampling error for all percentages using the total sample was less than plus/minus 3.1 percentage points at 95% confidence level.

 

To ensure representativeness of the findings, the raw data collected have been rim-weighted according to provisional figures obtained from the Census and Statistics Department regarding the gender-age distribution of the Hong Kong population in 2016 mid-year and the educational attainment (highest level attended) distribution collected in the 2011 Census.


Focus group study

Two focus groups have been organized by POP in mid-May 2017. All participants were Cantonese-speaking Hong Kong residents aged 18 or above recruited at the IPCC Public Opinion Survey 2017 telephone survey which had been conducted earlier. Each group lasted for about two hours, with a total of 20 people participating in the two groups.

The focus groups were moderated by a POP representative, who asked for participants’ opinions according to the discussion guide. An IPCC representative was also present to answer participants’ questions on IPCC when needed and to clarify/explain the work of IPCC and the functioning of the two-tier police complaints system.



Questionnaire (pdf format only)

Survey Report (telephone survey) (To be uploaded)

Focus group study report (Chinese pdf format only)

Presentation slides (pdf format only)

Press release prepared by sponsor (pdf format only)


| Research Background | Research Team Members | Contact Information | Research Design |Questionnaire |

| Survey Report | Focus group study report | Presentation Slides | Press release prepared by sponsor | Related Surveys |

獨立監察警方處理投訴委員會(監警會)意見調查2017返回

| 研究背景 | 研究隊員 | 樣本資料 | 調查設計 | 調查問卷 |

| 調查報告 | 焦點小組討論報告 | 結果簡報 | 由贊助機構撰寫之新聞公報 | 相關調查 |


研究背景

獨立監察警方處理投訴委員會(監警會)自2013年起委託香港大學民意研究計劃(民研計劃)進行《獨立監察警方處理投訴委員會意見調查》,並於2017年第五次委託民研計劃進行是次《獨立監察警方投訴委員會意見調查2017》,目的在於探討市民對監警會的認知和看法,了解公眾對機構的期望從而改善其服務,並有助監警會訂立未來推廣及宣傳策略的方向。此外,是次調查亦是首次在電話調查以外增加焦點小組研究,以取得市民對監警會更深入及詳細的意見和建議。

調查問卷及焦點小組研究所用的討論大綱由民研計劃諮詢監警會後獨立設計,由民研計劃獨立負責,不受任何機構影響。換句話說,民研計劃在今次調查的設計及運作上絕對獨立自主,結果亦由民研計劃全面負責。



研究隊員

研究總監 : 鍾庭耀、彭嘉麗

研究統籌 : 李頴兒

研究幹事 : 朱祖良

數據分析 : 戴捷輝



樣本資料

電話調查


調查日期

:

2017年3月6至17日

調查方法

:

由真實訪員以電腦隨機抽樣電話訪問形式進行

訪問對象

:

18歲或以上操粵語的香港居民

抽樣方法

:

先從通訊事務管理局之香港電訊服務號碼計劃獲取已分配予電訊商的電話字頭,然後以隨機方式從中產生號碼。最後,按照電腦撥打及過往調查記錄,剔除無效號碼成為最終樣本。成功接觸目標住戶後,再以「即將生日」的抽樣方法抽取一名合資格人士接受訪問。

樣本數目

:

1,010個成功個案

回應比率

:

70.7%

標準誤差

:

少於1.6%,亦即在95%置信水平下,各個百分比的標準誤差為少於正負3.1個百分比


焦點小組研究


焦點小組數目

:

兩組

日期和時間

:

2017年5月16日 (星期二) 晚上7時15分至9時半
2017年5月18日 (星期四) 晚上7時15分至9時正

地點

:

香港大學百周年校園賽馬會教學樓7樓706室
香港大學民意研究計劃焦點小組室

參加者

:

每組10位 (18歲或以上的香港居民,於監警會公眾調查中招募)

主持人

:

朱祖良先生 (民研計劃代表)
黃嘉瑜女士 (監警會代表)



調查設計

電話調查


調查以電話訪問形式進行,所有資料均由研究組的訪問員以網上電腦輔助電話訪問系統(簡稱Web-CATI)收集,有關系統由研究組研發,能夠即時處理資料並作出合併分析。為確保資料的真確性,訪問期間除督導員現場監督之外,研究組亦進行電話錄音、畫面擷取及即時視象監察,以確保訪問員的表現及質素。

 

電話號碼抽樣方法是先從通訊事務管理局之香港電訊服務號碼計劃獲取已分配予電訊商的電話字頭,然後以隨機方式從中產生號碼。最後,按照電腦撥打及過往調查記錄,剔除無效號碼成為最終樣本。

 

調查的訪問對象為18歲或以上操粵語的香港居民。訪問員在成功接觸目標住戶後,再從住戶中以「即將生日」的方法抽取一名符合條件的成員接受訪問。調查於2017年3月6至17日進行,透過電話成功訪問了1,010名符合資格的市民。回應比率為70.7%,標準誤差少於1.6個百分比,亦即在95%置信水平下,各個百分比的抽樣誤差為少於正負3.1個百分比。

 

為增加調查結果的代表性,各項數字已經按照政府統計處提供之2016年中全港人口年齡及性別分佈初步統計數字,以及2011年人口普查收集之教育程度(最高就讀程度)分佈統計數字,以「反覆多重加權法」作出調整。


焦點小組研究

民研計劃於2017年5月中旬舉行了共兩場焦點小組,參加者均為18歲或以上操粵語的香港居民,並於較早前進行的《監警會意見調查2017》公眾電話調查部分中接受邀請出席。每場討論為時大約兩小時,兩場共有20人參與。

焦點小組由民研計劃代表主持,按照討論大綱詢問各參加者的意見,監警會代表則在有需要時解答參加者對監警會的疑問,並在適當時候澄清或解釋監警會和「兩層架構」投訴制度的運作等。



調查問卷 (只提供pdf版)

調查報告 (電話調查部分) (容後補上)

焦點小組討論報告 (只提供pdf版)

結果簡報 (只提供pdf版)

由贊助機構撰寫之新聞公報 (只提供pdf版)



| 研究背景 | 研究隊員 | 樣本資料 | 調查設計 | 調查問卷 |

| 調查報告 | 焦點小組討論報告 | 結果簡報 | 由贊助機構撰寫之新聞公報 | 相關調查 |